We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where oh where is the top sheet?”
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #39 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This centrally located Sydney CBD hotel is easy to reach from Sydney Airport's two railway stations (Domestic or International), alighting at Town Hall station. For the fastest trip, change at Central to platforms 15 or 16 to avoid having to go an extra four stops around the City Circle, as trains from the airport travel via St James with Town Hall the last stop. The hotel is 150 - 200 metres from Town Hall railway station. Better than a taxi anyday.

I was going to give this refurbished hotel five out of five but one thing really annoyed me.

Like many Australians, I prefer to have the choice of a top sheet on the bed. This is more comfortable than sleeping solely with a European style doona. Doubtless the Sydney Hilton does this to save money on hotel laundry - thousands of sheets a year that are not added to a commercial laundry's washing and drying must result in significant savings - but while I acknowledge that choice of bed linen is subjective, I am one who prefers the lightness of a top sheet. While the doona seemed clean, intrinsically it is more unhygienic than a constantly changed sheet.

That aside, my checkin was fast. As is the current day practice, Hilton asked for an A$100 (excessive) credit card (or cash) deposit to cover damage or incidentals. One wonders how many foreign tourists come unprepared for this. The couple of days' interest (when multiplied by X rooms) is a nice little earner.

The four lifts were fast. My 33rd floor room was small (dating as it does from the 1970s) but was pleasantly refurbished (my guess is about seven years ago) with electronic window blinds, a modern couple of lighting panels, a largish glass desk that was back from the bed next to the bathroom, a flat screen television, good bedside lighting and efficient airconditioning.

The bathroom had a decent sized bath, a very clean shower of a reasonable size but with a small rose rather than the rainshower rose that so many hotel guests like, a basin that sloped along with good lighting and adequate toiletries.

The minibar was electronic and well stocked. One potential difficulty is that if a guest moves any item, it will be charged to his account. There were generous servings of tea and coffee sachets.

Breakfast was quite good: not quite up to the standard of hotels in (for instance) Metro Manila, Philippines where the range of hot dishes (and cuisines) is typically far larger than in Australia, but nonetheless the Hilton's brekky had five or six choices of juice, a good range of cereals, properly cooked tasty bacon and scrambled eggs and yoghurts - all the items popular with Western guests. I was there early in the morning: the clientele was largely Caucasian at that hour but one wonders how well the breakfast caters to Japanese and Chinese tour groups. Of course, 'when in Rome...'

I checked out using the express envelopes placed under patrons' doors during the night.

The hotel's list of services disclosed that a morning newspaper could be ordered but that it 'may be charged for.' This is penny pinching given that the typical corporate rates for non-airline staff at The Hilton Sydney are A$200 a night including breakfast. Perhaps the hotel management needs to take a trip to cities such as Manila where guests normally receive complimentary newspapers at similar hotels (and where I might add Wi Fi is free).

Many of us understand that the Australian hospitality sector must pay hourly wage rates way in excess of southeast Asian hotels, but failing to provide these services 'free' is often rightly criticised. It's little wonder that the Australian tourism industry (whether guests for leisure, business or visiting friends and relatives) often struggles.

Room Tip: Catch the Sydney Airport Link train from Domestic or International (Airport) railway stations to Tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Victorianlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

Whilst I was happy to see that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay, we sincerely regret any disappointment or inconvenience you experienced in relation to the absence of a top sheet on your bed. This is actually a Hilton Worldwide brand standard, applied to Hilton properties globally – However, please be assured we have taken your valuable feedback on board.

Regarding daily newspapers for our guests, please be informed that this is, in fact, complimentary. The only newspaper for which a charge exists is the Financial Review.

Once again, thank you very much for your time and your feedback which we appreciate; and I do hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to Hilton Sydney in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,838 - 2,844 of 4,549 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

we stayed here recently and had a great weekend - great rates. we had a wonderful view of the city. the breakfast was huge although possibly a little to huge. we stayed here recently and had a great weekend - great rates. we had a wonderful view of the city. the breakfast was huge although possibly a little to huge.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timetraveller1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hilton Sydney and hope we will have the honour of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Executive lounge is outstanding. Worth the value for inclusive breakfast, day snacks and evening canapes. Concierge staff was rude and judgemental because they thought I wasn't a guest when I approached them for locality advice. Otherwise, hotel is fantastic. Love Sydney!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Yuri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to post feedback regarding your recent stay at Hilton Sydney.

Although we strive to exceed all guest expectations, especially within our Front Office departments, it appears from your comments that we have missed the mark on this occasion. Whilst your experience as described above is somewhat out of character for our team, please be assured I have shared your very important feedback with our Concierge staff to ensure we are delivering the highest standard of service, consistently. Your feedback, albeit not good, is much appreciated and can only help to improve our team.

I was very pleased, however, to read that you enjoyed your experience in the Executive Lounge.

I do hope we will have the pleasure and privilege of serving you again at Hilton Sydney in the near future.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

It's not often that one has the luxury to attend an academic conference in an amazing city like Sydney, Australia and stay at one of its finest hotels. Not only did the Hilton add to the success of the conference, but it made the attendees staying there feel like a million dollars. Walking from the hotel to the Sydney Opera House and Circular Quay left indelible memories…the ambience of downtown Sydney is something to behold...and makes one want to return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you very much for your review.

We are indeed fortunate to be located in the heart of one of the most amazing cities in the world and I was delighted to read that your experience was a truly memorable one.

We hope to see you again at Hilton Sydney in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed a night in this hotel and accommodation was nice. The rooms though are small at the rate per night. A good stroll to the harbor was relaxing and enjoyed the Japanese restaurant there we we had dinner.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for choosing Hilton Sydney and for sharing your positive feedback with us.

I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Kind Regards
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed four nights in late June. Everything that we needed. Central, comfortable and fantastic gym. Check in was easy, everyone at reception was cheerful, friendly and helpful. Always a good start!

We highly recommend this hotel and we will definitely make this our home whenever we are in Sydney.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRANDOZ212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Hilton Sydney, and for recommending our hotel.

I have shared your lovely comments with the team and we all hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Sorry for late review but stayed here in Dec 2011 for two nights. We booked guest room but we were offered an upgrade to executive room (with fees) on check in and we were glad that we took the upgrade.

Executive room was spacious and clean and it is on the higher floors of the hotel. Views from the room are nothing extra ordinary and the king bed is very comfortable. Obviously with the executive room, you get the facilities of executive lounge which was great for evening drinks and for the breakfast in the mornings.

Hotel is right in the centre of CBD and is close to Westfield shopping centre and other famous attractions. There is a bar under the Hilton hotel and it is very historic and elegant hotel and makes wonderful cocktails.

Overall, a very pleasant stay at Hilton Sydney and experienced true Hilton experience. Staff were very friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are a good value to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rameez H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback about your experience at Hilton Sydney.

I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will have the chance to visit us sometime soon to experience our newly renovated and extended Executive Lounge.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind Regards
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
1,948 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#12 of 179 in Sydney
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#34 of 179 in Sydney
3,260 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#14 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
#38 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $184 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing