We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fresh and modern, oustanding location”
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #37 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Satyed as option over Shangri La from previous trip.... would have to say that on some fronts preferred, on others didnt. Room was smaller, bed firmer (not a good thing for me, but a personal preference) and more pricey. Good things were the location and the breakfast is probably the best hotel breakfast I have had in Sydney. I had room service desert, and I must say it was probably the best desert I have ever had. Very expensive hotel, but Sydney is in general.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 17,646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,511)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,713 - 3,719 of 4,512 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2011

This is my first stay at the Hilton Sydney and I can say that it was a good experience all in all. It's a good location, but not my favourite location. Check in was a breeze and I was allowed into my room even though I had arrived before official check in time. Reception staff were friendly. The lobby is all glass and marble and a little small. The cafe is right in the middle of the space between the main doors and the concierge/check-in which is a little strange.
The rooms are not particularly large but well appointed. The bathrooms are spotless but unfortunately really small. I had a King room but the bed was actually 2 singles strapped together so that wasn't ideal. But the bed was still comfortable. Room can be a little noisy because of the location of the hotel. You do hear street noises, especially sirens on Friday/Saturday nights. The windows have black out shades though which were very effective.
Room service was excellent. The food was hot, tasty and the fries were still crispy. The service was prompt and Hilton as it turns out has stopped charging tray delivery fees for room service orders which is great. I'd rather just tip the room service attendant myself. I hate it when 5 start hotels nickle and dime you for everything.
Internet fees are expensive at $29 a day. Speed was fine though.
You get use of a private membership gym on the premises. It is an excellent fully equipped gym.
Housekeeping was prompt.
Check out was a little slow.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

It is different to the usual Hilton offering and very stylish in its own way but it felt charmless and impersonal. Service was just OKand quite expensive overall. Cannot beat the location and bar was great but this place is not everyones taste.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Our Hilton Experience did not let us down, the room the location and the service is perfect. Staff are very freindly, concierge are exceptional they go out of their way to meet our needs. We think the concierge is the strong point of this hotel. We will be back again

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JVand_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

This hotel is right in the middle of it all. Close to everything.

We actually never ate at the hotel due to all of the choices around, but we heard the food was fantastic.

The service and concierge were great as well, and our room was perfect. I actually like rooms without carpet because of allergies, so the rooms with hardwood floors were great.

The only downside was the $400/night price, but it was well worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozark777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Situated near Sydney Town Hall in the centre of Town, and this is perfectly situated for the Darling park area.
This is a wonderful modern hotel, excellent facilities particularly the Gym & swim pool..
Staff are very courtious and welcoming. I would certainly use this hotel again on future trips.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkDWUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Booked online at the last minute and got a great deal, room only. Arrived early morning after a long haul flight and was given a room straight away; great relief. Both check in and out was quick, efficient and friendly. Room very comfortable and well laid out, although not huge. Bed and pillows very, very comfortable. All amenties of expected quality and a good shower. Was not planning to eat at the hotel but due to bad weather decided to give Glass a try. It was very busy even on a Monday night and the food and service were excellent. Had breakfast the next morning at the lobby coffee shop, again due to rain and it was very convenient to have that option - tasty and quick.Would prefer wifi to be included in cost or at least have a cheaper short term option. Parking was expensive but guess it is in the centre of Sydney. Would definitely stay here again when travelling solo or as a couple especially at such a good rate.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briggsy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,885 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#12 of 178 in Sydney
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#33 of 178 in Sydney
3,236 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#14 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $202 - $635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing