We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lacks atmosphere and the wow factor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #36 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lacks atmosphere and the wow factor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Checked in for one night and was informed that I had been upgraded to a deluxe room.
The room was clean, well appointed yet somewhat sterile.
The TV was small and dated. Bed was comfortable. I chose not to use internet based on price. ( I can get a month of unlimited download at home for the same that you would pay for a day)

I did ring and ask for a contour pillow and was abruptly told that they don't have them. I wasn't offered an alternative.

The breakfast ordering menu doesn't have prices on it so there's no way of telling what it's going to cost. Instead I used the express cafe in the lobby which turned out to be ideal.

Couldn't see a mini bar price list and with an automated billing service for anything removed from the fridge I decided to give it a wide berth.

Bathroom was compact.

On the plus side, it's in a good location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Hilton Sydney.

I am sorry that you experienced some disappointments with regards to our service and have taken your feedback on board.

However, please be advised our breakfast menus do include pricing therefore should you wish to provide further detail about your breakfast experience, please do not hesitate to contact me directly so that we can have a clearer understand of the situation.
For future reference as well, our Minibar menus are located above the fridge cabinet, on the tea & coffee counter.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback and I hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to Hilton Sydney in future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,986
    1,385
    523
    178
    107
See reviews for
392
1,501
410
1,471
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (723)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have commenced travelling for our company on a regular basis now and in fact every week for the past two months to Sydney.
I thought it would be good to take my wife with me as on this occassion I was staying at the Sydney Hilton (HELL). on arrival at night in the rain we were greeted by the Rain ONLY the door perosn wanted to stay dry. my wife struggled with three bags whislt i was paying the cab driver absolutly no help from the foor person until we got inside the door of the HELL and then was asked if they could help.
Upon reaching the desk i was greeted by an abrupt and rude front office desk person throwing my HH card back at me, interesting concept in deed.
then because we had the audacity to complain we the next day our pillows were changed and with that came the stench that the pillows were strait from the sewer unable to sleep on them we requested new ones with the levely hlousekeeping person explaining that it was not her that did it. the inference that can be drawn form this is if you caomplain at the HILTON HELL Sydney you can expect soem fomr of reprisal to happen.
Hitlon has now lost all our business and infact lost in the last month around $10k in business asa direct rresult of this. do they care about customers not in the slitest
If hyou stay at this Hotel just be awear of the type of treatment you can expect if things are not quite right this should be a 1 star hotel as 2and 3 star hotels i have stayed at have presented and provided better service

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone if you wish to have a great stay in Sydney.
there are other hotels in close proximity that provide better and service at a comparible price.

Room Tip: Business Suites Are supposed be the best that includes breakfast and Drinks on the Business floor bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelercryx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I have noted your comments and reviewed this with the team; and we would greatly appreciate if you can contact us directly to discuss the matter further.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

took my Girl freind here for our 1 Year Anniversary and the building is beautiful service immaculate, room clean neat but a little small, service was just perfect, staff professional but can i say that the price prohibative for me i only spent 1 night here. the location was great and its in the middle of Sydney CBD minutes to any where in Sydney the rocks opera house harbour bridge town hall and the shopping is just around the corner great location. Breakfast was supurb

Room Tip: ask for a room on the highest floor with views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sami H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon at Hilton Sydney.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

High standard of cleanliness and good location. Staff were mostly friendly, but for one rude notable lady on check-in. Internet is priced as a rip-off rather than included, be sure to factor it into the room price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ullodea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay.

I am very pleased you enjoyed your overall experience at Hilton Sydney. However, since we continually strive to deliver exceptional service to our guests, I would greatly appreciate any further feedback you may wish to provide about your check-in experience, should you be happy to contact us directly.

Thank you again for your comments and I hope we will serve you again soon in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Hilton for 2 nights for a business conference. Unfortunately, the stench of stale cigarette smoke in my room coloured my experience of the weekend. When I asked about this, I was assurred that the room had never been a smoking room, and that I could not be moved due to the hotel being full (fair enough, it was also Mardi Gras weekend), but there was an offer of an ozone machine. Thankfully I didn't need to spend much time in the room, but drying myself with towels that smell like cigarettes was a definite low-point.

Otherwise, the conference facilities and public areas are good, as is the central location.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NZ-Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your review following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

Whilst I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our facilities and location, I have also noted your comments regarding the condition of your room during your stay, for which we deeply apologise and regret any inconvenience caused. I can understand your frustration about the situation and we are currently doing all we can to prevent any such occurrences within non-smoking guestrooms, including heavy penalties for those smoking in non-smoking rooms.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to Hilton Sydney in future, for a more pleasant experience.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Ive stayed at the Hilton on 3 separate occasions in the last 2 years largely on business and unfortunately it gets worse with each occasion. The rooms are tiny, dated, there's poor ventilation and on two occasions I had a room with a shower curtain! There was also a lava lamp-like thing in the room filling up the already cramped space. Urgh. Perhaps the executive floors are better so that might be your best bet if you're considering this hotel.

That being said, the service is reasonably friendly, the room service prompt and housekeeping was very accommodating. It's great in terms of location.

Have stayed at Four Seasons, Westin, Swisshotel, Sir Stamford and by far Hilton is the worst of these particular 4-5* selections selections.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your previous stays at Hilton Sydney.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with the quality of your guestroom during your stay. However, I am pleased to inform you that we have since renovated these room types since your last visit; and I am confident you will enjoy our newly refurbished guest rooms on your next visit.

We appreciate your comments and feedback, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hilton Sydney in future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed here for the city to surf in August 2012. This hotel is in a great location with the Town Hall train station a short walk away. Would happily stay here again - rooms are great and staff helpful -great location for the city to surf start as its about a 5min walk

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gw_worldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to see that you were pleased with our location and service during your stay for the City2Surf.

We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again this year.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#32 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Property: Hilton Sydney
Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing