We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect CBD Location, but...”
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #37 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 7, 2013

There is nothing you can fault about the location of this hotel, and the service and friendliness of the staff was faultless. My gripe is about the rooms - surprisingly small for a five star hotel, and just amazing that they bother to put a TV in the showers, but leave the speakers OUTSIDE the shower so you can't hear it properly! And then put perhaps one of the crappiest clock radios I have ever seen in the room - have they not heard of iOS devices?

Instead of powered blinds, I would have preferred somewhere to place my bags. And perhaps a nicer coffee option. It all just seemed unbalanced to me.

On the other hand, the breakfast was AMAZING! I have never had such a delicious range of food on offer, and the coffee was great, and the environment delightful!

The conference facilities were nice too, and the conference food excellent!

So some great aspects, but also some significant fails... at this level of hotel there really shouldn't be gaps! Oh and the parking is very expensive, and nasty driveways if you have to park yourself. Access to the car parking is tricky if you don't realise the ONLY access is from a one way street BEHIND the hotel! Great for public transport though - only a minute or two from Town Hall station.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to Hilton Sydney.

We sincerely regret that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations and I have taken your feedback on board. And indeed, it can be tricky to navigate Sydney’s one way streets on approach to our hotel, especially when one is not familiar with the area – We have therefore included a map and directions on our website for those requiring vehicle access, in the hopes of making our guests’ journey as hasslefree as possible.

I was happy to see that you enjoyed your conference and breakfast experiences during your stay, and that you were pleased with the friendly service from our team; and I do hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again soon at Hilton Sydney.

Kind Regards
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,511)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,762 - 2,768 of 4,512 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

Grat Great & Great.My Wife and I enjoyed the stay.Looking forward to staying again.Actually my wife and Pregnant step daughter would like to stay there before her baby is born in November this year. Hopefully i will book soon myself. Vince Whitehouse.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Vince W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at Hilton Sydney.

We truly appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back very soon for another memorable experience!

Kind Regards
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here as part of a large meeting and was impressed with the service from the seamless check-in to great food. My room was large with a nice view of Sydney..loved the idea of a TV in the shower! Lovely comfortable bed ensured a great night sleep. Will be back.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank Niqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the features in your guestroom and your overall stay, and we hope to see you back at Hilton Sydney very soon.

Kind Regards
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I checked in this morning - on the plus side they allowed me to check in at 8 am, since I had just got off an overnight flight I asked for a quiet room - was given one underneath a building site so sleep was off the cards. When I changed room I was given another pokey box room on a lower floor - no apology was offered.

I am a diamond member but am going off Hiltons - Starwood Platinum gives you a suite on almost every stay. Since the rooms are so pokey at this place I am considering changing hotels - the only thing that is preventing me from doing this is the Hilton points which can be used at the few decent hotels in the Hilton Group.

Had a coffee in the executive lounge (which reminded me of a budget airline lounge I guess....) but this is limited to Nespresso only - how lousy is that.

I 'll see how I sleep tonight....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank biztrav88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for your review following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was sorry to read that you encountered some difficulties early into your stay and we sincerely regret any inconvenience caused as a result of the room move.

Whilst we continually do our best to ensure our Hilton Honors Diamond Members are upgraded to larger rooms on each stay, please be reminded that all upgrades are subject to availability; and again, our sincere regret for any disappointment caused on this occasion.

I have also noted your comments pertaining to the Executive Lounge coffee; we appreciate your feedback and have taken this on board.

Thank you again for your time and I hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to Hilton Sydney in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My title really says it all.

I chose to stay at the Hilton on one of my nights in Sydney to try out the brand. While the room was small as others have said, it was perfectly acceptable, and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was well-kitted out, with a bathtub and a shower, and the provided toiletries were useful, although a very "unisex" aroma, which doesn't really flick my switch.

I used room service once, which was quick and tasty, and also made it up to the executive lounge for "drinks and canapes", which was packed out! A good selection of drinks and food though - nice prawns! In terms of food though, breakfast was hands down the best. The many different buffet stations had everything you could possibly ask for, and I really appreciated the list of gluten free foods which was on the hot buffet. They also provided hot food cooked to order as part of the buffet menu, and those who are gluten free - you MUST try the French toast - it was to die for!! I just wish I was there for more than one night so I could have tried everything else! (I also noticed GF pancakes...)

The friendly, competent service (and I have to say, the breakfast array) has made me see the Hilton as a definite contender for my hotel dollar, and on the strength of this one night, I've made plans to stay at several more Hiltons in my travels.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review.

I was very happy to read that you were pleased with our service and facilities at Hilton Sydney – We appreciate your taking the time to share your feedback and I trust you will continue to enjoy your experiences with the Hilton brand throughout the rest of your travels.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Standard and executive rooms are very small and some do not have baths. Relaxation suites size of two rooms and are more stylish.

Executive Lounge has been refurbished and has a cool industrial feel but can be a bit of a zoo at 'feeding time'.

Great for business. Not for a romantic / holiday stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SybariteCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

I appreciate your review following your stay with us.

We all hope to have the chance of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney in the near future.

Kind Regards
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Okay, so despite saying I would not return I have done exactly that to Hilton Sydney. As I said in my previous review I find their policy on corporate card bookings bewildering but I am prepared to give them credit where it is due.

And I'm glad I did. This time I booked and paid with my own credit card (instead of a corporate card) and found the entire process of checking in flawless. The staff were organised, efficient and courteous.

The room on the 24th floor (2425) was spotless and whilst the twin beds pushed together appeared to be slightly different in height causing a well defined ridge, the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is excellent with a brilliant shower.

Breakfast at Glass was okay without being anything to rave about apart from the actual room. On my previous visit I have to admit I didn't take much notice of the ambience but this time I did - and it is an amazing space. Breakfast is one of those meals in hotels that is hard to differentiate from one property to another.

There is only so much you can do with cereals, bacon, potato rosti, tomato and mushrooms. However it was freshly prepared and not too much is sitting in the warmers for any length of time. A nice touch is the specialist yoghurts and I did try the coffee and walnut which was outstanding!

So I'm changed my view. The Hilton is a beautiful hotel in a great spot and the staff are welcoming and engaging. I appreciate the opportunity to have stayed again and experience a better outcome.

I didn't try Glass for dinner but instead went around the corner to the Criterion. A really good Irish pub with excellent meals at great prices (steak, salad and chips for $18).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OooRoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your review and for choosing to give Hilton Sydney 'another chance'.

Naturally, I was delighted to read that you were pleased with our service and facilities on this occasion, and I trust you will continue to enjoy more memorable stays in the future.
Thank you again for returning to stay with us and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,885 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#12 of 178 in Sydney
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#33 of 178 in Sydney
3,234 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#14 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $202 - $635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing