We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but has some drawbacks”
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #37 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Evidently the last reviewer (March 23) had a suite, because our room on the top floor (43rd) was pretty cramped - just about enough space to walk around the bed - and the bathroom was somewhat similar to the bathroom on a cruise ship. I wouldn't say the view was all that great either because the windows are narrow slits and nearby buildings even taller than the Hilton prevent you from seeing anything really interesting. Furthermore, I'm not so sure the location is all that great either, it's a significant walk to Darling Harbor (especially coming back uphill) and verging on a cab ride to Circular Quay. But that's enough 'winging', as they say.

Apart from those things the hotel is excellent. The executive lounge is great with a nice breakfast buffet and evening hors d'oeuvres and drinks - although the offerings are exactly the same every day (there should be a rotation or change every day or two). The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful. Before our arrival the concierge called around to find out where we could get certain specialty food items. We mentioned we were celebrating a birthday and a balloon and chocolates were waiting in the room. Also, the Marble Bar below the lobby is an astonishing and unexpected gem. The entire room, which was disassembled from its original 19th C. location and moved here, is lavishly carved multi-colored marble. It's like something out of a museum or historic mansion. Really incredible - and the drink prices are remarkably reasonable.

Room Tip: Request a high floor, although it doesn't really make that much difference.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellknob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor.

I was pleased to read that you were happy with most aspects of your stay and that you particularly appreciated our unique and historic Marble Bar.

I do hope we will see you again at Hilton Sydney, should your travels bring you back this way.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,512)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,946 - 2,952 of 4,512 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed in the Hilton Sydney for New Year so it was expensive but the room was lovely, it was spotless and the staff were really helpful. Great location being right central to Darling Harbour, the Rocks and Circular Quay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arstambar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for your review following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I am delighted you had a memorable stay and we all look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Spent one night in the Hilton.

The good
- location for shopping or if your office is near the QVB
- modern and functional room
- View on the city
- good night of sleep

The not so good
- Room was ok, but small. I was at the Intercontinental the week before, and the room were larger (ok, intercon is a bit dearer)

The rooms are nice, but missing the WOW factor. Still prefer the intercon....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank axelgfrsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for your review about Hilton Sydney.

We appreciate your views and comments, and I hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to Hilton Sydney in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Without exception the staff were friendly, courteous and helpful which meant that the service was exceptionally good. The room was spacious and being on the top floor, the views were fantastic.
Breakfast was great with a large choice. The location was perfect - 10 minutes walk to Darling Harbour, 20 minutes to Circular Quay and 2 minutes to a huge selection of shops! We will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a good view! If you're reasonably fit, you can walk to most places from her...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulpur1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your visit to Hilton Sydney.

We continually strive to deliver exceptional service to our guests and I am delighted that you were pleased with your experience at out hotel.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Moved over to the Hilton after four nights at the Marriott to save a little money on our vacation. Big mistake. Yes it was 100$ cheaper per night, but they get it back from you by nickel and diming you for everything. 30$ per night for Internet and 30$ for breakfast that we didn't have to pay at the Marriott because of our rewards status. We have the same status at the Hilton, but didn't get nearly the same benefit. The rooms at the Hilton are much smaller, the bed way less comfortable, and the overall feel of the hotel less welcoming. If we hadn't stayed at the Marriott for work first, maybe we would have loved it here but overall it was too much money for what we got.

Room Tip: The deluxe room doesn't give you anything more besides an awkward desk.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for your review following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I have taken your feedback and observations on board.

However, should you choose to return to Hilton Sydney in future, you may prefer one of our Relaxation rooms which are generously spacious and luxurious, and inclusive of access to the Executive Lounge. In addition, we do offer complimentary WiFi connection within our hotel Lobby and in the Executive Lounge, should this benefit you on future stays.

Thank you again for your review and I hope we have the chance to welcome you back to Hilton Sydney sometime.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

we were so excited to stay here on the way to shanghai as a stopover. the room was about $240 for the night. and what a disappointing room it was. cluttered so badly there was nowhere to do anything. too much furniture in such a tiny clogged room. it was very frustrating. and unnecessary. the bed was nice though, we got a good sleep which is very important of course. i had requested a room with a view on a higher floor, we were on a higher floor but no view to speak of. also although we had nothing from the mini bar, i received a $40 charge for it on my credit card statement. i specifically mentioned on checking out that we had not had anything from it and to please delete it from the account but she obviously ignored us. would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethany2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

Naturally I was sorry to see that you were disappointed with your experience, particularly that your bill on check out was incorrect and not rectified. We take your feedback very seriously and please do not hesitate to contact us directly at Hilton Sydney so that we can look into this matter further and ensure your charges are rebated accordingly.

However, I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed a good night’s sleep during your stay with us.

I do hope to hear from you soon and our sincere apologies over any disappointment caused on this occasion.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Hilton Sydney. Our room was very dated and the equipment was not working properly.
We had not booked the breakfast with the room and we walked in once but we were informed that the cost was A$42 per head, which is very costly. In general, the staff is helpful but you often need to repeat your requests to get them serviced.
Good point, the hotel is perfectly located in the city center.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank The_Blue_Ocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I have shared your valuable comments with my management team to ensure we are consistently delivering the level of service we pride ourselves on and I hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to Hilton Sydney in future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,885 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#12 of 178 in Sydney
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#33 of 178 in Sydney
3,236 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#14 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $208 - $641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing