We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phew - free wifi at a good central hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Ranked #45 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I had a great room at Hotel Stellar. Room 403 - a double room on the corner - with a tiny view of Hyde Park. The lady at the front desk called it a suite. I wouldn't call it that - it was a good sized double room with a large bathroom. The room looked recently modernised; it was very clean, the bed comfortable. It was great for me, I could enjoy Sydney by walking to work through the parks and down through the city. And free wifi!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Yelyah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

464 - 470 of 771 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. Location is great. Nearby public transport, restaurants, supermarkets. Rooms are very nice for a Best Western. Had a microwave, kitchen sink, tea kettle, fridge, plates, bowls, utensils. Furnishings are fairly modern. Bed was comfortable. The bad, which makes this only 3star for me is the rude front desk. There is only 1 helpful guy at the front (Pavol) who was nice, attended to any questions or needs, and actually could provide useful local travel and public transport tips. The others are snarky, unpleasant and unhelpful, and just don't seem to want to be there. Cleaning staff seems to not clean anymore after noon. I left my room one day later, and had the Make Up My Room sign after 12 noon, but came back at 10pm and room was not made up. Had to go down to the front desk to get new fresh towels. They then proceeded to tell us that our room wasn't made up because we had the Do Not Disturb sign on earlier, and to take it down next time. After we said that we did take it down and in fact put up the service room sign on the door, their response was to take down the DoNotDisturb sign earlier next time. Huh? All of this said in a snarky tone, and a smirk on their faces. Poor customer service like this is unfortunate. Toby at the front desk is especially unpleasant. If you can accept this aspect, I would say the rest of the stay was ok, the location being one of the best parts.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gatzbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

this hotel is within walking distance of many major city highlights, among them Chinatown and Darlington Harbour. My room was very spacious and well equipped, though a friend who traveled with me had a triple room that was smaller than my double room. The staff were very attentive and helpful, and this added to my excellent stay in this wonderful city. Sydney Opera House was also within walking distance, but then again I like to walk a lot! Great price-performance.

Room Tip: corner rooms are very spacious and well-equipped!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcabouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We recently stayed here for a overnight trip to sydney, i found this place on Laterooms and being from the UK and seeing the Best Western i thought this place should be good. The service on reception when we arrived was a little shakey as we were told it had parking but the parking was a multi storey down the road!!. Room was nice and clean and plenty of room to hang things, kitchette was clean and plenty of space to cook if necessary. We had breakfast included in our in stay, it was a basic continental breakfast and was help yourself downstairs in a bar area. Overall place was clean and slept ok but nothing like i am used to when i have stayed in Best Western hotels in UK.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eppybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a small but pleasant hotel. The rooms are very spacious and renovated. There can be problems with traffic noise. Once I had problems with the TV in the room. Some of the stations were not available. When I asked about it at the front desk they said they were aware of it although they had not told me when i checked in. A free drink voucher at the bar was offered. The coffee shop on the ground floor is convenient for a quick and tasty breakfast without a huge cost. Location is good, an easy walk to the restaurants in Oxford St and across the road from Hyde Park for a walk.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Wentworth Av can be noisy but the rooms at the back have an awful view onto other build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marie5213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Visiting from Canberra, stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. It is in a good location just off Liverpool/Oxford Streets near Hyde Park, and is very close to Museum Station and bus routes. It is also very easy to pick up a cab outside the hotel.

The room (deluxe King) was spacious, clean and comfortable with a basic kitchenette with microwave. The bathroom was a good size and had a window that could be opened if you want fresh air. The shower was effective. Free WiFi was available, and connection was easy and fast.

There is a happy hour between 5 and 6 with 2 drinks for the price of one - reasonably priced wine.

There are many restaurants and pubs in the vicinity (one recommendation is Watts on Crown on Crown Street - about a 10 minute walk. Great fish and chips with salad and trimmings - a bargain at $15.00), and there is a small convenience store next door.

My only complaint (and this goes for a lot of hotels) is that the lighting in the room is not strong enough.

That said, I would definitely recommend this hotel, and I will stay here again when next in Sydney.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cummuskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great location just south of Hyde Park. Large rooms with kitchenette, good beds, ok bathroom. Breakfast limited to continental, ok but nothing special.
Friendly staff, good Wi Fi free of charge.
Good value for money in expensive Sydney.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalledussin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#36 of 180 in Sydney
4,328 reviews
Central Business District
Hyde Park Inn
Hyde Park Inn
#54 of 180 in Sydney
1,052 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#40 of 180 in Sydney
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 180 in Sydney
2,488 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#76 of 180 in Sydney
3,190 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar

Address: 4 Wentworth Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Sydney
#43 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $135 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sydney
Best Western Stellar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing