We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Glass Brasserie!”
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #40 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Sydney on a public holiday weekend. This hotel is often pretty expensive but I was able to secure a reasonable rate of just over $200 for the standard room. As a Gold HHonors member I was pleased to be upgraded to an executive room on check in and to know that full breakfast would be included.

Check in was friendly although the poor chap working had lost his voice and could barely talk...he really shouldn't have been working the front desk!

The rooms in this hotel are quite small as hotels go but certainly modern and functional.

A highlight of this hotel is certainly the F&B venues. The ambiance and standard of the breakfast at Glass Brasserie is exceptional. I will say though that on the morning of the public holiday when everyone seemed to be taking the opportunity to have a late breakfast that they did struggle a little service wise. It was clear that many guests were waiting quite a long time for items to be delivered from the cook to order station. My partner ordered soft poached eggs - they took well over 10 minutes to arrive and when they did they were cold and cooked through. Ultimately though I think it's an amazing place to have breakfast with so much choice.

After being upgraded to the exec floor we had access to the exec lounge. There was a great range of food there for the evening session but I can't help but find the decor a bit sterile...it feels like it should be more open and lacks a luxury feeling which I feel it should have.

I'd be more than happy to stay again when I can find good rates.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bazza76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for your review about your stay at Hilton Sydney.

Whilst I was very pleased that you enjoyed your overall experience with us, please be assured we have taken on board your constructive feedback pertaining to the service you received during your stay. I have shared your comments with my senior management team to ensure we are providing the exceptional standard of service we pride ourselves on, consistently.

I do hope we will see you again soon and thank you for your ongoing loyalty to the Hilton brand, as one of our HHonors Gold members.

Kind Regards
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,962 - 2,968 of 4,696 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

We thought when booking that breakfast was included but found to our dismay that it was not and at 42AUD extra per person we felt it was a bit pricey. The fact the breakfast was not included also made the cost of the room a little expensive though for location it was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for sharing your review with us on Trip Advisor.

We sincerely regret that you were unaware about Breakfast incurring a separate charge during your stay. However for future bookings, you may prefer to select the Bed & Breakfast rate which includes breakfast at a discounted price compared with the the walk-in rate at the restaurant.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed our location and we all hope to see you again at some stage in the future.

Kind Regards
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Last time I stayed here (when it first opened) lines of people to check in caused massive problems, Hilton have got this in hand and near immediate check in while airline staff were also getting their check-ins done, just smotth and polished service. This continued throughout the entire stay, a true 5 star plus.So often it is the first contact you have with a hotel that sets your mind, this branch got it right.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank andy11Christchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thanks so much for your review.

We do our best at Hilton Sydney to ensure our guests' experience is seemless and hassle-free; and it was wonderful to receive your positive comments about your smooth check in and check out process.

We look forward to serving you again very soon.

Sincerely
Felix busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Have stayed at the Sydney Hilton numerous times, overall a good hotel situated in the centre of Sydney's CBD directly opposite the Queen Victoria buliding. the hotel in my opinion offers the best buffet breakfast in Sydney! the rooms are small but modern and well laid out the hotel offers an underground pool/spa/sauna/steamroom and an extensive gymnasim. The only negative for this hotel like all 5 star Australian hotels is the price dont expect to pay any less than $50 per person for room service! overall a good hotel in a convient location with town hall train station across the road allowing you to travel anywere in greater Sydney.

Room Tip: Best Buffet breakfast in sydney!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melb19721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and I have also noted your comments pertaining to the In Room Dining charges - To be accurate, our Room Service menu offers quite a range of options including substantial meals starting at $18.00, however we have taken your feedback on board and do appreciate your views.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney in the not too distant future.

Sincerely
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

excellent services and meals but beware there is a credit card surcharge of 1.5% .this is an absolute scandal.Hilton hotels do not6 have surcharges in the UK so why should they impose them in Australia.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

I was sorry to note your dissatisfaction regarding the credit card surcharge. By way of explanation, in 2010 Hilton Sydney implemented the 1.5% surcharge on all credit card transactions. Please be assured that the decision to adjust our business practice was not taken lightly and was made to bring Hilton Sydney in line with industry standards and our deluxe hotel competitors. We do endeavour to provide our valued guests with as much notice as possible by displaying this information on our website when viewing the room availability page, on all reservation confirmations, signage on the reception desk and on the registration card upon check in. Please also be advised that we accept Eftpos as an alternative method of payment which of course does not incur this surcharge.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope we will have an opportunity to serve you again at Hilton Sydney in the near future.

Kind Regards
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton for a week during a work visit. Probably the most compact, yet functional hotel room I've ever been in. It was small, but that wasn't an issue at all. Great view down George St. Very clean, all mod cons, and a superb buffet breakfast! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hzanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Many thanks for your review about your stay.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience, especially the functionality of your guestroom and I appreciate your feedback.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

On returning to the Hilton Sydney I knew what to expect and was not disappointed.

The great lobby still impresses and still feels like half of Sydney is hanging round in it or passing through. Business men zip in and out and glamorous Emirates cabin team technicians are swallowed by the lifts up to the heights of the tower.
I booked a basic room, not on the club floor. It was very small, and really would be irritating for two unless you were still in honeymoon bliss mental state mode. Don't try and even fit two large suitcases in the room, it will be cramped. The minibar is one of those that if you knock the bottle off it charges you, and if there is a small earth quake you will owe big money. The bathroom is cramped but bright.

The hotel is not really about the room. Dump your bag and get into the bar on level 4 looking over the heritage shopping mall next door or splash out in the Glass brasserie. It's pricey but the decor and vibe is great. Better still get out and find yourself surrounded by shops and a short walk to Darling Harbour.

Town Hall station is 2 minutes walk for all train lines. The opera house and bridge is a 15 to 20 minute walk, but the walk is part of the fun.

While in town try the great restaurants Sepia for brilliant food without the intense environment or Porteno for the best Argentinean rockabilly atmosphere and simple but delicious food. To see the real Sydney take a taxi to Crown street in Surrey Hills and enjoy cosmopolitan inner city life.

Oh, and when you get back to your small room you will find you sleep very we'll in the excellent bed and on the feather pillows.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DiboTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for your review following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was glad to see that you enjoyed your visit to Sydney and it was our pleasure to host you. I hope we will see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#75 of 181 in Sydney
1,438 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#20 of 181 in Sydney
2,143 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#35 of 181 in Sydney
3,358 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Address: 488 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#14 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#28 Family Hotel in Sydney
#39 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $169 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing