We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, cool rooftop pool, stay long enough and you might get lucky” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pullman Sydney Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Ranked #56 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location, cool rooftop pool, stay long enough and you might get lucky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

...as in getting access to the club lounge. I stayed for 6 days and they gave me free access to the lounge near the top floor. Be sure to check out the gym and pool on the roof. Great views of Hyde park. The hotel location is also great right across from Hyde park. If you like to run head towards the botanical gardens and you'll get amazing views of the harbour, opera house, and bridge. China town is also walking distance as is many other sites.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bahuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorPHGM1, General Manager at Pullman Sydney Hyde Park, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Bahuba,

Thank you for writing this review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and are overwhelmed with your comments. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Here at Pullman Sydney Hyde Park, we strive for and pride ourselves on friendly customer service and convenience for all of our guests and we are pleased to hear we did just that.

We have to agree with you in terms of our location and the views from our pool and gym located on level 23 are stunning. Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney.

Kind regards
Lorraine Mercuri
General Manager
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    771
    332
    107
    78
See reviews for
447
765
131
445
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked this hotel through Wotif's secrete hotel for just over $200 per night and from previous experience of a 5 star secrete hotels through wotif, we were usually given the smallest room at the darkest corner of the hotel. When we arrived at Pullman, we were pleasantly surprised with the large room we were given the corner room with views to the Kings Cross and some views to the Hyde Park.

The Lobby doesn't have the grand 5 star hotel look but the staff were friendly. The hotel is just around the corner from Oxford Street night club district but on the Saturday night we stayed, it was quiet. It's a short walk to China Town, George Street and Darling Harbour.

The room as previously mentioned was large and the bathroom was also large with a large corner bath tub. The room was recently renovated thus it's modern and clean.

Overall, it was a very comfortable stay at the Pullman Hyde Park

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanberraTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullumbimby, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We found all the staff to be extremely friendly from reception, porters, cleaning staff, restaurant staff - everyone - all the staff had a cheerful, helpful, & natural friendliness about them. The room, although not huge, was very clean, comfortable & inviting with a lovely view over Hyde Park. Location was great, easy access to some good restaurants just a stones throw, and easy walking through Hyde Park and the Domain through to the Opera House. Close access to public transport.
View from the roof top swimming pool was beautiful - a great place to unwind after a busy day. Restaurant was pleasant - the breakfast was very good - great start to the day.
(I personally rate this hotel 4.5 star, but didn't know how to do the half !)
All in all, a very good hotel and will definitely be staying here on our next trip to Sydney.

Room Tip: Our room was on 21st floor - Hyde Park view - great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GwynJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The recent 30% off for multi night stay allowed me to book the executive room.
New refurb has made the room clean and comfortable. The fact that it is an old hotel means the room was big compared to the newly built comparative hotels. Small TV was a surprise.
Arrived late the first night (9pm) and aircon was not working. Told that no one was able to do anything because everyone had left. Asked for someone to investigate the next day and was sent a blanket.
On the way out the next morning, checked again with reception to make sure someone was going to check out the problem. Arrived back in the room about 8pm and noticed that a heater had been left, and room was still cold. No one could explain why a heater had been left or whether aircon had been even looked at.
After some discussion I was offered a new room where the aircon was working.
Lounge was good for both breakfast and evening drinks.
Toiletries were not topped up after first morning.
Overall good value for what I paid. Not sure I would be happy paying the normal quoted prices. Lots of options on the other side of the park!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrizzieJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woongarrah
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed just 1 night at this nice hotel. It was all refurbished and looked very modern. Spotless big room and bathroom. Unfortunately, we got the room next to the lifts, and we could hear every time the lift went up and down. Sounded like a train passing! Especially in the morning when it was busy. We enjoyed the city view from the 11th floor, and also the closeness to the Hyde Park for walking. Will definitely stay here again, but further away from the lifts.

Room Tip: Choose a room further away from the lifts. Also a high level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerstinJWoongarrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorPHGM1, General Manager at Pullman Sydney Hyde Park, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay with us.

Whilst we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, we are disappointed to hear that the lifts kept you awake, please accept our sincere apologies. For your next booking with us, please ensure you request your room to be located away from the lifts.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Lorraine Mercuri
General Manager
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

amazing location. However the first night was surprised when staff member behind front counter was not professional. She seemed to be at difference with her co worker as he just kept overtaking her computer and interrupting her. Her facial expression told me the story. A charge of $55 to park the car extra is extreme so I decided to park it myself.
As we occupied the junior suite very disappointed that the cleaner did not replace bathroom amenities. Also as we drank the flavoured tea only to be replaced by earl grey.The restaurant food and service was excellent. The Porter most helpful and very polite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank DubboScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
Darlinghurst
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
#100 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#29 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Central Business District
Primus Hotel Sydney
Primus Hotel Sydney
#9 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Sydney Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Sydney Hyde Park

Property: Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Address: 36 College St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Sydney
#52 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Sydney Hyde Park 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the steps of Hyde Park and minutes from the Sydney CBD, our central Sydney hotel offers you a world class experience at the perfect location to enjoy all of which Sydney has to offer. Just moments away from Haymarket, our hotel in central Sydney is at the junction of downtown Sydney's business precinct(CBD), cultural delights and moments from Darling Harbour, the Sydney Opera House and Sydney Botanic Gardens. With views of Sydney Tower, our modern guest rooms blend comfort with convenience. We distinguish ourselves from other central Sydney hotels close to Haymarket with friendly staff and world class facilities, within easy reach of vibrant nightlife, Oxford Street restaurants and close to major stadiums such as Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) and Sydney Football Stadium (SFS). Whether dining at our restaurant or relaxing by our rooftop swimming pool, the centrally located Pullman Sydney Hyde Hotel is sure to delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Pullman Sydney Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney
Sydney Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing