We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Sydney, Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Ranked #37 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Sydney, Perfect Location”
Reviewed July 8, 2006

Just got back from 3 nights at the Sydney Marriott Harbour. This is a great hotel and a truly wonderful city. It's located about a 1-2 min walk from Circular Quay....you want to stay as close as possible to this location. This where everything starts, the Sydney Explorer bus, Biondi Explorer bus, all the harbour cruises, main subway line. You can get the to airport by train or taxi, it is easy and close by. Another positive is the executive lounge. It has a huge full breakfast every morning that is included free. In the early evening, they also have a great selection of wines, beers, and mini plates of dinner food...also free. Please keep in mind that only higher level Marriott Rewards members and certain room rates will get you access so make sure you ask. The service at the hotel was very high and accomodating...fantastic lobby.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank arlingtonvaresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,705
    1,347
    399
    150
    86
See reviews for
773
1,300
218
872
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,052)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
125 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2006

We stayed at the Marriott Sydney Harbour in May 2006. Our 18th floor room at a fabulous view of the Sydney Opera House, and the hotel is located only steps away from the marina. The room was very clean, and the hotel staff very happy to assist us. We would recommend this hotel to other travelers.

Helpful?
7 Thank lobos3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2006

We have stayed in many hotels and this hotel was by far one of our favorites of all time. The views were stunning, the service was perfect, the rooms were clean and we thought this hotel was wonderful. We are coming back to Sydney this summer and we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else. We give it an A+ and we are hard to please.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Hope2seetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
204 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2006

This is the second time my husband and I have visited Sydney and found this hotel to be very comfortable each time. We had already paid for an Opera House view room as we did last year as we found it to be a slightly larger room with a great view of the Opera House and circular quay where we watched the ferries go back and forth.
Hotel staff extremely efficient, rooms very comfortable and great restaurant to have breakfast in the morning.
I have read the negative reviews on this hotel and I think they are very unfair, we are particularly fussy where we stay, the state of the room, restaurant etc. and this hotel is very good indeed. Indeed some 5 star hotels cannot match the Sydney Harbour Marriott.
The location is fantastic and when we visit Sydney again we will have no hesitation in booking this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lindyloo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2006

Stayed here in March 06, we had a great deal which included an Opera house view, it was fantastic to open the curtains and see this wonderful land mark, we also went to a concert to see Olivia Newton John, it was a highlight of the hoilday.
The hotel was lovely, spotlessly clean and very quiet.
Checking in was smooth and the sraff attentiveand efficient.
Posistion was marvelous step outside the door turn right walk a few meters and you were infront of the harbour/railway station,keep going right for 5 mins and you were at the Opera house a few more minutes and you were in the Botanical gardens ( well worth a visit for views to Opra house and bridge.)
Turn left out of the hotel and you are in the city for all the shops and museums, the Rocks are easy to get too as well.

Helpful?
7 Thank starfish123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2006

Just returned from spending 4 nights at this hotel. Had to upgrade our room to obtain the harbour and opera house view, but this was well worth it.
The room was quite large, with 2 double beds, as we had our 2 children with us.
The only disappointing feature was another taller building in front of the hotel which spoilt the full view of the harbour and the bridge.
The swimming pool was a little bit small for the size of the hotel.
The staff were very friendly, and even took care of our luggage as soon as we stepped out of the taxi.
Breakfast in the hotel is a bit pricey at $25 but this included everything from the cold and hot menus.
The hotel is in a very good location with 5 minutes to Circular Quay for all the ferries and cruises. Some good restaurants nearby, and the City Centre about 20 mins walk.
The icing on the cake was our departure from the hotel to the airport. We called for a taxi at the front of the hotel, but instead got a limousine service from the concierge as we had 4 suitcases plus hand luggage.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank XcitingTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2006

Graet loaction right round the corner from Circular Quay where you catch ferries to all the main attractions, wlaking distance from the shops, Opera House, Botanical Gardens, Observatory and The Rocks.

Staff completely unhelpful - trying to establish what was open over Easter weekend was a nightmare and they gave incorrect information.

Views were good from SOME rooms but don't be fooled that you will necessarily see the Op House or Bridge unless they explicitly say so in your booking form - make sure you have it in writing.

Breakfast buffet was expensive A$25, but had everything you could want - fruit, hot food, pancakes, cereals, baked goods.

Very comfortable beds and large bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JoLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 178 in Sydney
4,269 reviews
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#27 of 178 in Sydney
6,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Property: Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Address: 30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Sydney
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#31 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay 5*
Number of rooms: 595
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Harbour Marriott at Circular Quay offers a distinctive blend of stylish comfort and modern convenience. Overlooking the sparkling Sydney Harbour and world famous opera house, our Circular Quay hotel's location can be found at the doorstep of a shopping Mecca and moments away from the historic Rocks district. Guests are invited to indulge in our Sydney Harbour hotel's luxurious treatments at our on-site spa, or they may savour finely-crafted cuisine at our renowned Icons brassiere restaurant. Book your memorable trip to Sydney now at our premier 5-star waterfront hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney Harbour At Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing