We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“only let down was that the pool was out of use!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Sydney

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #36 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“only let down was that the pool was out of use!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Fabulous weekend at the Sydney Hilton. Stayed Friday and Saturday night just recently- noise was no issue on the 32nd floor. Admittedly rooms are on the smallish side with two single beds when we asked for a twin room but at least they are clean and seem to be standing the test of time as previously stayed here 4 years ago. You cant beat the location with the town hall station and woolworths near by. Great for a girls shopping weekend as you can drop packages back easily to your room and continue on shopping near by! Conceirge was very helpful too with assisting us making restaurant bookings. The only let down was turning up to the health/fitness centre to be told that the pool was under maintenance until later in the week and that this was not mentioned to us upon checking in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fussytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,988
    1,386
    523
    178
    107
See reviews for
392
1,502
410
1,472
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (723)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

My sister and I went back for the second time to celebrate a special birthday, booked on executive floor great views over the Harbour, had an excellent time, as great location The lady on reception on executive floor was great and most helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

After staying in the Sydney Hilton's Honeymoon Suite many years ago we opted to stay in the Relaxation Suite which cost almost $800 per night for our anniversary. I wanted to check my emails and it was going to cost $29 for Wifi or free a couple of floors away, so on principal I opted for the free 5 minutes of use. Whilst in the computer area a rude staff member came up and was frantically telling me to go now, now to which I replied cant I at least send my email and the answer was no, no you cant use this computer, it is staff you have to use one of the others. She was none too friendly and quite rude. No signs anywhere stating this.
When we arrived home I looked on the website to see exactly how much the horrid night cost us and I saw that we were entitled to evening refreshments, finger foods and snacks. Nobody told us this of this inclusion in our room rate. I emailed the following day stating what I've written here and instead of my complaints being heard by senior management - it went to the unpleasant female I was complaining about...what a joke! I was most disappointed in not being told about the lounge where we could have gone to for the evening refreshments which our room entitled us . Got a typical apology letter which didn't even state the correct concerns. Just wasted my time trying to make the hotel manager aware of what goes on in the hotel...Wont be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1dogbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at Hilton Sydney. I am naturally disappointed that we did not meet your overall expectations on this visit, especially being a special occasion stay.

Your comments regarding the team member’s rudeness is a concern and of course not acceptable. Please be assured that the matter will be followed up and addressed as appropriate by her direct report.

I was also very sorry to learn that your Executive benefits were not explained to you upon check-in and sincerely regret your disappointment. I can assure you that the receptionist concerned has since been spoken to by the Front Office Manager.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back sometime in the future and the opportunity to restore your faith in our hospitality. In the meantime, should you wish to discuss your experience further, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Regards

Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is one of the more tasteless hotels I have stayed in for many years. Being Hilton it was crowded with mainly holiday crowd and few suits were to be seen. The lobby is a disaster and there is no decent coffee spot in the entire hotel. Lifts are activated by key sipes but don't expect them to work each time. Bathrooms are too small for suite sized rooms. Complicated light switch operation and you spend most of your visit getting the hang of them. Staff courteous . Awfully decorated business lounge. In fact decoration throughout the hotel is in desperate need of a makeover
No views of the harbour.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel. Pick one overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bowie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here the past weekend, and had a King executive room. Not a massive room and that was probably the only thing I could fault about the hotel.
Executive lounge is excellent, however the included breakfast in Glass is far better than what is in the lounge. All in all a great experience, wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MOJO_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Glass and Zeta are great restaurants and bars respectfully. The gym is commercial so equipment and atmosphere is good. Whilst the rooms are decorated nicely, the walls are really thin? Hope they're not too noisy next door...

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RockYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with us.

Glad to see you made the most of our wonderful facilities during your visit. I do hope we will have the privilege of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney in the future (and in the event of any disruptive neighbours during your stay, please do not hesitate to contact one of our Duty Managers who will attend to the situation accordingly).

Thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

the location of hotel is perfect almost near to everything , the rooms was clean and new but small , breakfast was good , we spend 3 nights there and nothing was bothering us , we just sleep at the hotel and spend our time in the city

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shayan1363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

Hilton Sydney sure has a fantastic location and I hope you will join us again on your next trip to our beautiful city.

Sincerely
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#32 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Property: Hilton Sydney
Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing