We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Modern clean convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #34 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
74 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Modern clean convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Many past reviewers have mentioned about its location so i wont repeat it again but just to say everything is at your doorstep.
Checkin was quick and friendly.Upon entering the room the aircon was turned on to high and temp was set at 19.5 degress so it was freezing.Very powerful if one turned it to high but after turning it down to low and setting the temp higher...it was more comfortable but still too cold so i turned it off before i slept.
Room was modern and very clean but of average size.Not much room to move around as there were alot of unnecessary furniture.A big king bed with comfy duvet and the odd big square shaped pillows which i dont like.But they have 2 other normal sized pillows too.At the oposite side against the wall was a lounger.In between the bathroom wall and bed was a big glass desk.That practically took up all the space in the room.
The bathroom was very well maintained and clean.Fixtures looked very new.Shower was big though with a rain shower or handheld but no bathtub.No problems with water temperature and drainage.Nice Peter Roth amenities supplied.
Cant say much about service as i only had contact with the reception during checkin/checkout.
This Sydney Hilton Hotel is very nice and certainly way above average.If only the rooms were slightly bigger or had less furniture.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with us on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback and should you return to Hilton Sydney in future, you may prefer staying in one of our Relaxation Rooms which offers a generous amount of space and living area for your comfort.

I hope we will see you again soon at Hilton Sydney.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,804
    1,274
    462
    161
    88
See reviews for
341
1,359
382
1,337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The size of the room was a bit small and cramped. It was clean though.
I stayed there for three nights with my wife while in Sydney to attend a conference. The convention hall was good. Our room had a great view of the George St. and of the city. The breakfast was very good with a lot of variety. The best part was the location. It is accessible from most of the sightseeing places and you can even walk down to these places.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank indiantraveller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your review about Hilton Sydney.

I am pleased you enjoyed our location and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Had a great stay at Sydney at the Hilton. The hotel is placed in the center a couple of blocks from the central shopping area. Had an official training and it was great service. The reception was friendly and shared directions on the single day we had sometime to go around. Also the hotel has good places to eat around which makes the evenings a bit easier.

The rooms were also spacious enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NarVem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I am pleased you enjoyed our overall service and location and we all look forward to serving you again at Hilton Sydney.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Rock, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed at Hilton Sydney as part of three day conference. The room was very small, with under a metre between window and bed, bed and desk and desk and bathroom wall. The bed itself was a double, with a very old lumpy mattress and a torn ( and not mended) quilt cover. The bed wasn't made up properly with only a fitted sheet, no top sheet incredible when you are paying for a five star hotel.

The window coverings were of poor quality and the rod for one broke off when you tried to draw them over the window. Fortunately there were block out automated blinds which you could use.

The bathroom was no larger than a toilet cubicle, no bath, threadbare towels and no where to hang your towels. Not even a robe hook behind the bathroom door.

The hotel does not offer free Internet, which is now standard for most hotels in Sydney CBD.

Room service took close to one hour, and the food was ordinary.

As a frequent business traveller to Sydney will make sure that I avoid this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Need to upgrade to a suite if you want any space
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisal65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with various aspects of your stay - We appreciate our guests' views and observations and have taken your comments on board.

Should you choose to return to Hilton Sydney in future, it may be helpful for you to know that we do offer complimentary internet in the lobby of the hotel and in our Executive Lounge.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
541 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

I checked in for 2 nights after a long trip from Europe so pretty much i just wanted to sleep. the bed is amazing i think the best among all hotels i have been to. room doesnt come with breakfast & they still charge a lot for bar usage. the shower was good..the rooms are more designed for executives & had more of a business feel.
located in the heart of town hall so everything is at door.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianeNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your review.

It was our pleasure to serve you and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night. Room was clean and I had good view from the window. I liked evening snacks in the club lounge. Very nice selection of appetizers. Good selection of seafood.
Also liked the fitness centre. It was the biggest hotel gym I have ever been. Very many cardio machines. In fitness centre were also swimming pool and 4 saunas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RST50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for posting your review following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I appreciate your comments and was delighted to see that you enjoyed your overall experience, particularly our state-of-the-art fitness centre.

We look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I spent two nights at the Hilton Sydney for work, which was a change from our usual hotel. The hotel is quite grand with a high ceiling reception/cafe/walkway foyer. Check in is not til 3pm which was a slight inconvenience as I arrived at 2pm. The king room was nicely appointed with a very comfy bed and remote control blinds. The shower was a treat with a choice between a normal deluxe shower head and a directly over head rain shower. I didn't have time to enjoy breakfast or dinner at the hotel due to work committments. The parking is rather expensive at $50pn for self park or $65 for valet, but that's Sydney for you. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CassandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

We appreciate your comments and should you return to Hilton Sydney, I hope you will have an opportunity to experience Glass Brasserie's fine cuisine on your next visit.

Thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 3,917 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#31 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 2,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,582 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Property: Hilton Sydney
Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Hilton EMEA so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing