We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid Renovation - Beware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Ranked #66 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed December 4, 2012

No doubt this will be great when it's totally overhauled but $300+ for an outdated room with worn furnishings provides little incentive to come back. I will avoid in the future unless absolutely no alternatives.

Room Tip: unless it's refurbished you are probably going to be disappointed.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mekanoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,238)
There are newer reviews for Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,955 - 1,961 of 2,238 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

The hotel said it had "wifi access". In the room there was an ethernet connection, which I plugged into my laptop. It took a while before a window popped up to tell me that it would cost $9.95 for an hour. This is extremely expensive, especially compared to the last couple of hotels where I've stayed where it was free. I unplugged straightaway and complained to reception, but to no avail.

The hotel's air conditioning packed up on the day we arrived, which just happened to be the hottest day of the year. Sleeping was all but impossible. On the second night, though the temperature was lower, it still came nowhere near what we set.

This hotel hosts a number of conferences each day, making it impossible to enjoy a relaxing drink at the end of the day, as the bar/dining room is way too small.

On the positive side:

* The location was ideal for what we needed.
* The food and beverage prices were reasonable, if not better than reasonable.
* The bar, when the conference attendees had buggered off, was a pleasant oasis in which to relax.
* The staff for the most part were helpful and courteous.
* The room was small, but the bathroom was spacious enough for us.

I wanted to give a rating of 3.5, but I settled for 3, as the wifi cost rankled more than anything else.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perrorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Had a 12th floor room on the Hyde Park side. Great view, easy walk to all CBD locations, opera house, museums, Museum Station train station from airport is short walk across the park. Meeting room and lobby are nice, though renovations are obviously ongoing. In the room, the bathroom was very nice. Room carpet, bed, sofa, and coffee table were obviously vintage Marriott (previous owner) and in need of replacement, though bedding and towels and such were all new and nice. King room was very spacious. I expect after renovations are complete it will be a very nice hotel. Currently though it is probably 10-20% overpriced given the state of the furnishings, even given Sydney's super high prices. They shouldn't charge extra for wireless either, that is an arcane nickel-and-diming practice.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markm55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeslieRinAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I have stayed here many-a-times in the last 10 years... and I will continue to stay. I stayed recently in a king bed room with a large courtyard overlooking eastern Sydney and although the room hadn't been refurbished yet (as mentioned on posts here) but the hotel is well in the process of it. Thats not to say it wasn't a good room - spacious, light filled, huge bathroom with a massive corner bath tub (one that really does fit 2 people and still probably swing a cat) and a mini kitchette which was handy. The pool/spa area on the rooftop offers amazing views of Sydney and the hotel is a great spot to Oxford Street. I often walked to Museum station and got a train into the city - its only 2 stops and its easy.

The service was fine, the hotel is traditional corporate hotel but always good service. I have to mention the Room service staff - best service i think I have ever had, always friendly, courtesy call before the meal comes up, tailored requests and just overall happiness, something I dont always see.

The let down for me was breakfast - the restaurant which serves buffet or a la carte was always busy and often wait times. I'm not a huge buffet breakfast fan and this didn't wow me either. For the $30pp you can pretty much go to any cute cafe near by or in surry hills.

I cant wait to see the new rooms and come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room, if you want a new room. If not bothered, I'd just ask for a room on...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynettesabo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenandJill2013
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Hyde Park Inn
Hyde Park Inn
#49 of 178 in Sydney
1,040 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Darlinghurst
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
#107 of 178 in Sydney
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,885 reviews
Surry Hills
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Sydney Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Sydney Hyde Park

Address: 36 College St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Sydney
#59 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $170 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Sydney Hyde Park 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the steps of Hyde Park and minutes from the Sydney CBD, our central Sydney hotel offers you a world class experience at the perfect location to enjoy all of which Sydney has to offer. Just moments away from Haymarket, our hotel in central Sydney is at the junction of downtown Sydney's business precinct(CBD), cultural delights and moments from Darling Harbour, the Sydney Opera House and Sydney Botanic Gardens. With views of Sydney Tower, our modern guest rooms blend comfort with convenience. We distinguish ourselves from other central Sydney hotels close to Haymarket with friendly staff and world class facilities, within easy reach of vibrant nightlife, Oxford Street restaurants and close to major stadiums such as Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) and Sydney Football Stadium (SFS). Whether dining at our restaurant or relaxing by our rooftop swimming pool, the centrally located Pullman Sydney Hyde Hotel is sure to delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Sydney Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney
Sydney Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing