We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, nice property, awful parking”
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #36 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Bryn Mawr
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Central location, nice property, awful parking”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a nice Hilton. Fairly standard rooms for most city Hiltons. Bathroom is a bit odd, as there is almost no counter space. Executive floor lounge is also pretty typical of Hilton in that in the evening it closes earlier than you'd like and when open is jammed full of people. Breakfast in EF lounge is pretty light compared with full breakfast downstairs in main restaurant. Gym is great, as it is a normal city gym that is simply attached to hotel. Great equipment, locker room, swimming pool, steam and sauna rooms. BEWARE DRIVERS! If you are driving to the hotel, don't. It is nearly impossible to access the parking garage without making two illegal turns or driving very far south just to turn left and then left again. Entrance to garage is on Pitt St., not George despite what the address of the hotel says. It is not clearly marked and you have no idea that it is a garage contracted with Hilton for somewhat decent rates. Location of hotel is super. Near many bus lines and Circular Quay, so lots of ferries too. If you'd like a slightly more upscale place that is quieter and just down right lovely, try the Park Hyatt. Really stellar compared to Hilton.

Room Tip: High floor at end of hall if possible. Doors are very thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hilton Sydney.

We appreciate your feedback and I was very sorry to learn about the frustration you encountered when locating the Car Park of the hotel. Sydney’s one-way streets can indeed be quite tricky and it is for this reason that our local Hilton website provides some detailed instructions to assist drivers with the journey as much as possible, and I trust this information is beneficial for those wishing to drive in.

However, I am pleased that you enjoyed other aspects of your stay such as our location and fitness facilities; and I do hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again at some stage in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,110
    1,465
    541
    187
    117
See reviews for
422
1,591
430
1,549
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel never fails to live up to expectations. This was my forth stay in this hotel and the consistency is remarkable. It has to have one of the best breakfasts of any Hilton property on the planet (I stayed at 32 this year). They look after Diamond members with added amenities and they are always willing to go the extra mile to fulfill requests. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damquat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review about Hilton Sydney.

We continually strive to deliver exceptional service to our guests and I was glad to see that this was your experience.

I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We recently stayed for Xmas day and Boxing Day. This is a very nice hotel, well located being central to everything. The food, we had room service once, was fantastic. Our corner room had a great view, was exceptionally clean and had everything we needed. The only downer was the cost of the parking but I guess that is the price in sydney

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.

I appreciate your comments and we hope to serve you again in the near future, at Hilton Sydney.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The rooms are really comfortable. One of the best hotel beds I have had. Staff were pretty accommodating, we had a late flight so got complimentary late check out and access to their gym and spa for the day.

But some of the basic business hotel things you come to expect were missing. No toothpaste/toothbrush, no razor, no complimentary water bottles. Everything there would cost at least 3 times retail price.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jason-ASDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was pleased to learn that you were happy with our service. However, should you wish to receive complimentary amenities on future stays, such as toothbrushes etc, please do not hesitate to contact MAGIC via the MAGIC button on the guestroom phone and our friendly team will be happy to supply you with your requested items.

Thank you again and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney sometime in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights towards end of nov. upgrade was expected and 1 night later was moved to a top floor room on request. They didn't move my toiletteries bag and had to call up thrice to find it and be brought to my new room. Had asked for a room with a view of George street and darling harbour and the reception said yes, but got the room on the other side. So much for attention to detail.
Apart from the above issues was a good stay and the breakfast at glass as usual was great

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mahee_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed your overall experience. However, I do apologise for the service breakdowns which transpired during your stay and please be assured I have addressed these with the relevant Departments. Your comments are very much appreciated and can only help to improve our team.

Thank you for your time and I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We arrived 9 am to put our luggage to store since their check in time is 3pm. We were pleasantly surprised when concierge (Ronald) asked to check with reception in case the room is ready for check-in. On inquiry from reception we were advised that we can check in and were offered an upgrade for a nominal fee - which we took as a gesture of appreciation for letting us check in early.

Rooms were very neat and clean and well stocked. The only thing I didn't liked was that we had to pay for Internet ($20+/day). Not that we need it (since we were live in Melbourne, our phone had enough internet facility but for guests from overseas I think its a good facility to have) but still I think this should be a complimentary service for guests staying at any hotel around the globe. Maybe next time they will have free access for the guest.

The hotel is located in the heart of Sydney CBD. It's couple of minutes from Town Hall station and short walks from Darling Harbour, Circular Quay and China Town. So a big thumbs up to location.

Hotel have a nice cafe in the lobby area - loved their coffee's. Would recommend it, however their breakfast menu may improve.

We checked out on 26th December and check out was very smooth. The receptionist (Julia) was great - she took time to chat to us and offered any assistance (taxi etc) we may need. However, we didn't liked the idea of extra 1.5% surcharge on credit cards - we live in a world of plastic money. 1.5% is not a pain to pay but it's understandable when we are traveling to a budget hotel - not for a five star.

All in all we had very peaceful and happy stay at Hilton.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandeep_migs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your review following your stay with us at Hilton Sydney.

I was delighted to see that you were pleased with your overall experience and I have shared your pleasant feedback with our team accordingly.

I have also noted your comments regarding the internet charges and as an alternative to this option, we do currently offer complimentary WiFi in the hotel lobby and in our Executive Lounge.

In relation to the credit card fee, please be advised that the 1.5% surcharge policy is commonly practiced in Australian hotels and businesses and exists to cover the Bank fees incurred with every credit card transaction that takes place. We sincerely regret any disappointment caused as a result and we do appreciate your feedback and views on the matter.

Once again thank you for your time and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

we stayed in the executive suite with access to the executive lounge. it was expensive for what we got and the quality of the room and facilities was substandard. quite disappointed with the hilton other than its central cbd location

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with your experience. However, we appreciate your feedback as it enables us to assess the standard of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting guests needs and expectations.

Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 179 in Sydney
1,741 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#34 of 179 in Sydney
3,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 179 in Sydney
1,927 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Property: Hilton Sydney
Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing