We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Vibes ...”
Review of Vibe Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Ranked #73 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Bad Vibes ...”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I'm astonished that this hotel advertises that it is a 4-star hotel - we booked on the assumption that the rating was genuine do not believe that we got value for money as a result. I previously stayed at a Vibe Hotel (in North Sydney) years ago for work and found that property was awful ... but I thought that it had been a while and maybe things had improved ... no such luck.

Our arrival was nothing special - the foyer is a mis-match of design ideas (it looks like a class of uni students was each given a section of the foyer to work on) that lacks coherence, but was clean enough. The lifts were tired and dated (I would guess that they come from the early 1980's) ... but when we got to our room, oh dear: opening the door sounded like we were entering a grave with the groan that the door hinges gave.

And that kind of sustained neglect of maintenance was evident throughout the room: the toilet made odd noises during the night (I guess when guests in other rooms flushed their toilet), the tiles on the bathroom floor were cracked and broken, the switch to alter the water flow to the shower head was very stiff and would flood water everywhere if not forced into the "shower position", the shower head leaked and a patch of warped/stained tiles below the toilet that clearly reflected a significant plumbing issue that's been ignored for years (see the pictures of this).

Other nasty elements included paper thin walls (well, at least you know when your neighbours are taking their shower), an entrance door that shuddered every time someone would open the door in an adjoining room, a fridge that only ever slightly cooled the drinks, a television remote control system that defeated us ... and a toilet that it is not possible to sit straight on unless you've had your right leg amputated (the toilet roll holders occupy the spot where you'd want to put your right leg - see pictures).

And housekeeping isn't anything to write home about: the pillows were so bad we got the 'spare' pillows from the cupboard to sleep on during the night. I removed the plastic and left in on the floor - where is stayed for the two days of our visit.

We let the front desk know of the problems with the door which they fixed (why did we have to mention the incredibly obvious in the first place..?), and the TV ... which we couldn't turn on: it was fixed so that we couldn't turn it off (we pulled the power cable out of the back in the end).

If you're considering staying at this hotel, do so on the basis that its probably an entirely adequate 2-star experience or a challenging 3-star establishment. But 4 star..? Never.

I'd find a better property.

Room Tip: Select another hotel - this one's awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David_in_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikTK88, Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 26, 2015
Dear sir/madam,
Thank you for staying at Vibe Hotel Sydney.
We appreciate your feedback.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    1,331
    611
    206
    90
See reviews for
527
1,003
273
630
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Booked Vibe as my colleague was staying there. Greeted with friendly staff, with helpful, can do attitudes. Room was neat and mostly clean, but needs a little attention, especially the grout in the shower which was pretty grimy. Had breakfast downstairs at curve, pretty disappointing, ended up having toast for $7 and an expensive $5 glass of OJ out of a 4litre bottle.

Would stay at vibe again but will go elsewhere for breakfast

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JzdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear jarrodburton

Many thanks for your review on TripAdvisor, I'm really delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I hope we will see you again soon.

With thanks
Jo Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights for work and found the room reasonable though showing wear and tear. Good location close to Hyde Park and all the CBD has to offer - had a good walk to the harbour each morning.

Good concept with Vibe's Green Room Clean though they missed it the first day and the coupon was useless to me on the last night. Meals in the café were good and reasonably priced though found the buffet breakfast poor (found where they use the tails from short cut bacon) and the service well below par (limited people rather than standard of service). The motel is very much in need of a revamp and the elevators are slow to arrive at all hours (suspect some are turned off at non-peak times perhaps) which is frustrating. Overall a good motel choice in CBD location - don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JummaBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear JummaBee

Many thanks for your review on TripAdvisor, I'm really delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I hope we will see you again soon.

With thanks
Jo Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Room was okay as it was pretty roomy and had a large wardrobe. The plus was the handy position and a really reasonable price. The minus was we could hear the people next door celebrating their football team winning on the tv. Lucky it was just the football we could hear!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gundagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Gundagirl

Many thanks for your review on TripAdvisor, I'm really delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I hope we will see you again soon.

With thanks
Jo Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Spacious room and can't complain about the cleanliness of the room. Excellent service and the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. Located in the best spot with various attractions just a few minutes walk. Will definitely visit again. Our room didn't have the best views. The only uncomfortable issue was the quality of the mattress !! Woke up with a kinda sore back. Car park is just across the road ( council parking) . The hotel validates your ticket and its about $30 for the whole day.

Room Tip: Tidy amenities but the only gripe was the quality of mattress. Had a bit of sore back in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YesBos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear yesbos

Many thanks for your review on TripAdvisor, I'm really delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I hope we will see you again soon.

With thanks
Jo Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Good point of the hotel:
- In very good location, near to Chinatown and other eating place,
just next to hotel you can find a VERY good Thai food , its " Thainatown" , its taste very good with affordable price. Walk down to the main road you can see alot of eating place and coffeeshop.

-Opposite the hotel , you can find Coles , its a very good place looking for snack,bread, water or some instant noodle.

-Just cross to Elizabeth street you can wait for free shuttle bus number 555 , it will bring you to all tourist attraction.

-The room is big, clean, the toilet also very clean.



The minus point of this hotel:

-The mattress is REALLY worst!
- Pillow not so comfortable
- The room dont have a wifi , need additional purchase for wifi . Which i think for this modern era, internet is very important to all guess, why not just included to room's price .

Overall its a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrueForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review Vibe Sydney. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you when you are next in Sydney.

With thanks
Joanne Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Very large room, nicely configured, great location, and super front desk service. Wish the internet in the room was free (but I said that a lot during our stay at multiple hotels in Sydney). Loved the coupon for using their green room cleaning service. The bed wasn't great and we had some of the most interesting sounds that emanated from the bathroom. But the hotel overall is a great deal through hotwire's mystery hotel and the front desk kindly matched the rate when United Airlines canceled our flight the day before our return and didn't get us out for 2 days. (very pissed but that's another story!) Our stay went from 5 to 7 nights and it was a very pleasant stay overall.
I would stay there again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: get a bigger room with the couch on Elizabeth St side if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Jane W

Thanks so much for the great feedback we really appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.

Kind regards
Jo Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#98 of 178 in Sydney
4,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Sydney

Property: Vibe Hotel Sydney
Address: 111 Goulburn St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Toga Hotels, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vibe Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Vibe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing