We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Sydney is excellent”
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #37 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 20, 2006

We stayed 4 nights and loved every minute. Admittedly, the room was not large but very comfortable and contemporary. The Magic button service works a treat and enquiries were dealt with very efficiently.
All the staff we encountered were brilliant and friendly. Nothing seemed to be a problem for them.
We don't usually have dinner in hotels but decided to try the Glass Brasserie on our last night and was not disappointed. We had the degustation menu which was excellent with the waiter explaining everything we were trying but not being intrusive or condescending.
The pool, jacuzzi and steam rooms were great. We went on Sunday afternoon and had the place to ourselves.
Although the views are not brilliant the location is convenient and everything is within easy walking distance.
Having also stayed in hotels in Hong Kong and Singapore on this holiday, the Hilton was all we expected it to be (from the website) and more. Thoroghly reccomended.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davepb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,510)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,196 - 4,202 of 4,512 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2006

Rooms tiny and designed to irritate. Why do Hilton hotels like frosted glass bathroom walls?
Tiny bathroom had nowhere to put things- no surfaces that is. Hence you put things on the floor. When you need an aspirin in the middle of the night you put the light on, and wake your wife.
On the way back to bed you collide with the hard edged glass table.

A splendid remote control is provided, but it works the DVD player, and you have to try hard to operate the TV. When you want to dial abroad, you look in the oh-so-stylish book for help, to be told to look at the card by the phone. There is no card. It is in the back of the book.

Staff OK, location fine.

As a Hilton Gold member, I'd still avoid it.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ethelman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2006

We stayed at the Sydney Hilton for 6 days for a conference. The facilities are great for a conference, however, for a personal trip to Sydney, I would pick a different hotel. While the hotel has been recently renovated and everything is new and modern, the rooms are very small. The gym is excellent as it is also available to the public, so it has a large amount of cardio equipment, classes and a large pool. The location is excellent and easy to get to everything in Sydney.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jmalzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2006

A great location but the rooms, and especially the bathrooms, are way too small. If you're standing at the sink, you effectively block the entrance to the bathroom so no one else can enter or leave. (Nice amenities, however.)

And despite the great location, no views aside from the neighbouring hi-rises, which seem to yield 1,000 voyeurs staring in your window (who knows if they can see in or not?).

On the plus side is the location, close to Castlereigh Street, David Jones and Myer, not to mention Queen Victoria Building. A good taxi rank right outside the main entrance is a real plus.

But despite having booked a non-smoking double room, having called in advance to ask for early (Noon) check-in, we were kept waiting three hours for the correct room upon arrival at 2 PM. Not very impressive for two Hilton Honours gold card holders.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SingaporeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2006

We really couldn't have been more disappointed with our stay at the Hilton in Sydney.

At check in we weren't asked whether we wanted a smoking or non-smoking room but when we walked into the room there was no mistaking it was smoking room. The smell was terrible, especially since we are two non-smokers.

We proceeded back down to reception and asked to be changed to the non-smoking room which we had requested at the time of making the booking, only to be told that the hotel was completely full and that we could not be moved.

The hotel staff offered to place a machine in the room while we were at dinner which was supposed to remove the smell. While we were sceptical we agreed to give it a try.

As expected the machine made no difference whatsoever. My husband and I decided there was no way we could sleep in a room which smelt that bad - we felt we had no choice but to check out. There was no apology or offer of a refund despite the fact that the hotel had failed to deliver on our booking.

We've stayed in a great number of Hiltons around the world and have generally been very impressed with the standard of the properties and the service. It's a pity the same cannot be said about the Sydney Hilton.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Travellers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2006

I highly recommend staying at Hilton Sydney. I stayed there in February and was lucky enough to be upgraded to one of their Relaxation Suites. Apart from a wonderful room that I wanted to move into (it had an enormous bath in the middle of the room, and a huge flat screen TV in the living area) this also meant I had access to their Executive Lounge where pre dinner drinks & canapé’s were free and in the morning a fantastic breakfast was served. All room telephones have a Hilton Magic button, where anything you want at any time of the day will be organised for you. Now this really worked, I was very impressed with the hotel's service.
At night the coolest place to go out is the hotel’s Zeta Bar, it’s full of beautiful people (so wear your best clothes!) and every now and then you’ll find a celebrity at the bar. People line up to get in, but as a hotel guest you have your own access lift which means YOU don’t have to queue with the common people, which is always nice……

In summary: stay at the Hilton Sydney if you get the chance (and pay extra for the Relaxation Suite as it is stunning!)

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Saskia1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2006

I stayed at the Hilton for the final two nights of my honeymoon in Australia and i have to say it is the best hotel i stayed at on our three week trip. We arrived two hours early for check in and it was not a problem, we were able to check in straight away.

The concierge service was great (it is called the magic button), they were very efficient at getting us restaurant reservations. All the staff were great especially the bell boys, we never had to wait for our luggage.
The room was really nice and modern with a really comfortable bed and good city views. There was everything in the room that you would need that other hotels don't think of .The bathroom was really nice and modern, it had a lovely shower and bath and a good selection of toiletries.
The hotel is in a great location as it is central to the QVB, the rocks and darling harbour; it is also right by a monorail station so you don't have to walk if you don't want to.
We did not eat there as there are so many other great restaurants near by that we wanted to try.

The only negative was, that they made an error charging champagne that was a gift to our bill, however once it was mentioned it was removed straight away with no fuss whatsoever.

I would recommend this hotel, to anyone who wants a lovely hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,884 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#12 of 178 in Sydney
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#33 of 178 in Sydney
3,234 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#14 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $202 - $635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing