We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, great location, huge buzz”
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #37 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 13, 2013

On returning to the Hilton Sydney I knew what to expect and was not disappointed.

The great lobby still impresses and still feels like half of Sydney is hanging round in it or passing through. Business men zip in and out and glamorous Emirates cabin team technicians are swallowed by the lifts up to the heights of the tower.
I booked a basic room, not on the club floor. It was very small, and really would be irritating for two unless you were still in honeymoon bliss mental state mode. Don't try and even fit two large suitcases in the room, it will be cramped. The minibar is one of those that if you knock the bottle off it charges you, and if there is a small earth quake you will owe big money. The bathroom is cramped but bright.

The hotel is not really about the room. Dump your bag and get into the bar on level 4 looking over the heritage shopping mall next door or splash out in the Glass brasserie. It's pricey but the decor and vibe is great. Better still get out and find yourself surrounded by shops and a short walk to Darling Harbour.

Town Hall station is 2 minutes walk for all train lines. The opera house and bridge is a 15 to 20 minute walk, but the walk is part of the fun.

While in town try the great restaurants Sepia for brilliant food without the intense environment or Porteno for the best Argentinean rockabilly atmosphere and simple but delicious food. To see the real Sydney take a taxi to Crown street in Surrey Hills and enjoy cosmopolitan inner city life.

Oh, and when you get back to your small room you will find you sleep very we'll in the excellent bed and on the feather pillows.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DiboTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for your review following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was glad to see that you enjoyed your visit to Sydney and it was our pleasure to host you. I hope we will see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,510)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,793 - 2,799 of 4,510 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed here for 14 nights on business travel. My first time to Australia, as a USA native.
PROS:
1. The executive lounge. If you are here on business travel, I highly recommend getting the room package that allows you access. Best service in the hotel, and the amenities are top notch (food, beverages, wi-fi, work space.)
2. LOCATION. You can't beat it.
3. Marble Bar and Caffe Cino both have high quality food, beverage, and atmosphere.
4. The rooms and all common areas are very clean.
5. The fitness area is clean and high quality equipment, and not too crowded.
CONS:
1. The service at the Concierge and front desk is average at best for the price you pay. Everyone is pleasant, but two different people will advise two different things on the same question.
2. The front desk gets really busy, and never seems to be enough staff there. The best time to address something is first thing in the morning. The later in the day, the longer the line gets.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, near the elevator.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Many thanks for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed our location and facilities; and I have also shared your important and constructive feedback with our Front Office teams ensuring we provide exceptional service, consistently.

Thank you for choosing Hilton Sydney and I hope we will see you again in the near future.

Sincerely
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Despite the smaller space, I still think it's a very nice hotel. Nice clean crisp smell.

Few steps away from all major attractions I don't even need a public transport.

The gym is complete. Bring your running shoes along if you ever ate too much in this foodie paradise.

Thanks for the balloon n chocolate praline to celebrate my wedding anniversary. Will definitely go back.

We booked our accommodation during Easter and it's really a good bargain.

Room Tip: Opt for higher floor to get better view of the city. Else will be blocked by opposite buildings.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ling2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

We greatly appreciate your feedback on Trip Advisor and thank you for choosing to celebrate your Anniversary stay with us at Hilton Sydney.

It was our pleasure serving you and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Hilton used to be my go to place in Sydney. Until I stayed there once when about 8 months pregnant. Upon check in I was told I'd been upgraded, lovely! We stepped out of the lift in to a mouldy wet smelly corridor with carpet lifted and machines there trying to dry it out or something. We went to our room and immediately rang and asked to be moved. Despite the fact that inhaling mould spores (especially when pregnant) is harmful, if this was an 'upgrade,' downgrade me now!
They promised to clean the air in our room and said they weren't able to move us, even though we had been 'upgraded' to a room we didn't book.
We had to leave the room and stay out for a while while they cleaned the air. When we returned the room did smell better but we still had to walk down the smelly wet corridor.
I was very disappointed with the service. Don't try to pass it off as an 'upgrade' and don't even mention or apologise for the condition of the corridor. And don't place obviously pregnant women's health at risk
Shame, I did love the Hilton and the magic button ...

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilyRoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at Hilton Sydney last year.

I was of course very sorry to learn of your experience which did not leave you with a good impression of the service we pride ourselves on.
I have noted in our reservations system that you stayed with us 12 months ago and it is a shame that we were not contacted soon after your visit in order for us to investigate the matter with our team at the time - We deeply regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay.
Should you choose to return to Hilton Sydney in future, please do contact me directly so that we can ensure your stay is truly memorable for all the right reasons.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope we will have the privilege of serving you again at some stage in the future.

Sincerely
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

nicely designed, good size room, right in the middle of sydney.
not the sort of place we can usually afford, but as a gift we really enjoyed the experience.
Pay a little more, and get the northerly view over the harbour, but our view was still pleasant looking at the city spill out to the south down Pitt St.
Buffet Breakfast was sumptuous, and a great treat. Could have fed myself for days if i had worn a coat with big pockets.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickandjude1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your great feedback with us.

I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and please come join us again for another sumptuous Buffet Breakfast!

Thanks again for your comments.

Kind Regards
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

It was our first visit in Sydney and we really enjoy it. Room is quiet and staff are kind. But internet access little expensive per day. Nice location to go everywhere! I would like to stay again next time as well!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Ayumi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for your review.

So glad to see that you had a great time with us and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We've stayed at many Hiltons and our Diamonds members of the Hilton Honours Programme. This Hilton did not disappoint for the week we were here. We got a suite and were very happy with the size of the room. The view was great and I enjoyed watching TV whilst lounging in the giant Jacuzzi over looking the city. the staff were mainly polite and attentive. the only downside is the bar attached to the hotel is a club at the weekend so when returning to the hotel at night we weren't happy that we had to walk through a crowd of drunk people queuing to get into the club because they had locked the main entrance on George Street. Would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom corner suite, ask for a room high up facing north for a view of the Harbour Bri...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Many thanks for your comments about your recent stay.

We appreciate your ongoing loyalty as Hilton Honors Diamond guests and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall experience at Hilton Sydney.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 178 in Sydney
1,881 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#12 of 178 in Sydney
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#34 of 178 in Sydney
3,234 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#14 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $202 - $641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing