We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Reliable luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #35 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Reliable luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in the Hilton a few times in the last year or so as they do the odd good deal through Bookings.com. Normally it's outside my price range. The rooms are modern and classy with great facilities and often good views across the city roof tops. Staff are very friendly and well trained. Food and beverages are prohibitively costly, but then you are walking distance from hundreds of other choices, from tourist traps in Darling Harbour to cute cafes in the QVB over the road. A few niggles this time included a room key that operated the lift security temperamentally and the cafe not opening for brekkie until 7am. Too late for many travellers. Probably saved $30 by having breakfast at the airport. Finally it's worth mentioning the famous Marble Bar, one of the more interesting bars in the CBD and secreted in the Hilton basement, directly off George St.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squonkMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your experience at Hilton Sydney.

I was glad to learn that you were pleased with your overall stay with us and we do appreciate your comments.

We all look forward to serving you again very soon at Hilton Sydney.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,736
    1,237
    447
    160
    86
See reviews for
326
1,324
371
1,282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Arrived in Sydney on the second leg of our Around the World trip after an overnight flight from Hong Kong. We arrived at the hotel at 10am, and were given passes for the LivingWell gym to shower and freshen up as our room was not quite ready. On our return from the gym, the cases were already on there way to the room and we were given our keys at 11am which was great. We had booked an Exec Room with access to the lounge. The room was spotless and well presented, the bathroom walls being stained glass. I would highly recommend booking an exec room as it pays for itself, breakfast is good, not a massive choice but enough (compared to A$35 each in the Hotel Glass Restaurant), and the canapés and drinks from 6-8pm sets you up for the night. The staff throughout could not help more, very friendly and welcoming.
The location is perfect, 10mins walk from Darling Harbour and 15mins from Circular Key with Town Hall MRT and Galleries Monorail stations on your doorstep.
This trip is to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and the hotel put balloons and chocolates in our room for our arrival, a nice touch.
Our last stay in a Hilton was in our home city of London which left us a little disillusioned with the Hilton brand, our stay in this hotel could not be more different. This hotel is everything that Hilton is about and comes highly recommended.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was delighted to learn of your satisfaction with your experience at Hilton Sydney and hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
184 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We took the train from the airport and walked in the front door of the Hilton, dragging baggage. Two valets immediately took over. Quick, easy, early check in. In the room the safe did not work. Within five minutes of a phone call to the front desk, it was fixed.

Half way through our stay, our room keys did not work. We went downstairs where Amelia re-programmed the keys. They still did not work. This time, Amelia came upstairs with us. The keys did not work. In the amount of time it took for the elevator to reach our floor, a manager and a maintenance man appeared. Batteries in the lock were replaced. Amelia then offered us a bottle of wine for our "inconvenience."

With a lunch, my wife ordered "iced tea." She received a bottle of pre-sweetened iced tea. She asked if she could have regular, unsweetened iced tea. Christina said there was none made, but "give me 5 minutes, please and I'll make some." She did. Later that day, we ordered dinner in the room. Again, my wife forgot to specify non-sweetened iced tea. The lady who delivered the tray told us Christina had spotted the order and put regular iced tea on the tray.

That is the level of service we received at this Hilton.

The hotel itself is immaculate and major parts are newly refurbished. The lobby is open and
spacious. The room is spotless. It is small, the bathroom is tiny as is the vanity area. The views are spectacular.

We took advantage of the Executive Lounge where breakfast and afternoon snacks were bountiful. Tea and scones in the afternoon. Basically an open bar in the evening. Another choice for breakfast is a full buffet in the restaurant. Excellent quality and more than enough choices.

Do yourself a huge favor. Go downstairs and have a drink at the Marble Bar. Step back into
the 1800's for a few minutes in this gorgeous piece of architecture.

There is nothing cheap about this hotel, but it is definitely worth every penny.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VenturaTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review about Hilton Sydney.

We are truly passionate about delivering exceptional service to our guests and I was delighted that your experience was nothing less than the 5-star service expected of us.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed at this Hilton for New years after my cruise. Hotel was centrally located and was near public transportation. The hotel was beautiful, staff was friendly & helpful, room was nice, i enjoyed the all glass bathroom shower, tub was so relaxing . We had the executive room package which came with access to the executive lounge "good food & coffee". Didn't get a chance to vist the spa/fitness center.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funladez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your overall experience at Hilton Sydney and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

In Sydney, most people know the Hilton for a number of reasons - Same location for years, (close to Town Hall,QVB, Tower) nice foyer, famous Marble bar, Zeta nightclub, Luke Mangan's restaurant - Glass, good reviews on TA etc.
Some things did surprise me however - given the reputation.
The rooms are the smallest of any Sydney hotel I've stayed in. (Almost Parisian in size, but we are not in Paris ) The Deluxe room was spotless and the bathroom looked as if it had been revamped recently, with a deep bath and a separate shower. However, I expected more than twin beds pushed together, with a doona barely covering the top of the bed and no top sheet.
It did have nice fluffy pillows, robes and slippers - all things expected in a 5 star international chain.
As no information on hotel facilities was given on check in, we went to explore. Following a rabbit warren of corridors via an under-ventilated gym and its change rooms we finally found the pool. It was under cover, had a low ceiling, chlorinated air and looked much better on the website.
A first for me in Sydney was - the electronically tagged items in the mini bar. If you remove something from its place it was recorded and you are charged a ridiculous price. If you want to store your own items there is a note telling you to ring and request another fridge for the room. (not sure where you would put it). Parents beware of little ones, or you will have a hefty bill on checkout!
The breakfast served in the popular Glass Restaurant was a nice buffet, with a range of hot / cold foods, made to order eggs, breads, pastries and juices. Pricey at $40 a head or $29 if you booked when checking in. However there are many cafes in the nearby QVB.

Location is ideal for tourists on a short stay, especially if you are able to get a good deal ($100- $150) Presently on sale for $250+ per night on their own site.
Being a Sunday, we managed to get a good last minute deal. ( I'm not sure I would pay the rack rate to stay here) Unfortunately, Zeta was closed and Glass was booked out for dinner. (There is a set course menu for in- house guests). Best to ring ahead and book if you want this offer.
Internet is complementary in the foyer but is slow and outrageously priced for room connections. Local phone calls are timed (unheard of in the rest of Sydney)
We did have a lovely view from the 33rd floor. The roof tops of the Town hall and QVB and the lights of Sydney by night - beautiful!
However, if you want a treat or something special book a corner room or suite which are bigger. Or stay else where (eg. QT, Shang-ri-la)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmumSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review about Hilton Sydney.

I have noted your feedback and appreciate your views and observations which helps us to assess our guests’ experience.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again at Hilton Sydney in future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Pros: Very well located for shopping and well located for business. Modern fit-out. Standard of cleanliness is good. Quiet room with comfortable bed and electronic blinds made for a good night's sleep. Friendly staff.
Cons: Small rooms (a hang over from the original property), particularly the bathrooms. Can be slow at reception during busy times. Parking isn't cheap. Restaurants were closed on this trip, including for breakfast (on previous visits I was impressed with the main restaurant - very stylish fit-out and great breakfasts).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anders b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback via Trip Advisor following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I appreciate your feedback and was glad to read that you enjoyed your overall stay.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Firstly, we were fortunate to score an amazing deal (using Wotif.com's "mystery hotel" option) and spent 2 nights at the Hilton Sydney. Because we secured an AMAZING price, we were extremely pleased with our stay as we would not normally be able to afford the usual room rates.
The location:
It is extremely convenient - near Town Hall station (for the airport train), walking distance to Cockle Bay and Darling Harbour, and a stroll down to Circular Quay, The Rocks and other attractions on the Harbour. It is also in the main shopping precinct (Pitt St Mall and QV Building).
The room:
We had a corner room with views over the city, including the Centrepoint tower. The screens that can be used to keep the room totally dark were great for a fantastic sleep in! The room itself was reasonably large, lots of amenities (which we didn't use), very clean, and functional. The mirror on the wall was excessively large and unnecessary. The bathroom had a large shower (complete with TV screen) and lovely toiletries.
The hotel:
We enjoyed a discounted breakfast buffet at the Glass Brasserie which had a lovely spread of hot/cold and savoury/sweet items. The staff were very friendly. We even splurged on in-room dining whilst it was pouring with rain outside - the price for the chicken and salmon main dishes was quite reasonable and very tasty.
The facilities:
We didn't have enough time to check out the fitness centre
The minuses:
One of the fluorescent lights in the bathroom kept flickering for 2 days - we forgot to tell reception, and it was strange that housekeeping didn't seem to notice. The pillows were too soft (although we didn't find out until later that there was a pillow service!).
Overall we had a fantastic time, and it was made even more so because we had a bargain price!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TashfromMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

We greatly appreciate your comments about your wonderful experience with us.

However, it was unfortunate that you encountered flickering lights in your bathroom and we deeply regret any inconvenience or disappointment caused as a result. Please be assured I have passed on your helpful comments to our Housekeeping and Engineering Management accordingly.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I do hope we will have the pleasure and privilege of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#19 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 3,764 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#31 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 2,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#9 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,493 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Property: Hilton Sydney
Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing