We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay was spot on.”
Review of Vibe Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Ranked #76 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed January 7, 2014

A very warm welcome and the staff were very obliging. Breakfast Buffet is spot on and we will be back for sure. This Hotel is very central to everything and should be seriously considered for value & position. Bill & Sally Held

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

We appreciate your positive review, thank you for taking the time to write it. We hope to see you again when you are in Sydney.

With thanks
Jo Jenkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,356 - 2,362 of 3,248 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

About the only good thing about this hotel is the location close to Darling Harbour. The issues we had were as follows.

Room not ready when we arrived.
Decor jaded apart from the lobby.
Nasty smell in the corridor outside our room.
Bottle of water in the room had been opened and part consumed.
Nice gurgling noise from the toilet for about a minute after flushing.
No plug for the bath.
Internet - 60 dollars for a three day package only to find the wifi signal was almost non existent unless we sat by the door to the room. Constantly dropped out and was almost unusable. Front desk staff advised who said they would investigate and phone me. Heard nothing. Then my wife complained and front desk staff said they would call the service provider and put them through to us in the next few minutes. Never heard from them. There was a data cable in the room and a data port but this didn't work.
Swimming pool was dirty and water was murky. I don't think the filter was working.
Went to pool one evening and there were no towels. Obviously not checked and replenished.
Went out one day at 10am and left the sign out for the room to be cleaned. Came back just after 3pm and the maid appeared asking to clean our room. Five hours is plenty to get it done.
To add insult to injury when I checked out there were extra items on the bill we had not used. To be fair they were removed without argument.
On top of all that there was a false fire alarm triggered by maintenance workers.

The Curve cafe had a limited menu but food was of decent quality.

We enjoyed Sydney but this hotel was truly awful. I was tempted to give it one star.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

I am very sorry you don't seem to have enjoyed your stay. Please contact me if you wish to discuss further.

We appreciate your feedback.

With thanks
Jo Jenkins - jjenkins@toga.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed 1 night in May 2012 (sorry, couldn't select this date for the review) and we had a great stay. The hotel is beautiful and resonably priced considering how modern the rooms are and the location. We were right near Hyde park (which is gorgeous) and close to all the downtown attractions. You were close enough that you could still walk to the harbour, but there was also the option to take the train.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank orangegirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

We appreciate your positive review, thank you for taking the time to write it. We hope to see you again when you are in Sydney.

With thanks
Jo Jenkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Excellent location to explore the city by foot, bus, train, ...
Nice and large family rooms for 4, calm and functional, a small roof top pool to relax after a busy day
A bit pricy (as Sydney is)
Free wifi at reception is only for 30 min per room per 24h, .... then in a range of 20$ per 24h in the room
Did not try the restaurant since coffee and tea were available in room and plenty of bfast, brunch, lunch and diner places to explore in the close neighborhood

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank sebgaume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

We appreciate your positive review, thank you for taking the time to write it. We hope to see you again when you are in Sydney.

With thanks
Jo Jenkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

If there was a special category for staff friendliness, this hotel would be a very strong contender. I cannot praise enough every member of the staff who we have come across during our 3 day stay.
I stayed with my husband at the premises just before Christmas, on our way back from the Hunter Valley. Perhaps spoilt by the level of hospitality of a 4 star hotel in the Hunter Valley, on this occasion my expectations fell flat.
Here are the pros, the cons... and Godzilla:
Pros:
1) Position is central and close to all main attractions, just between the City and Surrey Hill.
2) The staff, super friendly and genuinely kind, always happy to assist.
3) Reasonably priced given the location.
4) Rooms are generously sized and can accommodate a 3rd person on the sofa bed
The BIG Cons:
1) The Beds - totally unforgivable... I have seen pics of previous guests and, although we eventually did not have the time or willingness to take a pic of our bed, I can only describe it as the place where Godzilla and Godzuki must have met, romanced and ... slept. On both sides of the bed, but more on one side than the other, there was a big, really big dip... like Godzilla had slept there. On the other side the dip was smaller like Godzuki had slept there.
2) Maintenance issues of all sorts: the room looked tired and shabby, the sink did not work properly and had to be very careful with the water spilling over, the grout of the shower was mouldy. Broken lamps and a shabby carpet. TV not working properly.
3) Cleanliness - just okay.
All in all a cheap and cheerful option if you are on a budget, perhaps with a 3rd guest, and don't want to sacrifice the location. I would not recommend if you are after the basic comforts and a good night sleep of a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsMinnie_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

I am really pleased you found the team helpful and friendly. With regards to the beds they are all being replaced in February, the entire hotel.

We appreciate your feedback.

With thanks
Jo Jenkins - jjenkins@toga.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Nowhere near 4 star! Rooms are very dated and furniture, pillows & walls are stained! Absolutely disgusting. There is a big black moth inside the room & bathroom has no exhaust fan or window!

I made a booking for 3 people and only got 2 towels & enough shampoo for 1 person, luckily Coles is just down the road so I was able to buy some there.

To top it off, kids wanted to use the pool, but were turned off...it is so dirty you can't see the bottom. (2 ladies that were right behind us also walked off in disgust).

I am writing from inside the room because I can't sleep. If is the first time I am writing a review "before" checking out! I have paid for 2 nights stay and will cut my losses tomorrow to escape this torture- that should give you an idea of how bad this place is.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gypsy_eyes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

I am very sorry you don't seem to have enjoyed your stay. Please contact me if you wish to discuss further.

We appreciate your feedback.

With thanks
Jo Jenkins - jjenkins@toga.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

It may not be a luxury 5-star palace, we enjoyed our 3 nights stay over Christmas.
It situated at the corner of Goulburn & Elizabeth, close to Chinatown, CBD & Darling Harbour.
Our room was spacious; came with a comfortable king bed & a double sofa bed so can accommodate 4 ppl.
The bathroom was a bit dated but was large & clean; the glass shower partition was not big enough to stop all the shower water from the bath/shower.
Our room was on the 4th fl so the traffic noise was fairly noticeable, and because of a police station nearby, we were frequently awakened by the police siren.
Invisible concierge - maybe because of the holidays I've never seen the concierge desk manned.
In conclusion I can recommend this hotel because it's reasonably priced no nonsense fine place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pigsyACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

We appreciate your positive review, thank you for taking the time to write it. We hope to see you again when you are in Sydney.

With thanks
Jo Jenkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 179 in Sydney
2,524 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4,396 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 179 in Sydney
5,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyde Park Inn
Hyde Park Inn
#54 of 179 in Sydney
1,057 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#65 of 179 in Sydney
4,959 reviews
Surry Hills
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Sydney

Address: 111 Goulburn St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $106 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vibe Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Vibe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing