We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the heart of shopping heaven”
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #36 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Right in the heart of shopping heaven”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed over a weekend - we had one of the relaxation suites which has a spa bath as well as a separate sitting area. We had breakfast at the hotel - in the restaurant which has floor to ceiling wine cellars - amazing ambience. Great spread and friendly and attentive staff. At night it transforms into an award winning restaurant called Salt - by Luke Mangan. we did not eat here as we were told that it was not geared for kids. We had access to the executive lounge. The canapés in the evening were good and they have a good selection of drinks and make cocktails as well :)

The fitness club and spa/ pool area is also good. It's contracted to private providers so is big compared to normal hotel gyms. Loved the spa -
Great place for a weekend away. Also good for families - great location - right in the heart of the CBD. Seemed surreal - having breakfast on a Saturday morning overlooking the Queen Victoria Building with all the shopping crowds.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Psha24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was delighted to read that your stay was most enjoyable - We appreciate your feedback and I hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,079
    1,450
    539
    186
    115
See reviews for
415
1,570
429
1,530
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (753)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, NZ
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton as a sponsoring partner at a recent medical conference. We were quite disappointed (for $400/noc) in the room size. We could barely turn around. There was not a single drawer for clothing. The mini fridge was full (as usual) with expensive food; we had to take out stuff to put in a bottle of wine.

Internet was spotty and expensive. We had trouble accessing both WiFi and wired systems. Both were very expensive (55 cents/minuite, max $29/day). Perhaps that is why the lobby was always full of people doing internet homework. It's free in the lobby!

The food for breakfast (included with the room rate) was superlative. Fresh, complete, with a wide range of selection. The staff were attentive, friendly, and discreet.

The hotel is very centrally located. We probably could have done better, but it was definitely OK. I wouldn't go to great lengths to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your recent stay.

I am sorry that your experience at Hilton Sydney did not exceed your expectations and I have taken your comments on board.

Should you choose to return in future, you may prefer to stay in one of our luxurious Relaxation Rooms or Suites which are generously sized and are sure to impress.

Thank you once more for your feedback and I hope you will visit us again at some stage in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I had a one night stay here on a business trip to Sydney. From the outset, staff were excellent. Attentive, helpful and friendly. Facilities are great and rooms good. The bedding was excellent. Breakfast was first class.

The location is central and within easy walking distance of the great landmarks of the city.

It's pricey, but then it's a first class city centre hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed our facilities, services and location; and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very good hotel.
Nice bar at the lobby. Terrific sandwiches.
Service very attentive. Staff really makes you feel at home.
Internet in the rooms charged, and not always performing.
In the lobby, free internet with a few ocasional problems.
Location is right in the heart of the business district, next to town hall station (that connects with airport). You can walk to most of the main sites. 20 min walk to opera house.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugamam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We appreciate your review following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

It was wonderful to learn that you enjoyed your stay and our helpful service. However, we sincerely regret any disruption you experienced to your internet connection - We have since changed our internet provider and I trust that on future stays, you will enjoy a smoother, problem-free connection.

Thank you for your feedback and I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again at Hilton Sydney in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I paid $350 for this room and was very disappointed. I was staying in Sydney for a special weekend and thought that the 5 star Hilton would be a pretty safe bet. Alas walking into the cramped room, told me that perhaps I made a mistake!

This was the one of the smallest rooms for the highest prices, I have ever stayed at.

The quality of the fittings and fixtures was good, not exceptional, but again this was another 5 star hotel with a crappy substandard 27" lcd tv. When will these morons learn that we stay at 5 star hotels to have an experience better than at home not worse!

Speaking of which, the service at the front desk was indifferent and when I pointed out that I had booked a king sized bed and receivied the dreaded "two singles pushed together", they could not care less. I dont mind this in a central Queensland hotel, but in the Sydney CBD, on a room I had booked a month earlier, it really pissed me off.

Finally, the breakfast was good in their bistro, and the service in the bistro was faultless. Overall the experience again at Hilton was pretty ordinary (Cairns displayed a similar indifference), and BTW beware the extortionate mini bar prices- $14 for nuts!!!!, $7.50 for a 200ml bottle of Coke- Hilton should be ashamed of these prices......

The hotel was good for $200 and 4 stars, not $350 and 5 stars....and I stay at alot of 5 star hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fussyandhonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us following your experience at Hilton Sydney.

I was disapointed to learn that you were unhappy with various aspects of your stay - Please be assured your feedback has been taken on board and we appreciate your views as they enable us to monitor whether we are meeting our guests' expectations.

Thank you again for your time and I do hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to Glass Brasserie, the next time your travels bring you to the area, to enjoy our wonderful Breakfast selection.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Contemporary hotel with all the usual features. Best features attentive and friendly door staff, and the bathroom. The shower was a standout with very fancy arrangements of shower heads. Not sure a shower needs a TV screen in it but I'm sure there are increasing numbers of people who find this necessary. Well appointed toiletries. Rest of the room high standard but usual hotel room stuff. Room moderately small but ok for overnight stay

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank annieofnfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for review following your recent stay with us.

I appreciate your comments and I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again soon at Hilton Sydney.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I was thrilled when I managed to get a good price to stay at the Hilton during my stay in Sydney and it was an excellent place to stay. I wish I could have lounged around more in their comfortable bed but I had a full itinerary!

It was clean, well kept and the service was excellent. When I came too early for my room to be ready and needed a place to freshen up, I was given access to the gym facilities so I could have a shower. When my room was ready, my bags were taken up for me. Altogether an excellent service from staff and an enjoyable stay.

The only negative was the sour girl at the desk where they were keeping my bags, but that was her own problem, not the Hilton's.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for the time taken to share your feedback with us following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your overall experience at our hotel. However, please do not hesitate to contact us with any additional feedback regarding your unpleasant experience at the Bell Desk - Our sincere apologies for any disappointment caused, as this is not the level of service we pride ourselves on.

Thank you again for your comments and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 177 in Sydney
1,649 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#32 of 177 in Sydney
3,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 177 in Sydney
1,909 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Property: Hilton Sydney
Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing