We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, another great Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Ranked #33 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, De
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent, another great Marriott”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Centrally located for touring key places and one block if that to the Harbour. Take a ride on the ferry to Manly Beach for the day!!!. Train station is right at the ferry for the airport which is also great. Do your self a favor and upgrade to the Opera House view and watch the sunsets in the morning. I was also able to watch the Carnival Spirit sail out. Room is very nice with Marriott bedding and very comfortable. The only downside is that I did not choose this hotel for the full week and only two days which was my loss!!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to Sydney Opera House view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryMWilmington_De
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,646
    1,299
    390
    146
    78
See reviews for
745
1,258
207
841
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,024)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Marriot. Paid extra for a view of the Opera house which we did get but you only see the 'back end' so with hindsight a bridge view might be better but I am splitting hairs really. Perfect location for seeing the sights. A ferry trip to Manly is a must if only for the views on the way back. Taxis always available and numerous restaurants to choose from.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank 19Graham68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed at the Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay for a week in a regular city view room. The hotel is very centrally located, very close to the Sydney Opera House and the Rocks. I arrived early in the morning, and as my room was not available at the time, the hotel directed me to the arrivals lounge where coffee and muffins were offered.
On following mornings, I enjoyd the breakfast in the restaurant very much, waiters were friendly and there was plenty to choose from.
The room, on the other hand, was nothing to write home about. Yes, it was clean but lacked storage possibilities (eg no drawers), bathroom was a bit worn out and the shower was more a "get-yourself-wet-but-nothing-more"-device than a shower, also lacking a proper thermostat. So not only was there a limited amount of water pressure, the temperature of the water tended to vary on its own. Not a very comfortable combination of features.
Overall, the hotel staff was quite friendly and helpful.
Combining the bad shower with a practice of applying a credit card surcharge of 1,5% (as if handling cash was free of charge or risk for the hotel!), I am only rating this hotel with three stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AirlineElite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have never been disappointed with the Marriott Hotels. Usually stay in LA Marriott. First time staying in Sydney Harbour Marriott and it was up to the high Marriott standard. Those beds!!! Wow!! Staff so helpful and always greet you. First class all the way. Thank you

Room Tip: Stayed on the 25th floor. So quiet and a fantastic view of harbour bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning and end of our trip to Australia. We started with a view of the Sydney Harbor Bridge and ended with the view of the Sydney Opera House. Both were great as they were on high floors. If you are a Marriott Rewards member with status, you will truly enjoy the Executive Club on the 30th floor - very hearty breakfast, including eggs, bacon, sausage, oatmeal, fruit, and breads. The evenings include great appetizers, beer, wine, and liquor - all included. Everything in Sydney is expensive so we figured having access to the club easily saved $100 USD/day.

The location really makes this hotel. It is located one block from the Circular Quay, a short walk to the Sydney Opera House, Royal Botanic Gardens, The Rocks, and the Sydney Harbour Bridge. It's also an easy walk to Hyde Park, Darling Harbour, Queen Victoria Building, and Chinatown.

The room was very spacious, including enough drawers and hanging space for two people to unpack. The bathroom was large enough for both of us to move around at the same time, although the shower stall was a bit small. The room had a safe and again, for Marriott Rewards members, the wireless internet is free. Housekeeping did a fine job of cleaning and the rooms were relatively quiet. We did have a problem with a spoiled, rotten child screaming and pounding on the wall in the evening and the morning. We called the front desk at least three times and nothing was done. We were told that the hotel was sold out, but we were lucky because the rude neighbors were checking out the next day.

A big thank you to Allan G., the Concierge, who went out of his way to coordinate getting us a City to Surf running shirt that weekend when 85,000 runners were in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and to be located at the end of the hall. It makes for a quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harmon_Rabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Thinking this Marriott would be comparable with Westin, Hyatt or four seasons--we decided to book iit and we booked at Club Level for $140 a day more . ( we are in the Marriott club) What a mistake!! I'll list our complaints:
1. Room has NO drawers and a small triangle shaped closet, fitting 4 hangers and an ironing board!.?!

2. Room furniture was very cheap quality and uncomfortable--not appropriate for this level room .
Wallpaper was torn and carpet stained. (Supposedly recently updated )

3. Bathroom was small and cramped--only 1 person at a time size! No makeup mirror and very slippery bathtub out of a plastic type material .

4. The thermostat had to be fixed , and the door key cards (6 sets) never worked consistently!!

5. Turndown was between 3-4 pm. Really? That's nap time!

6. The club--for breakfast and evening appetizers--was understaffed and resembled a cafeteria. Several times, people put their plates down and actually checked out--since there were no available tables.

7. Most evenings there were no available front door staff to get cabs or cars---even Weekends

We feel this Marriott is the same amenities and quality as a Marriott Residence Inn. Do not expect
a 4-5 star experience. If that is what you want , we would suggest the other upper end hotel chains, like Westin or Intercontinental.

Room Tip: We had high club room and it still was so below top quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank namastesantarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,143 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Property: Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Address: 30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Sydney
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#31 Family Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay 5*
Number of rooms: 595
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Harbour Marriott at Circular Quay offers a distinctive blend of stylish comfort and modern convenience. Overlooking the sparkling Sydney Harbour and world famous opera house, our Circular Quay hotel's location can be found at the doorstep of a shopping Mecca and moments away from the historic Rocks district. Guests are invited to indulge in our Sydney Harbour hotel's luxurious treatments at our on-site spa, or they may savour finely-crafted cuisine at our renowned Icons brassiere restaurant. Book your memorable trip to Sydney now at our premier 5-star waterfront hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Marriott, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney Harbour At Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing