We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy to Oxford Street, Nice View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Ranked #70 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Met my friends to have a night on the Town and decided to stay here as we got a good deal on Wotif.com. It was quite nice with clean rooms and great views. Because of the bargain on the rate we got a room that had not been renovated yet, although it was still good anyway. Hotel is across the road from Hyde Park, so a nice walk across the park to the CBD but just around the corner from Oxford Street which is lined with decent restaurants and bars that are less expensive than the CBD ones. Ideal place to stay for events like Mardi Gras and close to the Australian Museum, St Mary's Cathedral, The Anzac Memorial and Sydney Grammar School. Closest Cityrail Station is Museum.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,860 - 1,866 of 2,257 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights while attending a conference. It was one of the hotel options in the conference package. I chose it for location, close to the conference, though with some doubts as I had stayed here as the Sydney Marriott a few years ago and found it tired.

The hotel has been brightly refurbished and I had a really spacious room on level 15 overlooking Hyde Park. This was one of those two queen size beds in one room layouts (I never really understand that) but even with two beds the room was spacious and comfortable. The bathrooms have obviously been refurbished and mine was also a good size with a large corner bath with shower over.

I didn't draw on the hotel facilities much but the staff at reception and at the concierge desk were attentive, friendly and efficient. I also used the small bar, off of reception, for a drink and service was again very good. Excellent service.

The room included a good sized wall safe capable of taking a full size laptop which is good. WiFi is subject to charge and while I didn't need it because I have a WiFi modem it frustrates me that Sydney hotels typically charge for WiFi whereas smaller establishments around the country and in many locations overseas provide this service for free.

The rooms were quiet, the bed comfortable and the airconditioning worked well.

I paid $255 per night for my 3 nights and based on this, having regard to other rates being charged around town for the same period the Pullman was VERY Good value for money.

MEAL TIP: For those not knowing the area and looking for an evening meal somewhere close ..... turn right out of the hotel front door, take the second right into Stanley Street and walk down it to the small group of restaurants just before Crown Street. Its a 6-8 minute walk. You will have a choice of Italian, Japanese, Portugese, Argentinian cuisines and more in a lively small street atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeremyPaul99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I was hesitant about staying here, having read some of the feedback on the hotel and its staff but after my staff I'm wondering if I stayed in the same hotel?
Check-in staff were chirpy and very helpful.
Room was clean, quiet, modern and generally well-appointed. (Bed wasn't a double but still seemed small for a queen bed. Very comfy though) Toiletaries in the bathroom were lovely.
We had a city view (vs 'breath-taking' park view) but view of the city with water views from the 20th floor is still very nice!
Checkout queue was very long and after 10min I just used the self-checkout box.
All up not a bad stay.

Room Tip: Given the location, high floors or city-facing rooms may be quieter (but not an issue for us on our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skydivej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

great location and service, but the room did not meet my expectation, there were stains on the bench and the toilet has stains too, however very good view from the room i stay looking over the hyde park.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Pueetar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Had a very pleasant time. Awesome view from our room. Amazing vista from the roof top terrace. Very friendly helpful staff. Great location heaps of bars and eateries just around the corner. Very close to city. Easy access.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorPHGM1, General Manager at Pullman Sydney Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Sally B,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, the hotel, our team members and the location.

We hope to see you again soon when you next visit Sydney.

Have a lovely week ahead.

Kind regards
Lorraine Mercuri
General Manager
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Pullman on Hyde Park was close to the city and other attractions like the War Memorial, Australian Museum and the Art Gallery. It was a lovely hotel room overlooking the park with a huge bathroom. Due to business commitments, we didn't get a chance to check out all the services of the hotel but we enjoyed our stay. We would certainly choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank 698Harman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed at the Pullman on Monday 11 March 2013.
I received a renovated room (I think) with a nice king sized bed. The room was clean.
I rated it a 4 star at best due to the service offering and quality.

We arrived early and left our bags at concierge. At check-in, I requested for the bags to be brought up. Waited over half an hour with no bags in sight. I had to call reception to remind them and the bags then promptly arrived. 15 minutes later, just as I fell asleep, someone knocked on my door to check the mini-bar. What, really? You couldn't have checked it before I checked in? I also called ahead to ask for a cot for my baby with the booking. However, the cot was not set up. I called on the way home from dinner to confirm whether the cot was ready and the reception lady (very professional) advised she will get one set up immediately if it had not already been done. Service and follow through could definitely do with some polishing up. One thing I did love was the people on the phone. They were very prompt in meeting my expectations every time I called.

Some attention to detail would make this hotel a 5 star experience. It's a shame that I felt little disappointments during the stay that detracted from the experience such as -

Tea and coffee - Different teas would be nice - green tea perhaps? Only Harris tea was provided. Perhaps it's an Australian thing but most hotels in Asia Pacific provide at least 2 tea options and perhaps hot chocolate as well.

Face towels - Is it random to only offer 1 face towel in the bathroom? I also would've liked room slippers. I considered bringing my thongs but assumed a 5 star hotel would provide slippers. Such a shame as I do not really like to walk around in hotel rooms with my bare feet especially after a shower.

We were considered Novotel Darling Harbour as it was closer to the action but chose Pullman as it was a 5 star hotel (vs 4 star Novotel). In hindsight, I wished we booked the Novotel because at least we would've been closer to the fun. Hopefully after the renovations are over, they will look at the service and offerings and refresh them to a higher standard.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Hyde Park Inn
Hyde Park Inn
#55 of 179 in Sydney
1,051 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
#107 of 179 in Sydney
872 reviews
Central Business District
Primus Hotel Sydney
Primus Hotel Sydney
#9 of 179 in Sydney
707 reviews
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#29 of 179 in Sydney
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Sydney Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Sydney Hyde Park

Address: 36 College St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Sydney
#62 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $169 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Sydney Hyde Park 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the steps of Hyde Park and minutes from the Sydney CBD, our central Sydney hotel offers you a world class experience at the perfect location to enjoy all of which Sydney has to offer. Just moments away from Haymarket, our hotel in central Sydney is at the junction of downtown Sydney's business precinct(CBD), cultural delights and moments from Darling Harbour, the Sydney Opera House and Sydney Botanic Gardens. With views of Sydney Tower, our modern guest rooms blend comfort with convenience. We distinguish ourselves from other central Sydney hotels close to Haymarket with friendly staff and world class facilities, within easy reach of vibrant nightlife, Oxford Street restaurants and close to major stadiums such as Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) and Sydney Football Stadium (SFS). Whether dining at our restaurant or relaxing by our rooftop swimming pool, the centrally located Pullman Sydney Hyde Hotel is sure to delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pullman Sydney Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney
Sydney Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing