We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, clean enough”
Review of Vibe Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Ranked #68 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Pamplona, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, clean enough”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Perfect place for visiting Sydney. You can get walking to most interesting places in 30min: Opera, harbour, chinatown, museums.. Many restaurants around.
Room is fine, not too big. Pool and a gym great!
The only bad point is that wi-fi es just available for free in the lobby and for 30min a day! Is it really a big deal offering it free the entire day?

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Ivan G

Thanks for the feedback - it's great you enjoyed your stay and I hope we see you back with us again soon!

Kind regards
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    1,303
    601
    199
    88
See reviews for
514
986
269
611
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, NZ
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here with a friend and my 9 month old son. As my 9 month old son was a late addition to our trip, I had to share a single bed with him - it was OK. Tidy and clean. The water pressure from the shower was really good. Only downfall was the customer service. A sour looking girl named Amber told us to take our own bags upstairs. We looked at her to check if she was for real (do they not provide that service?) and then she asked, "Would you like your bags sent upstairs?" To which we replied, "yes please" and then she gave us a funny look and told us it would be up in about 15 minutes. Anyway after waiting almost 45 minutes I rang reception and asked where our bags were and this is the reply, "Who are you?" Only a paying customer, but that's beside the point I guess. Anyway the woman on the other side of the phone informed me that they do not provide the bag delivery service, and that I was to go down to reception and get it myself. So I went down and got three bags (two with wheels one with no wheels), struggled to get them to the lift... and there was no assistance around - not even to hold the lift open!!! Anyway didn't have much to do with the people that worked there, although I'm sure they were nice. Special thanks to the Asian guy who worked at the restaurant - he heated up my baby's bottles every evening as there were no facilities that catered for that in our room, which was fine, I didn't ask for anything extra for my baby I just did what I had to do. I would stay here again due to location and just that it was nice & clean & tidy...but I have to say that maybe some of the staff here need to learn how to be hospitable and smile once in a while. Isn't that what the hospitality industry is all about?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 28Feb2013ee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest

I'm going to contact you via the TripAdvisor mail system for more information, I'm disappointed your stay was not as great as it could be but thank you for complimenting Alvin, he is amazing!

Kind regards
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan Juc, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately most of my issues with this hotel came down to the human factor. When checking into out Twin room which we had confirmed twice on the phone, we were told we had been put in a King room. When we got to the room it turned out to be Twin after-all. We were also told that the booking had been made for one person which was not true.
The room itself was okay although the hot tap in the shower was broken. We requested maintenance to fix it but it wasn't for the duration of our stay.
The room was clean and the housekeeping staff were lovely when I met them in the corridor.
There just seems to be a lack of communication throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katecameback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. We undergoing several minor refurbishment programmes from now till 30 June so I'm hopeful these will enhance the guest experience.

Kind regards
Joanne Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
520 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had a three day conference in Sydney by myself so stayed at Vibe as it was close and inexpensive. The decor is a little strong but was tidy and clean. I was upgraded to a better room at no charge, which was nice. Was on the eighth floor with a view of the abandoned building next door. Generally no problems with the room. In room dinning menu had a good range and price was reasonable. Food was of a good quality too. Just a few issues with missing items like breakfast order forms, toast and the lack of bath robes. Overall I thought it was reasonable value and would probably rate it at three and a half.

Room Tip: The higher rooms will keep you away from the noise of the busy traffic below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zzrbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate your review and I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay.

With thanks
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying that any hotel that does the first of my issues always loses points from me.

As someone who travels to Sydney a lot I get the opportunity to stay at various hotels. The vibe is probably high on the list however a few things let it down which is sad given the price and star rating.

Pro's:
Location is awesome, minutes from Chinatown and the city centre.
Good size rooms
Nice clean lobby
Good water pressure in shower (something that I struggle to find lately)

Cons:
TWO SINGLE BEDS TOGETHER IS NOT A QUEEN/KING BED!!! All it does it create an uncomfortable ridge in the middle that is hard and annoying!! (See disclaimer at start of my review)
Shower/tap arrangement worn out hard to get shower to work
After hours room service is fixed menu that can't be changed. I arrived late evening and was hungry however due to allergies and the fact that the order could not be customised (things removed) I was unable to order anything, this meant having to walk around at midnight to try and find food.

The hotel is ok, but given its star rating and price you world expect more.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear jamesthom

Thanks for your review and the pro's and con's. We are working toward being great instead of good!

For your information most hotels have king zipper beds that provide flexibility for two singles or a king, they have a zipper to join the two beds together so for the record they aren't just pushed together. If you are thinking of staying again you can request a queen and I'll make sure you get one.

Thanks again, we appreciate your feedback!

Kind regards
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, VIC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The vent is dripping condensate on the bed. This room is unhygenic and quite frankly unacceptable. The staff are unwilling or unable to change my room. If I had not arrived tired and late I would have gone elsewhere. This is not what you should expect in a developed country for the price paid. Rooms should not be allowed to grow this much mould.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andopoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest

I'm really sorry about your experience, I've contacted you via the TripAdvisor mail system to get more information and hopefully put things right.

Kind regards
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed 3 nights last week for a conference and found this hotel perfectly adequate. The gym and rooftop pool were tiny but still a bonus for an inner city hotel. It was located near lots of great restaurants, I felt safe in the area and it was walking distance to the major business district. The rooms were large with a sofa and sitting area, bathroom behind a partition that helped block out light if anybody else in the room is still sleeping and decor was hip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! I hope we will see you again soon!

Kind regards
Joanne Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#97 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,677 reviews
Darlinghurst
Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Sydney

Property: Vibe Hotel Sydney
Address: 111 Goulburn St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Toga Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vibe Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Vibe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing