We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not even close to 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Ranked #58 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not even close to 5 star”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Three star at best. Spa in room didn't work. Cheap toiletries. One old bathrobe. Not even slippers or spare blankets. No drinking water. Instant coffee. Terrible breakfast. Pool freezing. Nowhere near standard of other 5 star hotels nearby. If you want luxury stay somewhere else! Only positive is location. Handy to pretty much everything.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
3 Thank 35yoMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorPHGM1, General Manager at Pullman Sydney Hyde Park, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear 35yoMum,

Many thanks for your feedbck. We genuinely apprecate it.

First let me apologise foy the inconsitencies that you have had. We have invsetigated the spa in your room and discovered that the spa was working after your departure. We are at a loss to understand why it did not work while you were staying with us however, we do apologise for the inconvenince.

The toiletries you are referring to are the French brand Roger & Gallet and are a quality recognised brand inertnationally for hotel toiltries. Slippers and spare blankets are provided on request as the doona we offer encorporates downe feathers to keep in the warmth. Drinking water is also provided at a cost. The coffee that we do provide is instant coffee however, you may also order barista made coffee via room service. The pool is an outdoor pool and the temperature had been checked at 21 degrees celcius. It is one of the only outdoor headted pools in the city with expansive views of the city skyline and East Sydney. To raise the pool temperature any higher would not be hygenic.

We apologise that you felt that the breakfast was not a the standard you expect. We use high quality products and offer a live omlette station.

We are pleased that you like the location and would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you direct. We look forward to welcoming you back. Have a lovely day.

Kind regards
Lorriane Mercuri
General Manager
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    795
    338
    110
    79
See reviews for
459
786
135
454
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wollongong
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Hotel was clean and our room was perfect. Awesome view from room of city and hyde park. Kids loved playing in hyde park. Love the roof top pool with views of city on one side and kingscross on the other. We had a great stay would stay again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LA09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We are Sydney locals but couldn't resist an Accor special for 50% off rooms and so we brought the grandparents as well and stayed 2 nights here at the beginning of the school holidays in 2 rooms with fantastic Hyde Park and City views on the 9th floor. The children loved the huge, triangular bath, the wide range of TV channels, and the rooftop pool and spa.The adults loved the sun-loungers by the pool, the comfy beds, quiet rooms, and the friendly staff. A flawless, tranquil and relaxing stay that made us all appreciate our own city again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Have recently stayed here, room great, good space but overall pretty average in service & presentation.Breakfast barely adequate,always a near empty buffet. Service as slow as, that was when they remembered what you ordered i.e. Omelette. Thought we would try the change, as usually stay at The Wentworth but unless a BIG change wouldn't bother going back. To have to buy wifi in this day and age is not really good enough, they could do the patrons a BIG favor by offering this service.Have just traveled Europe and nowhere does one have to pay excessive fees other than on a cruise ship.

Room Tip: make sure you request a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blissyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorPHGM1, General Manager at Pullman Sydney Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear blissyb,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We very much appreciate your feedback as it allows us to continually review and improve our service and facilities.

We were most concerned to hear of your comments in relation to the inconveniences you experienced during your stay at Pullman Sydney Hyde Park. Please accept our sincerest apologies that our breakfast and internet did not meet your expectations.

Our breakfast buffet is very popular for its expansive variety of hot and cold food including an exclusive range of organic items. We are sorry to hear it was not the case for you. Please accept our sincere apologies that there was a wait time on the omlette. Please rest assured we have discussed these concerns at length with our Head Chef in order to avoid occurrences in the future.

Our internet is currently being reviewed and we should see some changes by next month. We do currently have complimentary wifi in our hotel lobby and Conncectivity Lounge.

Blissyb, once again please accept our sincere apologies and we certainly value your patronage and hope to see you again one day soon.

Kind regards
Lorraine Mercuri
General Manager
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I had a very good stay in this hotel under marriott management previously, that's why I booked the hotel again even it had changed to pullman management. The hotel had been refurbished and overall the hotel looks new. But, I'm very disappointed with the bed. Mattress is old and no support.. Not comfortable at all.. Hope the management will change and invest in better mattresses.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ling2486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorPHGM1, General Manager at Pullman Sydney Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Ling2468,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate your feedback as it allows us to continually review and improve our service and facilities.

Whilst we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay we are disappointed to learn that the bed did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for this and we would like to discuss with you in further detail so that we may investigate these concerns that you have brought to our attention.

Ling2468, please contact me on +61 2 9361 8417 or email h8763-gm1@accor.com so that we may discuss your stay in further details. Once again please accept our apologies and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards
Lorraine Mercuri
General Manager
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Pullman Hyde Park for our wedding anniversary and I mentioned this when booking. Our room on the 10th was very pleasant with a lovely view over Hyde Park. The bed was large and comfortable and the spacious area also contained a desk. The bathroom was spotless and though the corner bath is a bit of an eighties concept in reality it is actually big enough for two people. The room had no traffic noise but we did notice the shower next door or above being used at 5am! We were delighted with a gift of sparkling wine and chocolate covered strawberries delivered our room in the afternoon. A minor gripe was a problem with the lifts in the morning which left us having to wait about 20mins. We would stay here again as it is close to everything and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: 1009 on the 10th floor has a view over the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elsie18a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Primus Hotel Sydney
Primus Hotel Sydney
#10 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
#101 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#28 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Sydney Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Sydney Hyde Park

Property: Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Address: 36 College St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Sydney
#53 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Sydney Hyde Park 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the steps of Hyde Park and minutes from the Sydney CBD, our central Sydney hotel offers you a world class experience at the perfect location to enjoy all of which Sydney has to offer. Just moments away from Haymarket, our hotel in central Sydney is at the junction of downtown Sydney's business precinct(CBD), cultural delights and moments from Darling Harbour, the Sydney Opera House and Sydney Botanic Gardens. With views of Sydney Tower, our modern guest rooms blend comfort with convenience. We distinguish ourselves from other central Sydney hotels close to Haymarket with friendly staff and world class facilities, within easy reach of vibrant nightlife, Oxford Street restaurants and close to major stadiums such as Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) and Sydney Football Stadium (SFS). Whether dining at our restaurant or relaxing by our rooftop swimming pool, the centrally located Pullman Sydney Hyde Hotel is sure to delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Sydney Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney
Sydney Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing