We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Ranked #57 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful night”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Had a wonderful one night stay from go to wow. Very helpful staff and room with king size bed and view perfect. We didnt have a view of the park but the view up on the 15th floor was lovely of the city. Walking in the park was a dellight as i had forgotten how lovely it is. Central park might have its squirrels but we have friendly possums in sydney hyde park. The hotel is close enough for shopping but not in a noisy location. Will recommend it to friends and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diannemckeever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine C, Manager at Pullman Sydney Hyde Park, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Pullman Sydney Hyde Park. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Eugene Human
Operations Manager
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    804
    345
    111
    79
See reviews for
466
796
136
459
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, it was convenient and close to the facilities that we required. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 38marley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at the Pullman for two nights. Arriving a little earlier then check-in time - it was nice to be allowed access to our room. We stayed in a refurbished king room on the 18th floor (a think the hotel is slowly refurbishing all rooms) with a great view out over Darlinghurst and out to the Harbour. The room was huge and the bed was comfy. The bathroom required a little attention (looks old). Our toilet started running early one morning. We called for maintenance and the service was prompt. We grabbed a light breakfast in the bar one morning - very affordable. Especially if you're not too hungry! Location is good - only a short walk through the park to the shopping hub. Parking was reasonable too for a city hotel!

Down sides. There was no one at the door when we arrived. It would nice to be greeted and informed what the parking options are. The other main issue; the bar is closed on a Sunday. Really?! Especially at night - guests should be able to have a drink or two before or after dinner - even if it is a Sunday!

I'd recommend the Pullman. I'd have to say that we only stayed here as we got a rate at 50% off. At normal prices, it's not worth it yet but I think it will only improve as it continues to refurbish the inside.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Having stayed at Pullman Olympic Park before numerous times I was keen to see how Accors new Pullman hotel compared.

As per my title, there were a few teething issues (some fixable, others not), but all in all our stay was excellent. I'll start from check-in.

Finding the hotel is fairly easy, but the driveway to turn into is very easy to miss. They should paint it yellow or another colour to make it stand out.

The carpark is fairly tight, but lots of space for guests. Staff are excellent, courteous and polite, each time talking to guests where possible. Checking in was simple and care free. Parking is excellent value too! $25 all day for guests, $35 for valet, $45 for non hotel guests per day.

My fiancee and I stayed in an Executive Club Room on level 21, overlooking Hyde Park. The rooms are very well appointed, and whilst I'm not a fan of the corridoor plastic wallpaper (it looks cheap and tacky), the rooms themselves are EXCELLENT.

One thing that immediately stood out was how quiet the rooms are. Despite heavy traffic around the area, only emergency services vehicles are heard.

The top level outdoor pool and gymnasium are well appointed and offer excellent views. If only it wasn't winter!

The location is fairly good with about a 20-30 minute walk to Darling Harbour at complete opposite side of the city.

Now however comes the first teething issue. My fiancee wanted to have a relaxing bath and read, however that plan was foiled when we could not find the plug. It appears the cleaners had not replaced it in the room. Shower had and time for bed.

The bed is super comfortable and the pillows excellent. But then came issue number two. The two blokes in the room adjoining ours bringing home two completely drunk, loud talking females they'd obviously picked up earlier in the night, at 3:15am. NOT HAPPY. Didn't get back to sleep for 30 minutes. Hadn't been asleep for long when their door clunks and the noisy girls leave, again loudly. Unfortunately the sound proof at the Mariott isn't good, and it's not something easily resolved with a renovation.

Up in the morning and both my fiancee and I go to have a shower. Shower lukewarm at best. Not Happy.

Getting ready we head up to the Executive Lounge for breakfast only to be told they are about to close. To staffs credit they organised for our breakfast in main eatery and it was fantastic.

So in closing, I'm going to give 4/5 rating, given that all the minor issues we had add up to one.

THE GOOD:
Room (Road Noise, Microwave, other facilities and Beds) / Facilities (Pool/Gym)
Staff
Location
Breakfast

THE BAD:
Missing Bath Plug
No Hot Water in morning
Noise can be heard off other guests in hallway/when doors shut loudly.

Two of the three bads can be easily fixed, so all in all I really enjoyed the stay and will most likely stay again and recommend.

Unfortunately unlike Pullman Sydney Olympic Park (which was built by Accor from ground up) there is no easy way to improve sound deadening between rooms. Pullman SOPA you hear absolutely nothing outside your room.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra, the Executive Rooms are the first ones renovated, and are VERY nice. Br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitch007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I must have came in during the transition period as I feel that the hotel hasnt really got that standard Pullman look and feel quite 100% done yet. There is definitely an old hotel feel and in some areas its been renovated/redecorated.The first night we stayed, our room has a bad smell that was so bed it sent shivers down my back. I decided to put up with it because we checked in really late at night and kids were already very tired to move to another room.

I made a formal complaint the second day and requested that we were put in a different room and they checked the room and was quite happy to oblige to my request.
The bed is comfortable and whilst the bedroom we stayed the first night was newer design, the second room we had was showing the original ex Marriot. The bathroom is definitely shows the age of this hotel. I believe there needs to be a bit more work to be done everywhere.
Location wasnt so bad, walking distance to most places, however not as convenient.
The one that has made sure our negative experience was turned to positive was the staff that helped us with our request and the moving of our luggage to the new room. Friendly staff is definitely helping to carry thru this hotel. I look forward to future visit once this hotel has completed its transition in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamKOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Primus Hotel Sydney
Primus Hotel Sydney
#10 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
#101 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#27 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Sydney Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Sydney Hyde Park

Property: Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Address: 36 College St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Sydney
#53 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Sydney Hyde Park 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the steps of Hyde Park and minutes from the Sydney CBD, our central Sydney hotel offers you a world class experience at the perfect location to enjoy all of which Sydney has to offer. Just moments away from Haymarket, our hotel in central Sydney is at the junction of downtown Sydney's business precinct(CBD), cultural delights and moments from Darling Harbour, the Sydney Opera House and Sydney Botanic Gardens. With views of Sydney Tower, our modern guest rooms blend comfort with convenience. We distinguish ourselves from other central Sydney hotels close to Haymarket with friendly staff and world class facilities, within easy reach of vibrant nightlife, Oxford Street restaurants and close to major stadiums such as Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) and Sydney Football Stadium (SFS). Whether dining at our restaurant or relaxing by our rooftop swimming pool, the centrally located Pullman Sydney Hyde Hotel is sure to delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pullman Sydney Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney
Sydney Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing