We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical Hilton”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #35 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Typical Hilton”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2008

My wife and I stayed at this newly refurbished hotel for only 1 night as we had a function to attend in one of the many meeting/ball rooms on the property.
The hotel itself is a well established hotel in the heart of Sydney and walking distance from any part of the central city area.
The main entrance is from Pitt Street, and as we drove there we used the parking garage below. $30 for overnight.
Reception is fairly small but open and does have a kiosk but on our check-in the staff were very slow. 15 minutes standing there.
We were located on the 42nd floor, standard room. This was very clean and new, good bathroom and shower with separate bath. Toiletries were 1st class. Room was a little on the small side, but good bed and flat TV (with bad reception).
Overall a good but not great comfortable hotel. It also has the famous (in Sydney anyway) Marble Bar which is most impressive in it's art decadence and the Zeta Bar which is one of the most popular nightclubs in town, although staying at the hotel doesn't give you any advantage over the queue that streaches the length of the property. Breakfast is the usual buffet affair which is quite nice but expensive.
Oh, and the function and the room it was in was great, including the food and drinks.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Reception
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mobogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,017
    1,409
    527
    182
    109
See reviews for
399
1,529
415
1,486
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (734)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2008

I have stayed at the Hilton in Sydney many times while visiting family in Sydney and will return many times again. I continue to return for 3 reasons.

1. This place has the BEST breakfast you can imagine. They have EVERYTHING! Ive stayed at many 5 star hotels and nothing has come close to the selection and outstanding service you receive. (make sure you get breakfast included in your booking)

2. The rooms. Although sometimes perhaps small, they are extremely clean & comfortable. Nice plasma TV screens, really confortable beds and funky modern bathrooms. Those who complained about the bathrooms in other reviews should gain some appreciation for modern living.

3. Service. Overall service is outstanding, including the "magic" button in the room and helpfullness of reception and the friendly staff at the front door.

I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel. Absolutly fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank steveofcanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2008

Readers may wish to know that I am a diamond card holder with the Hilton group (which gives me upgrades). Furthermore my wife and I are fairly well travelled and neither of us will see 50 years old again.

This hotel is more of a businessperson's resting place than a traveller's. The bedrooms are small and any more than 1 suitcase becomes a problem in terms of hanging space and space in the room for case storage. The bathroom is , for me, bizarre : built of frosted glass it affords no privacy or discretion, but the shower cubicle is great. Sound insulation to the outside of the bedroom is not brilliant , and you will hear doors slam.

The hotel is well located in one of the main city centre roads and is close to most things. The outstanding Victoria shopping centre is immediately opposite, Darling Harbour is a 10 minute walk and Circular Quay,the Botanical Gardens and the Opera house about a 20 minute walk. The hotel has a really good, large gym and spa with regular classes for men and women, including a dedicated spinning room. The breakfast room is good with a reasonably good variety of food. Zeta's bar is a magnet for the young , and Saturday night is quite simply a parade of beautiful girls in refined clothing waiting to pay AUS 40 just to get in.

The Executive Club room is ok, but gets very crowded at happy hour time and the food variety is boring.

The general service level is high (but not in a Hong Kong way) and the Concierge desk is well managed.

Would I stay there again? Difficult to beat the location, but I would want more bedoom space and a discreet loo !!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small bedroom and indiscreet loo
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Spinner8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2008

Great location, clean, quiet and prompt check in and check out.
Looked after us very well

  • Liked — Beautifully equipped
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
102 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2008

I was there one night on business and was given a "king relaxation room." The room was next to the service elevator area so I heard noise. Also noise from closing doors. Mostly, the room was weird--the bathroom was sort of integrated into the room. Also, even on the 41st floor, with single-glazed windows you could hear the street. Hotel was crowded and does not have enough elevators. Only one restaurant, and that is very expensive. The hotel is well-located and the room I was in had been redone. Service was pretty good. I suspect it is quite expensive and for the money, you can probably do better in Sydney. Not nearly as good as some other luxury hotels in Sydney.

Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Professor44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2008

My Partner and I spent 3 days 2 night at the Executive Suite. It was Fantastic. At first I was a bit worry after reading so many bad reviews. But they were all wrong. The Executive Suite we stayed in was magnificent. The staff at the front counter and the concierge were very friendly and was willing to have out luggage checked in first before the check in time at 3pm. When we arrived into out suite, we found our luggage nice placed in the room. It was spacious and gorgeous. The bed was so comfortable and the pillow was as soft as the cloud. We had full access to the Executive Lounge and the service was even better.

  • Liked — The Executive Suite
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jessejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seoul
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2008

If you are trying to mix biz trip with tours,
this is the hotel for you.
A room was quite small but acceptable.
Try to book a room with an executive lounge pass.
Go get free drinks between 6-8:30 if you happen
to be staying at the Hilton on Thursday and Friday.
I was happy with my bar experience there as
I was too tired to drag my feet to go to a bar outside of hotel.
Would definately stay here again for biz trip.
But for honeymooners, I recommend Park Hyatt
and for family trips, try hotels at Darling Harbor.

  • Liked — central location
  • Disliked — room size
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fobmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#32 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#14 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,846 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Property: Hilton Sydney
Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing