We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #41 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hilton in Sydney but wish I hadn't. The rooms for the price are very small and badly designed. Hardly any room to move. I also found that I could hear building work all night. I have no idea where it was being carried out but it meant very little sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidayitisAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was naturally very sorry to see that you were disappointed with your stay, and particularly that your sleep was interrupted by local building work on this occasion. However, I do hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back at some stage in the future for a more comfortable & peaceful stay, perhaps in one of our more spacious 'relaxation rooms', which are guaranteed not to disappoint.

Sincerely
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,840 - 2,846 of 4,636 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Clean , refurbished , a little small , but overall very comfortable , especially after asking for pillow menu after two nights !
Staff okay , a little difficult to get a meal in restaurant at 6.30 at night , told to come back in 2 hours ,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for sharing your review about Hilton Sydney - We appreciate your comments.

Indeed our restaurant is very popular and we highly recommend for guests to make a booking prior, to ensure a table is reserved for arrival. I hope you will have another chance to return and sample Luke Mangan's superb menu.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you at Hilton Sydney in the near future.

Sincerely
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton in Sydney last week for a conference.The conference itself was exceptional, and that would greatly influenced how good I found the Hilton as a conference venue. Their service was excellent. The company who produced the event was Light House Productions, led by Gina Samuel. She is amazing and if you need a conference organiser I'd recommend her team. The only downside to the Hilton are the very tiny rooms and members of my group upgraded to a suite. The executive floor is well worth the extra $90 for breakfast and snacks throughout the day. Wonderful views from almost anywhere in the hotel and the location to the shops an absolute must when you only have an hour long lunch break to make the most of them!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator shaft and if budget allows get a suite or the sllghtly less ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRobertson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Many thanks for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Wonderful to see that you were pleased with the venue and service at Hilton Sydney and I do hope to see you again at some stage in the near future.

Sincerely
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Arrived early, but was able to checkin wth no issues. Great room on 42nd floor with great views. Great location,a short walk to everything you would wont. Great shopping. Zeta bar incredile cocktails on the balcony overlooking the QVB. Just beautiful at night. Dined at the Glass Brassiere, just sensational experience. Thankyou all.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubblesmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review.

We appreciate your comments and all look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future, at Hilton Sydney.

Sincerely
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This Hilton is so very modern with surprising amenities. We had a surprise upgrade to a suite on the 41st floor and found it to be huge. We had just come off a cruise and our hotel bath with sunken tub, two sinks, separate shower was larger than our ship stateroom.

We had access to the concierge (executive) lounge with free breakfast, tea and cocktail hour and appetizers. You would never have to eat out there was so much gourmet food available.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Location was superb and within walking distance of many parks and attractions as well as Darling Harbor.
Loved it!

Room Tip: 41st floor had 180 degree views of city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suze722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments.

We greatly appreciate your review and of course are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at Hilton Sydney.

I hope we have the pleasure of seeing you back to Hilton Sydney the next time your travels bring you this way.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed overnight recently to attend a conference. My room was beautiful and checking was seamless. My bags were delivered to the room while I attended the meetings. The conference facilities were great. I would agree the lifts were painfully slow. Room service was impeccable and breakfast buffet also impressive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Many thanks for posting your review following your recent stay.

It was wonderful to read that you were pleased with your overall stay and enjoyed our facilities and services during the attendance of your conference.

We all hope to serve you again in the near future at Hilton Sydney.

Sincerely
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there recently on a secret hotel deal (so I gave it 4 stars in value) however I cant help but think that we were given a less than average room because of this. Patchy paint on wall and broken black out blind (though fixed promptly).

Standard rooms very small/cosy. Staff were nice enough but no one went above and beyond or out of their way. Nothing unpleasant though.

Nice buffet breakfast which we prepaid for (and made it great value...wouldnt pay full price). Coffee average and again, service average.

While I had a nice time, given the choice, I would probably pick another hotel next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meikadalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor.

We do strive to provide exceptional service to our guests on every occasion; however I was sorry to see that we did not meet your expectations during your stay, especially pertaining to your guestroom and the service from our team.
Please be assured that all mystery hotel bookings at Hilton Sydney are based on our standard 'guest room' category. And as we take all complaints very seriously, it is important to us to follow up on the standard & condition of the guestroom which you occupied; therefore we would be very grateful if you could kindly provide us with your details / room number by contacting the hotel directly.
I have also passed on your helpful feedback to our Housekeeping team to ensure that procedures for final room checks are thoroughly completed and please accept our apologies for the disappointment you experienced on this occasion.

I do hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to Hilton Sydney at some stage in the future, for a more pleasant stay.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#77 of 180 in Sydney
1,300 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#19 of 180 in Sydney
2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#34 of 180 in Sydney
3,319 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Address: 488 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#14 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
#40 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $176 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing