We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel close to Chinatown”
Review of Vibe Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Ranked #76 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed January 29, 2012

If you want to stay in the center of town this hotel is a very good option. All facilities available including a swimming pool. Efficient staff. Everything is on walking distance. Rooms are clean and big. If you book in advance (f.e. by Agoda) you can get a great discount as well as an upgrade.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiederickPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasparSchmidt, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Dear DiederickPhoto,

Thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel with feedback from your visit to Vibe Hotel Sydney. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our team was able to provide you with a free upgrade. Booking in advance does offer you good discounts, but upgrades are generally charged at a cost.
I hope we get to welcome you back to Vibe Hotel Sydney in the near future.

Kind regards,
Caspar P. Schmidt
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,710 - 2,716 of 3,248 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2012

Overall this hotel was adequate for our needs, as the location was good, the room was basic but nice, the facilities were adequate (besides the pool which was very cloudy/murky),

But the check-in process unfortunately left a bad first impression.

Firstly at check-in a $200 pre-authorisation is required to be held on your credit card by Vibe hotel.
Sure, no problem, had we been notified upfront!!
Having travelled extensively domestically and internationally my husband & I have learnt that the total amount of your stay is typically held (as a pre-authorisation) pending your final bill. Understandable!! If you haven’t paid upfront!! When we have paid upfront, the hotels have always taken credit card details and ID as a cautionary stock measure, with no pre-authorisations being made! We have stayed from 2 star places to 5 Star places, my husband has even stayed at a 6 star (Atlantis, Dubai) and they didn’t even do what Vibe Hotel wanted to do!!

The Vibe Hotel Sydney works differently…
We paid for our 5 day stay upfront, $605 (through hotels.com). Upon arrival the hotel explained the pre-authorisation is held in case you trash the room or drink the whole mini bar, etc. Again, understandable, only, if we hadn’t paid upfront!! We also provided, in accordance with their policies, credit card details and ID. The staff were extremely repetitive, insistent and unsympathetic as the $200 they required was $200 less our holiday money. If the terms & conditions, through hotels.com had stated this prior to booking or prior to our stay we would of budgeted and accounted for this. However no such documents were provided, not even by the hotel, and even upon check-in, none of the documents we were required to sign stated that this was policy and was required for check-in!!! Merely a small A4 sign at the desk and by word of the staff.

After reiterating several times I understood their policy, I asked to see the Duty Manager, hoping to come to some kind of compromise. I explained that as they had failed to include this on their terms & conditions, that as they failed to notify us prior to our stay and as we had paid upfront this was an unfair application of this policy. It took me 20minutes to speak to the duty manager personally, as the front desk clerk was redundant in the explanation of said policy. The duty manager offered to half the pre-authorisation but as I know my rights as by the fair trading laws, I was not happy with the result. Finally a compromise of the $100 pre-auth. was made, with the promise that the Duty Manager would talk to the General Manager to have the funds released the following day. Thankfully this was the outcome but unfortunately it took quite a bit of negotiation, and anguish.

I would not recommend this hotel, but the place itself is nice so if you can overlook service or aren’t fussy, this is a cheap way to stay in Sydney. Good Holidaying Travellers ☺

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nellykinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasparSchmidt, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Dear Nellykinz,

Again thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Vibe Hotel Sydney.
May I kindly refer you to the hotel.com website where it states the following about the pre-authorization and incidental charges at Vibe Hotel Sydney:
I refer to the KNOW BEFORE YOU GO SECTION:
"Government -issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit are required at check in for incidental charges"
This information is stated very clear on the hotels.com website when you pick you room type. Our policy is that we make a pre-authorization of $ 200.00 which is explained at check in and you should not be surprised when the above has been mentioned when you book. We do release the funds as soon as you check out, but this can take 3-5 days depending on your bank.

We have been extremely fair to you in this matter, I personally spend time with you on the desk and your attitude was that we were to blame for this when you clearly did not read the section on hotels.com. Also the Receptionist came to see me 5 minutes after you arrived so your 20 minute comment is actually untrue. We try to help all our guests and even took the pre-authorization down to $ 100.00 for you because you were clearly not happy. I told you on the desk that I wanted for you to be happy, so we went that extra so make certain of that.
The fact that you prepaid for your accommodation does not justify that you should not have the pre-authorization made on your card for incidentals. That makes no sense when you are able to charge back to your room and use the in room facilities like mini bar and pay per view.
I cannot comment on other hotels policies, but it is clear what we do here at Vibe Hotel Sydney. It is also clearly stated on the websites we work with so you have to take the time to read through these sections in the future if you wish to use their services.
We at Vibe Hotel Sydney want happy guests and we want to make a difference when you stay here. In this case we feel it is unfair for you to blame us when you did not read the information at hand on hotels.com.
Thank you for you comments regarding the pool, we have made sure this is sorted in the meantime.

We try our very best to look after every single guest that stays with us, we want our guests to return because they feel they have been treated well and that they have received service they are happy with. It saddens me to see that you will not return when we cannot be blamed for this issue, but I will leave that with you to decide on.

I want to wish you a good weekend and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

This is a very good hotel in a great location in Sydney.It is within a 5 minute wak to Cafes,Bars,Shops and a Railway station

Room Tip: Do not use the internet in your room as you will be charged $12.50 for 30 mins.If you walk to a near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roddy906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasparSchmidt, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Dear Roddy906,
Thank you for you feedback regarding Vibe Hotel Sydney.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
In regards to the Internet cost in the rooms then the prices are not higher than in other hotels around town but they are compared to Europe where internet is mostly free. We do offer other services in our lobby with our internet kiosks where you can be online for 10 minutes for $ 1.00.
I hope we get to welcome you back again in 2012 and if we can be of any further assistance then please let us know.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Very central hotel,very spacious room and comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iajsdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasparSchmidt, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2012

Dear iajsg,

Thank you for your great feedback regarding Vibe Hotel Sydney.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future and wish you a great 2012.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Popped up to Sydney to see two exhibitions last week. Didn't want to stay in the middle of the city but Vibe on Goulburn Street is a great little hotel 5 minutes from the Museum train station (which runs to the airport), and walking distance to China Town, Paddy's, the Powerhouse Museum, World Square, the Art Gallery, and the city.
Relaxing bar and restaurant downstairs with great coffee and cocktails, reasonably priced meals (although we didn't eat there).
Staff were fantastic, really really helpful, and the rooms were spacious with very comfy beds. Handy little gym and sauna room, lovely rooftop pool to keep the kids entertained.
They offer room deals via facebook and wotif as well.
Will definitely stay there for all future Sydney visits!

Room Tip: For a couch and bit of extra space the executive room is a good selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophieB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasparSchmidt, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2012

Dear SophieB2011,

Thank you for your feedback regarding Vibe Hotel Sydney.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel to be close to everything in the city. I will pass on your great feedback about the team to them today.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend in January (Three nights). Unfortunately January is an expensive time to travel in Sydney, so it wasn't a cheap stay.

However, there were no major concerns. Upon arriving requested a quiet room away from lifts and the staff were happy to comply. The room was clean, tidy and quite fashionably designed. Nitpicking, I'd have to say the amenities in the bathroom could have been better (the soap wasn't very nice, some body wash would have gone down well), there was no real view to speak of and the air conditioning was very noisy if it was turned on.

Still, for an inner-city Hotel it was lovely and quiet. Well placed for shopping and getting around, the staff were very friendly and the cocktail we had in the bar on Saturday night was lovely.

While I wouldn't stay here again, it was pleasant enough.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndustryBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasparSchmidt, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

Dear IndustryBuff,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Vibe Hotel Sydney. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the room tidy and clean.
We will check the Air-condition in your room as it should of course not be noisy. Also I value your comments about the amenities in the room and I will check the quality today.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your cocktail in the bar, and that you found the team friendly.
I hope we will be able to welcome you back some day and we want to wish you and your family a great 2012.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night and was pleasantly surprised by the experience. Staff very friendly and knowledgable. Room was very quiet, spacious, comfortable bed with a very modern decor. It was within short walking distance to central Sydney and all the city has to offer. Happy to stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randall K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasparSchmidt, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

Dear Pugsly14,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding Vibe Hotel Sydney.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the rooms spacious, and comfortable.
We hope to see you at Vibe Hotel Sydney soon again.
Have a nice day.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 179 in Sydney
2,524 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4,397 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 179 in Sydney
5,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyde Park Inn
Hyde Park Inn
#54 of 179 in Sydney
1,057 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#65 of 179 in Sydney
4,959 reviews
Surry Hills
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Sydney

Address: 111 Goulburn St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $106 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vibe Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Vibe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing