We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend away in the CBD”
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #41 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We celebrated our 22nd wedding anniversary at the hotel. We were married at the Hilton in 1991 and thought we would return for a weekend away. We upgraded to a relaxation room via a Hilton Honors standby upgrade offer. The room was on the 37th floor. It was a double sized room with a King Size bed and a large bathroom and small sitting area. Unfortunately the furniture, bed and lounge are extremely poorly placed in this room. The bed head is against the window so you can not take advantage of the wonderful view that we had of the harbour and off to heads. The TV was positioned in the middle of the room so to view the TV from either the bed or the lounge was on an angle. It was an older style plasma TV that was not great to view from an angle. That all said the bed was extremely comfortable with heaps of pillows. The bathroom was spacious and luxurious. The overall room ambiance was good. The room air conditioning system was a bit noisy and a half degree change in the thermostat gave a massive change in room temperature.

The room was clean, furniture immaculate and all the amenities and towels plentiful. The room had two sets of blinds, a daytime and and night time block out that was extremely useful in keeping the room dark at night and the day blinds keeping it pleasant during the day.

The car park is located under the hotel and is very convenient. The hotel is located across the road from the QVB building and only half a block from Pitt Street Mall. The location for shopping is as convenient as you will get in the city.

The executive club lounge is good but I would not rate it as a must. I found the breakfast was adequate but the beverage selections was poor. The selection of newspapers and magazines was just OK. If lounge access it is offered to you at a reasonable rate it is worth considering.

Overall a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: High floor on the North facing side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,770 - 2,776 of 4,607 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

The rooms were very well presented but far too small. The mini bar prices were the most outrageous I have encountered so far. The bathroom originally would have had a shower over the bath and they have incorporated a separate shower and bath giving you far too small a vanity/sink area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The location if this hotel is great, only a 20 minute walk from darling harbour and 15 minutes from circular quay. We had a suite on the club floor and it was beautiful. The club lounge is a bit disorganised but I think this was due to not having enough staff to cover the substantial amount of guests using the lounge. Internet wifi was not great, it was very slow and at the weekend became almost non existent which for a business hotel wasn't ideal. This all sounds a bit negative but I really would recommend this hotel, the majority of staff were brilliant and the hotel is beautiful plus the location is a bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alibaba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I traveled to SYD for a three night break for our anniversary. We haven't stayed at Hilton Sydney for two years, and always though of it as one of the best hotels we've stayed in in Australia (and the world!).

I guess I need to preface this review noting that we've had a number of stays at Hilton South Wharf in Melbourne recently - which has now taken 1st place for our favorite in Australia.

Nothing much had changed on arrival, other than the room feeling a little smaller than it had before. A quick look on the fire evacuation plan showed that our room was next to the fire stairs and lost some 'width' in the bathroom as a result. Given the smallness of the bathroom - we probably didn't need to upgrade to a Deluxe Room (which comes with a bath which we'd hoped might make the bathroom feel a little bigger). The room itself had two reasonable sized windows, however on a previous trip we'd had a corner room which seemed brighter. Room wise - Hilton South Wharf is bigger, and the full height and width windows make a huge difference also. For the definition of a beautiful hotel bathroom, you can't go past Hilton, and had SYD's been a little larger it would have equalled South Wharfs.

Breakfast was good, except for a hiccup on the last day when "barista coffee" (i.e. anything other than filtered coffee) is no longer 'part of the package' (would have been nice to have known that the 'package' was going to change during our stay.

The location is great - we walked everywhere and ate and drank outselves silly. Try Mejico and Jamie's Italian (part of the Jamie Oliver world domination) in Pitt Street, but you absolutely must try Mr Wong that's part of the "Establishment" group near Bridge Street - amazing!

A day trip to Manly was a breeze, and the proximity to the Town Hall train station means you could get anywhere.

We looked at catching the train from the airport - but at $31.80 we took a taxi (which cost us $52!!!) We caught the train back to the airport, and while convenient, we only had one suitcase and the train is just a 'normal' service so not really set up like the Airport Express in Hong Kong.

Just a few minor 'mysterious' goings on (a $5 charge appeared on our bill, and one morning our extra pillows and towels disappeared) - but nothing that wasn't fixed with a quick call on the "magic" button.

As always Hilton staff were more than accommodating, even getting a personal and considered response to our 'How was your Stay' within 24 hours of leaving.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay at Hilton Sydney again - but we'd probably go for the Guestroom Plus on an Executive Floor next time. Slightly lesser breakfast (continental not full), but there's the lure of drinks and canapes in the Executive Lounge which after a hard day of shopping is a treat (we did it last time).

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor at the northern end of the hotel - we could glimpse the Harbour Bridge and ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdelaideArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Flew into Sydney for some quick sight seeing. Hotel was convient to all the sights including the bridge and opera house. Staff was great and very helpful. Great suggestions and even arranged for an airport transfer saving us the time and extra dollars instead of using a cab.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Very happy with our Hilton room which was clean, very modern, spacious and well appointed. No complaints at all. Staff were extremely professional and helpful. I have never encountered such kind hotel staff! The Hilton will be top of my Sydney Hotel list in future. The buffet breakfast was fabulous with a great range of hot food, the mushrooms were delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 500Beaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Have stayed multiple times WILL NOT BE BACK. Our brand new car was damaged by valet. Yellow paint on front bumper and scratched through paint completely. Man on phone very helpful, said they had had multiple reports of damage that week and informed me the pillars/Ramps are yellow. Asked me to send email with photo. Finally got dismissive email from another person claiming not their fault. It's a brand new car you bet it wasn't me!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel101traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Sydneyweekendtripper

I can understand your dissatisfaction with the result of your claim and your disappointment is regrettable. I am happy to take your call should you wish to discuss the matter further.

Kind regards

Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#19 of 179 in Sydney
2,024 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#75 of 179 in Sydney
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#34 of 179 in Sydney
3,300 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#14 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
#40 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $183 - $588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing