We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Ranked #32 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I picked this hotel for its location, and we were not disappointed. Since the best way to see Sydney and get around is the ferry system this hotel's walking distance to Circular Quay, which is the main stop and hub for the ferries, is just perfect. It is also within walking distance of great restaurants and bars. Our first night we had some flight delays and ended up cancelling our dinner reservation and just ordered room service, because we were beat, and I must say the room service was really quite good.
Our room was cozy, with a view of the Opera house although I have to say you had to be quite close to the window and look quite far to the left to see the opera house (from behind), so I felt a little cheated on that. Also, the bathroom wasn't the cleanest, the tub had visible stains and hair from the previous guest, since we just had two nights and no baths planned I didn't complain but it does make you wonder about the rest of the room.
The staff was friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,526
    1,194
    347
    125
    67
See reviews for
671
1,142
197
773
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (937)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Getting a bit worn and dated, and for the money,... ouch. Super touristy neighborhood, very pleasant and helpful staff. Stayed in the penthouse with club privileges, purely ok. Getting hit over the head with the depressing US dollar to Aussie exchange makes this city the least bang for the buck of any major city in memory. Brings tons of money to withstand the daily onslaught of 50 dollar cab rides, our traveling buddy got to spend 18 dollars a pack for smokes, lunch (nothing special) for three ran into the hundreds of dollars, and going out for 10 dollar a pop beers just took a lot of the fun away. Surrey Hills is cheaper, more real and young. We were in Sydney for a week and couldn't wait to get out of town. In retrospect, better to rent an apartment, go on day trips out of the city, ride the ferry, and avoid any touristy areas. Australians are awesome as ever.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimmyminny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

This Marriott has a lot to offer: nice rooms, comfy beds, fantastic location, large workout area, wonderful breakfast buffet. It is expensive, but everything in Sydney is. We upgraded our room to include the buffet for 2 and were glad we did. You can walk to Sydney Harbor, The Rocks, and to ferries, train and bus lines.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank darcysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
110 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Not much to say about this hotel, lobby is quite old (the high ceilings + chandeliers type) and cold (marble) but the room have been renovated. I was on 29th floor, room was not big yet well designed. At last, a hotel understood that having a bedside table with 17 buttons/switches to control everything in the room is more confusing than useless... so there are only 2 buttons, cool ! Flat TV (no much choice for international channels, in particular no BBC or HBO, all local channels). Only down is the noise as the room door apparently have no stopper + lack of amenities (no toothbrush and no slippers for example).
So overall, the only way in which this hotels stands out is location. Morning run around the opera house and botanic garden is a fantastic start to the day before the office politics ! And for evening, there's everything around or nearby Circular Quay and Pitt street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frog_Singap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We paid extra for a view of the opera house and was not disappointed. The location is excellent opposite Circular Quay.
The rooms are very clean and modern but there is very limited storage space. Apart from one drawer that stored the hairdryer no other drawers were available - no drawers or cupboards in the bathroom either. This seems to be the way many hotels are going and whilst it may be easier for cleaning and make the room look sleeker it is not very practicable for guests.
Breakfast was included in the package and was okay but I would have been very disappointed if I had paid separately for it. Overall it was the location, views and friendly staff that made our stay

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Top location next to Opera House and Circular Quay where all ferries leave, e.g to the zoo, aquarium etc. The hotel looks outdated but everything works fine and the rooms are also comfortable. All staff were friendly and very helpful and we had a great time. A perfect place to discover Sydney on your own.

Room Tip: High floors and Harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luzius01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Last weekend we played tourist in our home city. Do not think you will find a better location for a luxury hotel in Sydney. We had an event at the Opera House which made it so convenient. Great suite overlooking the busy circular quay and harbur bridge. Professional, welcoming and warm staff. Excellent executive lounge with a great spread for breakfast on Sunday morning. Also visited the indoor pool & spa. My wife was pampered by Adriana with a facial & pedicure. Comfy beds where we had a great night sleep. Well recommended to visitors to the best city in the world

Room Tip: Ask for a room on floor 30 or higher. Worth paying the upgrade cost for which will include access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerardlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#27 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,805 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#24 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,670 reviews
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Property: Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Address: 30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Sydney
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#31 Family Hotel in Sydney
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay 5*
Number of rooms: 595
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Harbour Marriott at Circular Quay offers a distinctive blend of stylish comfort and modern convenience. Overlooking the sparkling Sydney Harbour and world famous opera house, our downtown hotel can be found at the doorstep of a shopping Mecca and moments away from the historic Rocks district. Guests are invited to indulge in luxurious treatments at our on-site spa or savour finely-crafted cuisine at the renowned Icons brassiere restaurant. Book your memorable trip now at Sydney's premier 5-star waterfront hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney Harbour At Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing