We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed the mark... just”
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #37 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Missed the mark... just”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have been meaning to stay at the Hilton Sydney since their renovations. So we seized the opportunity to have a weekend away and stay at this Sydney staple. We arrived later in the evening and found the car park underneath the building to be a bit haphazard and confusing. There were no marked bays so it was difficult to know where to park. In saying that, the car park is run by SecureParking. Checkin was efficient and friendly and our standby upgrade was granted. City views from the room up George St from Level 40 were pleasant although there was only two windows in the room on either side of a concrete pillar. Would have been preferable to have the window take up the entire wall so as to have an uninterrupted view. There were mechanical blackout blinds which was a nice touch not seen previously in any hotels we have stayed at. The room was small but cosy and reasonably appointed. The bathroom as well was tight in parts with shower and bath. The shower rose was nothing to write home about however did have reasonable pressure. The drain in the shower was perfect (underneath the door capturing all run off and not flooding the floor!). The other bug bear that we had was the usual complaint of having two beds pushed together. If you book a King room you should expect a full king bed and not two put together. I can understand that the hotel would want to be able to configure the room to be a twin when necessary but it makes the bed incredibly uncomfortable in the middle where it meets. Room service was delicious and prompt. Checkout staff were a little aloof. The location of the hotel is well suited to all usual amenities. Would recommend if you could get a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve8010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at Hilton Sydney.

Whilst we strive to exceed our guests’ expectations, I was sorry to learn that we “missed the mark” on this occasion. I appreciate your observations and opinions, which help us to monitor if we are meeting our guests’ needs and enable us to improve our guests' experience.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney at some stage in the near future.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,125
    1,478
    547
    191
    118
See reviews for
424
1,599
432
1,571
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location. Across the road from QVB, and between Westfield/Pitt St Mall & Galleries so it's right in the centre of all the action.

Stayed here overnight and thought overall the stay was very good. Stayed in a deluxe room and it was clean and quite modern but nothings special. The room is actually in a small side compared to other brands I've stayed at in Sydney.

Service was good, in room dining came efficiently, and liked that they had free DVD hire which were also delivered to our room efficiently.

Overall, would stay here again because of the price, location and the ability to earn Qantas FF points.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hannaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are indeed situated perfectly in the heart of Sydney’s CBD and we all look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located esp if you are there for business. Service is poor in some of the restaurants. Menu selection is also poor - same breakfast menu everyday !! Curtains are so light that it does not even cover night lights coming in. Overall not an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awahed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for posting your review about Hilton Sydney.

I was sorry to learn of your disappointment during your stay and we have taken your comments on board.
However, should you return to Hilton Sydney in future, you may be pleased to know that the windows in all rooms throughout the hotel are fitted with electronic blackout blinds, bringing the room to complete darkness if required, and can be controlled via the appropriate switch at the bedside.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope we will have another chance to serve you again in the near distant future.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend took me here and suprised me with gluten free chocolate cake made by the Hilton chef... balloon. .. decoration. .. champagne and especially made strawberries coated in chocolate and belgian chocolates it was really a plus effort by the hilton staff

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aimz777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback.

At Hilton Sydney, we continually endeavour to make special occasions truly memorable for our guests and it was indeed our pleasure to host you. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The breakfast at the Hilton Sydney was amazing. The variety was unbelievable and the food was excellent. There are healthy alternatives, too. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is located about 0.8 mi to Central Station in Haymarket where you can catch the train to the Blue Mountains.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_Travel_Tales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for posting your review following your visit last year.

So glad to see that you enjoyed our magnificent breakfast spread and our fantastic location; and we all look forward to serving you again at Hilton Sydney in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

It's a great place to stay in the heart if the city. Walkable distance to town hall train station with link to airport. The rocks and opera house just 20 minutes walk away.

Breakfast spread is healthy with freshly squeezed juices, mueslis and many other options.

Rooms are well designed and equipped but small. You will need to walk carefully to avoid stubb injuries.

Overall, enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RV70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your stay.

I appreciate your comments and I do hope we will have another chance to serve you again at Hilton Sydney sometime.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My partner and I were lucky enough to attend 'The Voice' Grand Finale at Fox studio as guests of Channel 9... we were given two nights at The Hilton Sydney, Limos etc!

OOpportunities like this only happen once in a blue moon so we were delighted! We were booked into a King Executive room and checked in on the 16th June. The concierge and valet did amazing jobs with our luggage and we finally entered our room!

Well the view was nice from room 3315 but the room, alas, seemed 'pokey' (can we say that?), in comparison to 'minor league' hotel chains like Rydges, Oaks and Quest, hence the old addage size does matter!

The overall cleanliness of the room, considering its five star status was not really up to standard either. That apparently hard to remove mould we have found in most of the bigger hotels with bigger price tags (Domestos works a treat in our home)!

Room service meal was fast & tasty, the executive lounge also came in handy for all-day coffee, snacks and canapes!

Look, we didn't pay for the room but as a guest you do expect a certain standard especially when the price tag is high and the establishment comes with a five star rating!

Bonus; Close to QVB, David Jones, Westfield etc!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rater1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor.

Whilst I was pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay, our sincere apologies for the cleanliness issues you encountered in your room and please rest assured your feedback has been relayed to our Housekeeping Manager accordingly.

I do hope we will have another opportunity of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 179 in Sydney
1,803 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#34 of 179 in Sydney
3,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 179 in Sydney
1,949 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Property: Hilton Sydney
Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#14 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing