We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton..still charging for WIFI!”
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #37 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Located 20 minutes walk from Circular Quay and 10 minutes from Darling Harbour, so this hotel is central for most tourist spots. Cant understand why they charge for WIFI in your room, to use WIFI free you have to sit in the lobby, along with all the other guest! Headed out the hotel for a walk at night, heading towards City Hall, not really a nice area, in fact I would not recommend heading out on your own, quite scarry at times, something that you would not expect in a city centre. We also went to Brisbane, the difference between the two citys regarding cleanliness etc was day and night, did not see any people sleeping rough as, you do in Sydney.

Try the Strike Bar in Darling Harbour, Happy Hours prices are excellent and in a great loaction, just round the corner from the Aquarium.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Findlay1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for your review about your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I am pleased you enjoyed our location and we hope to see you again at some stage in the future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,510)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,134 - 3,140 of 4,510 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is a fabulous hotel in many aspects:
- central location to the underground and shopping, and you can walk to everywhere in the city!
- excellent executive bar offering delicious complimentary tapas and drinks during the early evening
- modern, clean and comfortable room (I always look forward to coming back to the room)
- possibly the best breakfast in town!!!

This hotel is great for leisure and work visitors. My partner loves the work desk space while I love chilling on the bed relaxing. The only slightly negative thing is that there wasn't a variety of tv channels to choose from. Other than that, I am extremely happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mumbailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

We appreciate your time taken to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are passionate about delivering exceptional guest experiences and I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay.

I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future at Hilton Sydney.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Very disappointed having paid top dollar, staying on 31st floor and can hear the nightclub from level 4!!! Called reception and was offered ear plugs! Seriously. Get your act together if you're going to charge that much at least be prepared to offer a sound nights sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ditommac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for your review following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

Our sincere apologies for any disruption or inconvenience caused as a result of the noise you experienced from one of the bars . Please be assured I have shared your feedback with the relevant Managers to monitor the level of sound travelling up the tower, going forward; and again our deepest apologies for any inconvenience caused on this occasion – We do appreciate your feedback.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

As the title suggests, it was bit on the small side. Supposedly I was upgraded, but to what i'm not really sure. Maybe it was the view, which due to it's location was OK. I don't think there are many good views.
While I only had 2 nights, the staff that I dealt with were very nice and always eager to help. The included Breakfast was OK. Even though i was there about half an hour after it opened, the food was on the cool side. Other than that, it was standard.
The room was a bit smaller than other Hiltons i've stayed in, but that basically comes to it being located in Sydney where space is at a premium. I do think i was spoiled by staying In the Hiton in Beijing though.
The location was excellent and I just walked pretty much everywhere. Mind you, i'm still young and I like to walk around. There are many other hotels closer to the main sites such as the Rocks but they come with a premium.
Would I stay there again, I certainly would. Nothing wrong with it. A few drawbacks of course, but overall, I was happy.
Oh, one more thing, the mini bar issue that most have talked about. Every item is electronically tagged and as soon as you take something out, you are charged. Basically don't take things out, if you are not going to consume them. There are plenty of signs telling you this, so don't complain if you can't read. While yes the mini bar is expensive and I reall don't understand why, i'm sure some will use it. I didn't. Just bought a bottle of wine at a bottle shop and that did me.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thebrit0068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I greatly appreciate your comments and I am pleased you enjoyed your overall experience.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is an excellent hotel that has seen it's price/night steadily increase over the past 3 years. I have stayed here over 10 times in the past three years while on business. The hotel is very good. Here is a summary of the good and the bad:

Good:

- very clean
- very professional service
- great CBD location
- amazing breakfast in Glass
- excellent bathrooms (excellent!!)
- Very good cocktail bar/lounge

Bad:

- hate that the beds in the executive rooms are really two mattresses pushed together
- hate the steady increase in cost/night over the past years, it is a valuable hotel
- the Magic (central call center) system is a nuisance


15 minute walk to Circular Quai (Opera House)
10 minute walk to Darling Harbour
10 minute walk to China Town
25 minute walk to Taylor Square

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgagnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Thank you for your detailed review following your recent stay at Hilton Sydney.

We have taken your helpful feedback and comments on board and I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

I was feeling very tired and a bit stressed after a eventful day
the checkin was very fast and friendly
My room was very nice clean with great views of the city centre
After a relaxing hot bath I was ready for the heavenly pillows and now
All ready for a new day

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reihawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay.

I am delighted you had a restful and relaxing experience with us at Hilton Sydney and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This was our first stop on out 3 week long honeymoon and the Hilton was a great place to stay. Th staff was always willing to help us out with bookings and finding us restaurants. The room was very nice and the location in town was great! Easy to walk to all shopping, restaurants and th ferries.

The only thing that I found a bit odd was that they charged $1 each for making a phone call for us at the concierge desk. Even just to make a restaurant reservation.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank cheesemonkey42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Thank you very much for your review following your experience at Hilton Sydney.

I was very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us; however, I was concerned to learn that you were charged for Concierge services. Our Concierge and Bell Desk teams do not charge for their services at Hilton Sydney and I would greatly appreciate any further detail and insight you can share on the matter, should you wish to contact us directly at the hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 178 in Sydney
1,879 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#12 of 178 in Sydney
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#34 of 178 in Sydney
3,233 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#14 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $202 - $641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing