We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Ranked #43 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

After staying in Best Westerns across the US we took a chance on the way home with Hotel Stella.
Turned out to be the best. New room close to the CBD and the Museum train stop from the international airport.
Large room with two queen beds kitchenette and monster bathroom.
Down stairs a cafe for breakfast with great coffee.


Very impressed.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg8780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

519 - 525 of 801 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

I simply loved this hotel - although the building is completely unassuming, the suites inside are spacious, clean and nicely-finished with a modern design scheme. The kitchenette was small but suffices, and the suite even had a heated bathroom (excellent on a chilly morning/evening). They actually fulfilled my request and got me a top-floor room looking out to Hyde Park and an upgrade, which was simply an added bonus - I wish I had stayed here for all the time I was in Sydney. The corner is quiet but just around it you have lively Oxford street with its cafe's, bars and shops - however, the waterfront attractions are a bit of a walk from this location. The only complaint I have was the short showerhead and that the lighting was more like mood lighting than functional. Wi-Fi is free and with a strong signal. Museum metro station is only two blocks over and a ten-minute ride to the airport. For downtown Sydney, the Stellar is an excellent value and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I followed TA advice and requested a top floor renovated room. It was super-quiet with a bit of a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was my first time staying at the Hotel Stellar and I was certainly not disappointed. On arrival, staff were courteous, friendly and welcoming. The lobby is clean and well maintained. We had a corner room which was very spacious for the money with a huge TV. Bathroom was roomy with a good shower and Bed very comfy. Surprisingly for the location, NO NOISE at all from the busy street outside, even on the 2nd floor. This Hotel is on the corner of a very busy Oxford Street and Wentworth Avenue but we could hear a pin drop. We came here to get away and relax and had a fabulous time. Highly recommended Hotel!

Room Tip: Corner Rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Great location within walking distance to everything we needed. Staff were very helpful and accommodating. Room was very clean and modern. The comfy bed was great. There was a bit of traffic noise but that is to be expected anywhere in the city. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shellinkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were at this hotel 9/3/12 thrhu 9/7/12. The staff were responsive to e-mails prior to booking and after booking. The hotel location allowed us to walk to all of the main attractions that we wanted to see instead of taking transportation. We did not even rent a car. The hotel made recommendations on transportation and assisted in obtaining transportatoin back to the airport. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. They had some dinnerware and silverware. The spoons though were very small in using them for eating ceral. Groceries were available in a very short distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the first level next to the street but the noise did not keep us awake at night. If very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alw791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Room was fantastic, very fresh and comfortable. I was lucky, and was upgraded to a Deluxe, and it was a joy to come back each night to a cosy and safe hotel. Staff are excellent and helpful.
Some people have said its noisy I didn’t notice, though I was on the 5th floor, back of the building. Some have said the lift is the slowest in Southern Hemisphere, but it’s not bad really. What’s the rush anyway? You can talk to the excellent staff.

The location is ideal, close to everything you need to see in the CBD etc. Don’t bother with the convenience stores they are rip offs. There is an IGA in Oxford Street, prices are much better.

Breakfast- agreeable if part of your package, but not worth spending additional money. Toast, small pastries, yoghurt (small variety, no Greek though), cereals, beverages and the usual spreads. If only there was some fresh fruit salad, and not just the tinned apricots.

Highly endorse the Stellar, would go there again, and am recommending it to others any chance I get.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are probably quieter, corner rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Hotel is in an excellent location, only 2 min. walk from Museum Station, 8 min. walk from Central Station. Having a kitchenette in the apartment was very convenient for us.
Hotel is located near Hyde Park, there's an IGA around the corner and plenty of restaurants in Oxford Street.
The hotel staff are very helpful and happy to give advice and give directions.
Our only concern was that whilst you can leave luggage in a store room if you have a late flight after check-out, it is at your own risk - it's not tagged or labelled.
Our luggage was safe, but we would have been happier if we knew that it was truly secure.
We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reviewsandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#40 of 182 in Sydney
4,524 reviews
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#31 of 182 in Sydney
219 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 182 in Sydney
5,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#21 of 182 in Sydney
6,350 reviews
Central Business District
Veriu Central
Veriu Central
#117 of 182 in Sydney
38 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#46 of 182 in Sydney
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar

Address: 4 Wentworth Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Sydney
#42 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $116 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sydney
Best Western Stellar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing