We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”
Review of Vibe Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Ranked #72 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“Average hotel”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in oct 2011 and it was just 'ok' nothing special. The tv was useless couldnt work out how to use it properly and my partner and i are pretty good with technology!!.

They really need to have a better room service menu, and more variety.

Everytime i went into the bathroom to do my hair or makeup the fan came on every single time and it gave me the s#*%s

apart from the room service and the fan and the tv.. its a great place to stay.. The business centre in the foyer is good, they have good music playing.. easily accessable and i felt 'safe' there unlike at other hotels where their business centres are on the other side of the hotel and away from everything..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasparSchmidt, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear Alex_Christine,

Thank you for your review and feedback.
Our room service menu has changed since October so that problem should no longer be an issue.
The fan turns on automatically when the lights goes on, I am sorry that bothers you but this is not something we will changing as this is the case in all the rooms.
We have had the TV’s and the signals checked in November and have experienced no further issues so all should now be working as it should. There is a 10 second delay before they turn on but that is all it should take before it comes on.
I am sorry you had that issue when you stayed with us.

The business centre is open to everyone and is very welcoming, you are never alone and always around people in the lobby and many guests appreciate that as you have mentioned.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    1,351
    616
    206
    93
See reviews for
547
1,015
276
641
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Was on the first floor and found the hotel to be filthy dirty throughout. As we on first floor there was a business conference held there earlier in the day and leftover food, coffee, teas and trash just left sitting there for at least 1 day. Room 102 was dirty as same with the entire first floor. Even elevators and hallways very dirty.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RollingLucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasparSchmidt, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear RollingLucky,

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry you found the conference floor to be dirty.
The 1st floor lobby is used for functions, but no food is ever left out overnight. Last week was extremely busy and there was a great amount of traffic up there so we know it needs extra attention daily. I have spoken to the housekeepers this morning and they will prioritise this as they should. I am sorry about that it did not present itself as it should.
In regards to your room then I have inspected that as well and I have not found anything that indicates that the room is dirty. I did find some dust behind the TV and we have removed that immediately.
Please do contact me so we can do something for you for your next visit as I am sure we can do much better than what you have experienced.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Have a nice day.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I had to go to Sydney for less than 24 hours and The Vibe in Sydney was perfect! Great lobby, large room with a sofa and desk, and separate area for the fridge and wardrobe....great lighting, large mirrors. I had dinner at the fabulous restaurant downstairs and to get a lock for my suitcase and there was a convenience store right down the street! 4 stars and value for $$$$$

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sansbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasparSchmidt, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear Sansbell,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding Vibe Hotel Sydney.
I have shared your experience with the team this morning and I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
The entire team hope to see you soon again when you come to Sydney next time.
We learn from both positive and negative feedback and we want to thank you for taking the time to get us this information.
We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Was expecting a little better than what we received at Vibe (for the money spent)... reasonably clean, small room, with ordinary outlook. Convenient enough for access to transport, but plenty of more attractive locations to stay in what is a brilliant city.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasparSchmidt, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Marie L,

Thank you for your feedback.
We try our very best to be competitive on price and we do offer specials in the market almost every week.
We are in a peak period at the moment in Sydney so prices are higher than normal due to this.
Vibe Hotel Sydney is in the CBD and we do not offer any spectacular views as we are surrounded by other buildings. What we do offer is a very convenient location, a solid product and good service with a smile.
I hope we are able to welcome you again in the future as we would love to see you again.
Have a nice day.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosebud, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The stay itself was great.

As we arrived at the hotel a $200 bond was held on my Debit Card. Upon check out the reception staff charged the full amount to my bank card. A week after my stay I checked my bank account and the $200 bond was still pending on my Debit Card and had overdrawn the account. I called the reception and they told me it had nothing to do with them and that I had to contact my bank to get my money back.

The website also said there was a pool and sauna. We got ready and went up for a swim, only to find an Out of order sign on both. Which the reception staff had failed to tell us.

$250 a night for just a room and no breakfast included and all facilities Out of Order was definitley NOT worth it! Absolute joke!

VERY UNPROFESSIONAL!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahandChrisAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasparSchmidt, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear SarahandChrisAsh,

Thank you for your feedback regarding Vibe Hotel Sydney.
I am sorry to hear you had problems with us charging your card incorrectly.
When a guest stays with us we make a pre-authorization on the card and this amount takes 3-5 days to be released from your bank. (Your bank locks this amount) when you check out this is released and returned with the given timeframe to the card.
We do explain this at check In. I am sorry if this has slipped as it should always be given as information to all our guests.
The pool as closed for 24 hours after the massive downpour we had in Sydney and we did that to make sure the system was checked and back working and in order. We should of course have informed you about that on the desk at check in and we are sorry that did not happen.
The sauna is located on the 9th floor and its open everyday. You need to walk around the corner to get to that up near the gym.
The prices on rooms vary in Sydney all the time and you are able to find great deals on our rooms via our homepage etc. Room rates are changing daily to stay competitive in the market.
I hope we see you again in the future and that you will give us another chance going forward.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We had 3 nights at The Vibe and overall it was fine.

The location is good if you want to see the city - very near the rail station which has direct links to the airport for about $17AUS.

Room was clean an beds comfortable but tv reception patchy and our room looked out onto an ugly side street - but those are only minor niggles.

In summary The Vibe is neither great nor awful, but it's location is really handy for a bargain price.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JockTheCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasparSchmidt, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear JockTheCritic,
Thank you for your feedback regarding Vibe Hotel Sydney.
I am happy to hear that you had a good stay at the hotel, but it worries me that you had TV issues as we have spent a significant amount of money on upgrades.
The hotel is a city hotel and we do not guarantee any views for that simple reason. I am sorry to hear that you did not like the view but it is limited what we can do in that situation.
I hope we are able to welcome you back again in the future and wish you a great 2012.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, WA, USA
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed at the Vibe following a 10-day cruise. We had looked at lots of hotels in advance and would like to have stayed closer to the waterfront but I have this thing about hotels. I hate to pay more than $200 a night to stay in a hotel that isn't offering me something incredible. Don't get me wrong. We have stayed in some world-class, amazing hotels but I was lucky enough to get them all at a huge bargain. Like grabbing a wonderful room at Edinburgh's Balmoral the night after the World Cup Soccer matches for less than $150. Or finding an internet special for the Hong Kong Langham. But I could not find a single hotel near the waterfront (that we could stay in) that was under $275 a night. So I went to Trip Adviser and found a high rated hotel, near the city center and within walking distance of Sydney's superb transit system and the Vibe fit that bill perfectly. We paid less than $150 a night, it was a very nice room (see the pic) in a boutique type hotel (we love those rather than chains) and we could walk to the subway which took us everywhere in under 10 minutes.The rooms were clean, had all the needed amenities and I would not hesitate to go back and stay at the Vibe again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor so you stay away from busy street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrKoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasparSchmidt, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear DrKoop,

Thank you for your kind feedback in regards to Vibe Hotel Sydney.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you had a nice trip back home and we would love to welcome you back again in the future.
If there is anything we can do in the meantime then please let us know.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#99 of 179 in Sydney
4,852 reviews
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Sydney

Property: Vibe Hotel Sydney
Address: 111 Goulburn St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Vibe Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Vibe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing