We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They dont care...”
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #37 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“They dont care...”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had booking a reservation with early chek in , when i arrived they dindt give the key , just keep telling me , wait a littlle bit .... waith more 20 minutes ... more 30 minutes ...
than after almost 2 hours I had to tell them how bad they were ...
the room wasent very clean even the other days .... the bed wasent a box , was a old box ....i had to ask every day for toillet things...at the concerniege , he didnt call me a taxi ....
Hilton , never again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SILTURCI9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at Hilton Sydney.

As we continually strive to ensure our guests feel cared for, valued and respected, it was of course disappointing to learn that you did not have such an enjoyable or hassle-free experience at Hilton Sydney on this occasion.

I have shared your comments with our Management team; however I would greatly appreciate it if you would contact us directly with your details, enabling us to investigate these issues further and understand how this delay occurred during your check in, as well as the various other service breakdowns you mentioned.

We do apologise for any inconvenience or frustration caused on your recent stay; and I do hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,042
    1,429
    534
    185
    112
See reviews for
405
1,547
421
1,509
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (745)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had a conference in Sydney in October and the Hilton was the conference venue, so we decided to stay there for the convenience. We upgraded to the Relaxation level because we were going to be there for six days. The Sydney Hilton was a most pleasant surprise. Our room was nice size, very comfortable, and included breakfast. The breakfast buffet was fantastic including omelette's made to order. The wait staff at the breakfast buffet was our first exposure to the outstanding service that prevails in this hotel. Everyone we dealt with was competent, courteous and anxious to assist us. The service at this Hilton is by far the best I have experienced at the many Hiltons I have stayed in. We also had an excellent dinner at the Glass Brasserie. Bottomline is that I would go back to this hotel anytime I have a need to be back in downtown Sydney.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNenProvence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at Hilton Sydney.

We are truly passionate about delivering exceptional service to our guests and I am delighted you enjoyed your experience with us!

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Clean hotel, typical Hilton luxuries but the rooms are tiny! We stayed with 11month old baby and barely room for Porta-cot. Also had car and parking was shockingly expensive. Good if you are putting everything as a work expense and I was, but I wouldn't stay here for a purely personal family friendly hotel- many other opportunities in cbd. I would stay here again for work trips without family though.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room as they are much bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review with us.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney should you return to the area.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I joined the HHonours club prior to booking; booked directly on the Hilton website and arrived late on a Friday night. Check in was easy. I was travelling with a girlfriend and we asked if she was on the same floor; they moved her to a room without a bathroom, not an issue until she got o her room, and found her bathroom door was a fire door that was noisy and clunky.
My room was spacious and well appointed; hers seemed basic by comparison. I chose to upgrade to the executive club and it included breakfast and drinks and canapés each evening; a great deal as it was.
The staff were excellent, every need was catered for. The buffet breakfast was excellent, yet a little slow on the Sunday (the crowds were huge)
I would happily go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for posting your review about your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was happy to see that you were most pleased with our overall facility and services. However, your comments pertaining to your friend's room are concerning to me and I would appreciate if you could kindly contact us directly at Hilton Sydney with more detail, affording us the opportunity to look into this further and determine exactly which room was provided.

Thank you again for your time and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

It's been a very long time since I have stayed at the Hilton in Sydney, not since the early 1990's. The hotel has had a fantastic face-lift and the standard of the rooms is superb. It's a great location in down-town Sydney from where you can walk to everything.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We appreciate your feedback about your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was glad to see you were pleased with the hotel's "face lift" throughout the buidling and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Sydney Hilton sits in a great location for business or leisure travel. Having recently stayed at a range of other premium hotels in Sydney, the Hilton will be my choice on my next visit. The Relaxation Room was very well appointed and spacious, the Club Lounge well staffed and designed; the food in the Lounge, on par with the Hilton standard, was passable.
The attention to detail makes the Hilton well worth a look.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QF1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments with us following your recent stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience in one of our fine Relaxation Rooms and we all look forward to the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Hilton is located in prime position located directly accross from Town Hall station, QVB and one block from Pitt Street Mall and the new shoppers haven of Westfield Sydney. On entry to the Hilton we were approached by the smiling staff who kindly took our luggage off our hands... and we hadn't even reached the front door yet!
After walking into the stylish modern foyer, I reached check-in and requested a high floor with view if available, the check-in staff were very accomodating and placed us on the second top floor with a free room upgrade. Our luggage was delivered to our room by the lovliest porter- he took me through all the bells and whistles of our room including: electric blinds, music box, Peter Thomas Roth bathroom accessories, the magic button and lighting. The pillows were so soft and gave us a pleasent sleep. On check-out there was a very long line... but there were complimentary gourmet cupcakes and newspapers to enjoy while we waited... Delicious!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with view if available... the lights at night are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDreamKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your review.

I have shared your lovely comments with our friendly team and I hope you have the opportunity to return to Hilton Sydney when your travels next bring you to the area.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#32 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Property: Hilton Sydney
Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing