We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ie Did I stay at the same hotel as everyone else?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Ranked #69 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I was hesitant about staying here, having read some of the feedback on the hotel and its staff but after my staff I'm wondering if I stayed in the same hotel?
Check-in staff were chirpy and very helpful.
Room was clean, quiet, modern and generally well-appointed. (Bed wasn't a double but still seemed small for a queen bed. Very comfy though) Toiletaries in the bathroom were lovely.
We had a city view (vs 'breath-taking' park view) but view of the city with water views from the 20th floor is still very nice!
Checkout queue was very long and after 10min I just used the self-checkout box.
All up not a bad stay.

Room Tip: Given the location, high floors or city-facing rooms may be quieter (but not an issue for us on our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skydivej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,883 - 1,889 of 2,280 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

great location and service, but the room did not meet my expectation, there were stains on the bench and the toilet has stains too, however very good view from the room i stay looking over the hyde park.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Pueetar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Had a very pleasant time. Awesome view from our room. Amazing vista from the roof top terrace. Very friendly helpful staff. Great location heaps of bars and eateries just around the corner. Very close to city. Easy access.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorPHGM1, General Manager at Pullman Sydney Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Sally B,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, the hotel, our team members and the location.

We hope to see you again soon when you next visit Sydney.

Have a lovely week ahead.

Kind regards
Lorraine Mercuri
General Manager
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Pullman on Hyde Park was close to the city and other attractions like the War Memorial, Australian Museum and the Art Gallery. It was a lovely hotel room overlooking the park with a huge bathroom. Due to business commitments, we didn't get a chance to check out all the services of the hotel but we enjoyed our stay. We would certainly choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank 698Harman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed at the Pullman on Monday 11 March 2013.
I received a renovated room (I think) with a nice king sized bed. The room was clean.
I rated it a 4 star at best due to the service offering and quality.

We arrived early and left our bags at concierge. At check-in, I requested for the bags to be brought up. Waited over half an hour with no bags in sight. I had to call reception to remind them and the bags then promptly arrived. 15 minutes later, just as I fell asleep, someone knocked on my door to check the mini-bar. What, really? You couldn't have checked it before I checked in? I also called ahead to ask for a cot for my baby with the booking. However, the cot was not set up. I called on the way home from dinner to confirm whether the cot was ready and the reception lady (very professional) advised she will get one set up immediately if it had not already been done. Service and follow through could definitely do with some polishing up. One thing I did love was the people on the phone. They were very prompt in meeting my expectations every time I called.

Some attention to detail would make this hotel a 5 star experience. It's a shame that I felt little disappointments during the stay that detracted from the experience such as -

Tea and coffee - Different teas would be nice - green tea perhaps? Only Harris tea was provided. Perhaps it's an Australian thing but most hotels in Asia Pacific provide at least 2 tea options and perhaps hot chocolate as well.

Face towels - Is it random to only offer 1 face towel in the bathroom? I also would've liked room slippers. I considered bringing my thongs but assumed a 5 star hotel would provide slippers. Such a shame as I do not really like to walk around in hotel rooms with my bare feet especially after a shower.

We were considered Novotel Darling Harbour as it was closer to the action but chose Pullman as it was a 5 star hotel (vs 4 star Novotel). In hindsight, I wished we booked the Novotel because at least we would've been closer to the fun. Hopefully after the renovations are over, they will look at the service and offerings and refresh them to a higher standard.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I had booked an executive room the day before we arrived in Sydney, as we were seeing our very first show at the Opera House, so I wanted something special for us. We normally stay at the Sofitel Wentworth in a club room (which was only $17 more on this occasion) and is true 5 star also as a gold member of Club we get an automatic upgrade, if available. However this time due to my boss’s high recommendation (for a standard room) of the Pullman Hyde Park we made our decision to stay here. What a big mistake that was.
After driving almost 4hrs we were a little tired and missed the very small and sign and narrow entrance to the hotel car park, between a pole and a wall. The fact the entrance was full of cars and a taxi rank outside did make it hard to spot, I thought you could access the car park entrance without the full fanfare of having to drive up to the front doors, of the hotel. So around the block we drove, again. Don't you just love Sydney traffic, but this time we got it, albeit a 20min wait in the front doors for some cars to move, just so we could get to the entrance of the car park. What, No Porter?
So up we go from the car park, to check in. I’m not sure if it was the fact we were tired after our long drive and looked like undesirables or if we weren't dressed in the correct attire to fit into a 5 star hotel, but we seem to get a very uncomfortable feeling from the staff, like we were being given the twice over. Very uncomfortable indeed! I knew what this was all about, after we had checked out.
The check in process was a little slow with and a lot of umming and erring. As a gold Club member the agent did their best to accommodate my request as per my profile, however we were that tired after the drive I just wanted a bed, besides my boss had informed me that it was a great hotel so anything will do, even if we did book an executive room, at this stage I'd be happy with a standard. The funny bit was we were given 2 drink vouchers to use in the lobby bar; however it didn't open until 3pm. Are we staying 5 star in Sydney? When we did finally go down to enjoy a drink before we headed off to the Opera House, the barman was not only unable to make a drink (we all know ice first) but was so rude he didn't even acknowledge my thanks for serving us. We didn't even bother going to use the Executive lounge (what a joke that is) for evening drinks and canapés. As a previous guest wrote "Executive Lounge was very disappointing..." That I think was an understatement. Just visit Pullman King Power Bangkok to see how a lounge should be, or go down the road and see the Sofitel. If you’re going to rebrand your hotel into a world known 5 star property in an International City, I recommend some re-training. The Hotel School is just down the road. Truly, I've had Ibis staff in third world countries that are more classy and professional that what we had experienced during our stay.
The Premier floor was looking very exciting as we had seen the pictures of the new Pullman ex-rooms, as well as the fact we had stopped on some floors on the way up in the lift and the hallways look very fresh and had a WOW factor. Our lift opens to our floor of dirty grey carpet, old paint and outdate fittings, the room was worse. Old 1970's timber fixtures which look like new modern bits had been added, an old couch that was dirty with hair and in urgent need of a vacuum, damp, mould and wall paint peeling off as next doors water taps where vibrating at a loud and rapid pace. At this point we didn't care we needed to sleep. We had been in the room for less than 2hrs and there was a knock at the door "mini-bar" before I could say "one moment please" the door was open and a young man was standing at our fridge, checking the mini-bar. Sorry but we were sleeping naked on the bed. After him asking me 3 times, (while I’m holding a pillow to cover myself) anything from mini-bar and saying No loudly, he got the hint. NOT IMPRESSED AT ALL.

Please understand management, that all this was all explained along with my disappointment as we checked out, and our only response was "ARE YOU SETTELING WITH THE SAME CREDIT CARD" from a very rude, unprofessional and uninterested female French agent. As the card was being processed I ask while the pictures where being displayed "what kind of room is that one" an Executive room Sir, was the reply. Upon further questions she told us we were in a Marriot Room, which could explain no compenduim or room service menu. So the fact we were placed in an outdate room while being a Gold A Club Member was the reason, I'm thinking and hoping for the uncomfortable feeling we got at check in. A very poor standard and not worthy of the Pullman Brand at all.
It should be noted this would have never happen at any other Accor Branded Hotel around the world nor would they be proud or even advertise the fact they have an Executive lounge like you offer, and to think my partner wanted to bring the Purple Pullman cocktail recipe from King Power to see if we could have it made. It seems consistency is a dirty word at Sydney Hyde Park!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BaliTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here using a membership discount the night before Mardi Gras (I can't really comment on value, as I didn't pay full rates). Most of the rooms face Hyde Park and have great views. It looks like rooms on the other side on higher floors also would have quite reasonable views. Pool and gym on the roof also have good views.

The room was comfortable, high definition TV but a few quirks from the renovation, such as visible cabling which I'd normally expect to be hidden behind furniture in a high-class hotel. The bathroom was well equipped with a great shower with a large bath.

Service was great, and breakfast was amazing - I was wondering how they'd top the Sydney Mercure breakfast, but they did.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank tropicalpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene H, Manager at Pullman Sydney Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Tropicalpenguin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about the Pullman Sydney Hyde Park. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and the views from the rooms and facilities. I am very pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy breakfast.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you again to the Pullman Sydney Hyde Park.

Kind Regards,
Eugene Human

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#18 of 179 in Sydney
2,012 reviews
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#31 of 179 in Sydney
1,111 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#40 of 179 in Sydney
4,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#61 of 179 in Sydney
1,357 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Sydney Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Sydney Hyde Park

Address: 36 College St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Sydney
#61 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $156 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Sydney Hyde Park 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the steps of Hyde Park and minutes from the Sydney CBD, our central Sydney hotel offers you a world class experience at the perfect location to enjoy all of which Sydney has to offer. Just moments away from Haymarket, our hotel in central Sydney is at the junction of downtown Sydney's business precinct(CBD), cultural delights and moments from Darling Harbour, the Sydney Opera House and Sydney Botanic Gardens. With views of Sydney Tower, our modern guest rooms blend comfort with convenience. We distinguish ourselves from other central Sydney hotels close to Haymarket with friendly staff and world class facilities, within easy reach of vibrant nightlife, Oxford Street restaurants and close to major stadiums such as Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) and Sydney Football Stadium (SFS). Whether dining at our restaurant or relaxing by our rooftop swimming pool, the centrally located Pullman Sydney Hyde Hotel is sure to delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pullman Sydney Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney
Sydney Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing