We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Vibe Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Ranked #68 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Not too far a walk down to the Opera House et al, we stayed in room 808 which was a suite and massive it was too. Fantastic experience with great views. Quite a small hotel though, served by the adjacent cafe where you can get a good selection of drinks and food. Breakfast served in the room was missing something each day amusingly, but we managed without the odd glass of orange juice and milk for the tea...

Nice small pool on the ninth floor with a lovely sun lounging area - very private with towels etc

Good facilities and clean place.

Room Tip: The suites are massive if you can get a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasparSchmidt, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Andrew F,

Thank you kindly for your feedback regarding Vibe Hotel Sydney. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our suites to be large and comfortable.
I have related your comments about the missing items for your room service to the F&B Manager so that this can be rectified at once.
We apologise for this missing and would like to offer you a free breakfast next time you are visiting again. Have a great 2013 and we hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
Hotel General Manager
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    1,303
    601
    199
    88
See reviews for
514
986
269
611
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed six nights in this hotel recently and I was very happy with the room and the hotel facilities. The staff were very friendly and helpful and really tried to make our stay happy and comfortable. I stayed with my wife and our young child we really felt that the baby was welcome and staff always made a fuss in a good way. Great location, closeto Hyde Park and Central Station. A great jumping off point for all areas. We had a really nice visit to Sydney and The Vibe Hotel helped to make that possible.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TimotC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasparSchmidt, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Timot.C
Thank you for your great feedback about Vibe Hotel Sydney.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the team helpful at the same time.
We look forward to welcoming you back again next time you are visiting Sydney.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
Hotel General Manager
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here for two nights after a cruise, couldn't check in straight away as it was super early in the morning but no issues storing our luggage.

Walking distance to Paddy's Market, Chinatown etc. Able to book airport shuttle through Reception so that was nice n easy.

We tried the breakfast in the restaurant which was good but seemed to take AGES to come and there was only us and one other table who were just drinking coffees so ventured further afield next time.

We attempted the bar once, this time we were the only people there. We ordered drinks, paid and were told to take a seat, about 10 minutes? later I was approached saying they had run out of the wine I had ordered but could give me another brand which of course was fine but when I queried the $2 refund for the cheaper brand the staff member seemed like it was going to be outside of the realms of her capibilites that I said to just forget it as its only $2 after all - but jeez do a girl and solid and slop some extra wine in the glass maybe...

Whilst we were out n about we swung by a liqour store and I was surprised to see that the wine at the liquor store was basically the same price as the mini bar.
That last night in Sydney we lounged about in our comfortable room, watching Foxtel and ordered up a storm through room service (Pizza and Steak's = delicious) and hit the mini bar Good Times!

Room was large, light, spacious and quite, bed comfy and bathroom quite large - although the shower pretty much flooded the floor everytime.

Would probably stay again for right price

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelindaJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasparSchmidt, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Belinda.Jane,
Thank you for your feedback regarding Vibe Hotel Sydney. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the room facilities and the room service.
I have spoken to the F&B team about your comments and we will be doing what we can to rectify the waiting period for breakfast as this is not good enough at all.
We hope you will try us again in the future as we would love to have you back with us again sometime soon.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
Hotel General Manager
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed at this place while traveling with my mother this past summer. The staff was very friendly. The hotel is conveniently located. It was a great value as well. I would recommend this hotel for other travelers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G0Travel2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasparSchmidt, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear GoTravel2009,

Thank you for your feedback about Vibe Hotel Sydney.
We are very happy to hear that you had a good time with us although your stay with us was due to some unfortunate circumstances.
I will pass on your comments about the team to them today.
Have a great new years and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
Hotel General Manager
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week in this hotel, found the reception staff good and efficient making booking in easy. We emailed ahead to say that we would be arriving around 0900 from Birmingham, UK and if possible would it be possible to have access to the room, nothing promised but they said they would try, fair enough it was New Year's Eve. When we arrived a room was ready, fantastic service. Room clean and spacious. All the amenities you'd want apart from wifi. Gym and pool small but what do you expect in the middle of Sydney. Thought location was good for walking out to most places. Really close to Hyde park. The hotel has as cafe, it was always busy but we didn't use it, sorry. We used the Hyde park cafe behind the museum train station which looks out on to the park, ideal for breakfast.
Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasparSchmidt, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Kate D,

Thank you kindly for your feedback regarding Vibe Hotel Sydney.
We are delighted to hear that you liked the hotel, its facilities and the location.
We always try our very best to have rooms available as early as possible so all our guests can enjoy their stay with us as soon as they arrive.
I am especially happy to hear this was possible on such an important day and that we managed to do this with no fuss.
We hope to see you another time and wish you and your family a very happy new year.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
Hotel General Manager
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
95 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Vibe Sydney is centrally located - handy to public transport - Buses & Central Railway station - Pitt Street Mall is 20 mins walk, as is the Botanic Gardens.....foodie central - Surry Hills / Crown Street is a 5 mins walk away.
Rooms a little date but clean & very comfortable...I was upgraded to a spacious 1 bedroom suite - good for that long weekend or extended stay.
The Hotels staff are bright & friendly. I left some clothing in the room & when I followed up 4 days later, the hotel housekeeping staff had stored the items & the front desk team quickly responded to my follow up & posted the items to me overseas - exceptional service thank you.
I would happily stay here again based on its value, location & service.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor to avoid some street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiNZExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasparSchmidt, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear KiwilExplorer,

Thank you for your great feedback about Vibe Hotel Sydney.
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and time with us. The rooms will be refurbished this year and this should take the product to another level.
I am delighted to hear that we were able to help you with posting you your missing items.
We are here to help so thank you for your kind feedback.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
Hotel General Manager
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

don't expect too much but if you look for good value and great location it is worth considering. we spent there 2 nights as family of 4. room was spacey enough though the window faced opposite building wall. still the location to price relation is very good. breakfast buffet is rather disgusting so you might be better off to buy a la carter in their restaurant or go outside (many options).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PleasuresHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasparSchmidt, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Pleasurehunt,

Thank you for your feedback regarding Vibe Hotel Sydney.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room. Being in the CBD of Sydney we are surrounded by buildings and we therefore do not offer any particular views as of such as we might disappoint our guests.
I have taken your comments about the buffet to our Head chef and will make sure that the buffet looks inviting all the time. It does get very busy in there so you would most likely have entered as we would have been very busy and the food would have been running low.
We apologize for this and are happy that you enjoyed the a la caret option instead.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
Hotel General Manager
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#97 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,680 reviews
Darlinghurst
Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Sydney

Property: Vibe Hotel Sydney
Address: 111 Goulburn St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vibe Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Vibe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing