We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but noise issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #37 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2010

My wife stayed three nights in Sydney, two nights (Saturday and Sunday) at the Cambridge and another night (Monday) at the Radisson Hotel on Liverpool. The two nights at the Cambridge were kind of at the last minute because of a change in our plans. I have written a review of the Radisson as well.

We stayed at the Cambridge mainly we were on a budget and were out and about during our stay in Sydney. The front desk staff was very helpful and professional. The Premium Queen room with a balcony was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is about a 20 - 30 minute walk to Darling Harbor.

The reasons we gave the hotel a 3 star rating was because of the noise and bathroom. Our hotel room faced Riley Street, from which we could hear music. I don't know if there was a club or bar nearby, but the music was noticeably loud. Also, our room was near the elevator, so we could hear the other guests, 20-year-olds, coming in late from a night on the town and leaving the next morning. We could even hear room service knocking on the door late at night and the guests speaking with him.

We slept better the next night since it was basically my wife and I staying on the floor. However, the next morning around 7am, we were woken by construction noise. It seems that work begins around 7am in Australia.

Some reviewers have commented on not experiencing noise problems; others have. I guess it depends on the location of the room, the type of guests on your floor, and which nights you stay.

The other issue is the bathroom and shower were small. The shower door is on a track and sometimes it was dragging when trying to close it.

Overall, it was a good value, but I would highly recommend that if staying at the Cambridge to ask for a room not facing Riley Street, especially on a Friday or Saturday night.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reefdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2010

Dear Reefdive,

Thank you for bringing to our attention issues that arose during your stay. It is only through guest feedback that we can improve our guest experience. Firstly, let me reassure you that I am fully investigating your concerns. In our area, construction cannot be undertaken before 8:30. As previously mentioned I will definately investigate this.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,896 - 3,902 of 4,322 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2010

Good hotel, the location isn't that good. But you get a lovely walk to the center of Sydney through Hyde Park.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2010

Dear Guthi,

Thank you so much for your review. Our hotel is ideally located to experience all Sydney has to offer. We are in the heart of many of Sydney's finest restaurants, Alfresco dinning, designer boutiques and galleries. You really do get a true sense of Sydney. This along with easy access to all the icons Sydney has to offer gives you an idea of leisure and business.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regard

Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Had a really good stay here,the kids loved it and all the staff were excellent.(especially the room service team who done a brilliant job!).The hotel is situated near oxford street and was ok for getting to the touristy areas(my 8 year olds had no problems walking downt to the harbourside and back!) We had a meal at the hotel and was a little expensive(everything in sydney is!)but the best food we had all holiday.We hired a car and there was ample parking at the hotel but a little tight in areas! thankyou all for a really nice stay and a good start to our holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charltonfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2010

Dear Charltonfc,

Thank you very much for taking your time to post your views. With guest feedback we know what we are doing right and where we can improve. Your feedback has been passed on to our staff.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards

Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

I have stayed at The Cambridge on and off for a few years, both pre and post renovation. I had a really bad stay pre renovation and was put off going back for a while, even though the location is fantastic. A friend told me that the renovations were amazing and I thought I would give it a go. I was blown away with the result and have stayed there ever since, every time I go Sydney I look forward to staying here and it is a nice touch to have a letter from the GM in your room welcoming you back.

One stay I had mate fly up from Melbourne to stay with me and we had a problem with the room which was cheerfully fixed and handled swiftly and professionally.

The reception staff always have a smile and a warm welcome and handle any enquiries professionally and competently. The breakfast buffet is simple but very good value.

I am always pleased with the room standard as far as cleanliness goes as I am always fussy on this aspect. Two stays ago, the sliding shower screen was off its tracks and had been for some time judging by the scrapes on the bottom track and one would think housekeeping would have recognised this and reported it to maintenance. It would be a real shame if this hotel was let run-down again.

Depending on what room standard you book, some bathrooms are pokey, with barely enough room to sit on the loo and your knees bang on the roll holder. I guess its all about the layout. But you don't (deliberately) sleep on the loo! But I am sure if you were unhappy in any way, the staff would deal with it immediately.

Overall, its a great medium range hotel that seems to have it all just right. I am off to Sydney again next week for 3 nights and I am treating myself to a 1 bedroom suite this time.

Well done Cambridge, I will certainly keep coming back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douggy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2010

Dear Douggy69,

Thank you so much for your comments. They are truly appreciated. I have passed your comments on to all satff. The staff work extremely hard to ensure guest satisfaction and your are indeed correct in saying there are different room type. We have four categories of room from Express to Deluxe. Ensuring that we can cater four different budgets.

Our Express room are economical and of a great value for money. Our Deluxe rooms are oversized and give great views of the city.

I thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We needed somewhere to stay for a couple of days in Sydney before and after a cruise ship voyage.The Cambridge was a convenient spot to take in the city sights which were well within walking distance.Staff were professional, well groomed and accommodating to our every needs.From holding our luggage in a secure location before check in time to sorting out a squabble between taxi drivers, we were impressed with the customer service throughout our stay.Our room was well appointed, the restaurant served up a good feed.Should you wish to dine elsewhere, there is no shortage of places nearby.Our only gripe was that the lift foyers and room corridors were a bit pokey to transport our baggage around, but then again we were lugging a fair bit.We'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleepyhead_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2010

Dear Sleepyhead_10,

Thank you for your comments. It is truly appreciated for myself and the staff when we recieve positive feedback. It reinforces that we are providing what our guest are looking for.

Again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

I am not sure what the official star rating is for this hotel but it probably falls into the 2/3 star category in relation to decor.

I was attracted to this hotel by the price, the proximity to the centre of Sydney and the Central railway station and also the views from the rooms on the higher floors. The actual visit met my expectations on these issues. However this is really a basic hotel with a small plain lobby. The corridor outside the rooms is like something from a low budget motel. Again the room was large, but poorly decorated although clean and I enjoyed a comfortable nights sleep. I would return to this hotel again but the reality is it is just a room to sleep in.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MountainmanDromore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2010

Dear MountainmanDromore,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us. It is truly through guest feedback we know what we are doing right and where we can improve. We pride ourselves on personalized service and value for money. The hotel has recently undergone a multimillion dollar refurbishment. This included the upgrading of all the corridors.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel.

Kind regards,

Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Stayed at the Cambridge as it was close to the Belvoir Theatre. Glad we did, we have found a top spot. Great staff, competent, efficient and thoughtful. Enjoyed a meal in the restaurant after a matinee show, the waiter was friendly and made the evening a pleasure due to his We would both stay there again and have recommended the hotel to family and friends. Keep up the good work Cambridge. We had time to spare before an afternoon flight so spent time walking around looking at the old terrace houses, then up to the Sydney CBD to shop. A bit of a walk by the time we got back but enjoyable just the same.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NambuccaHeadsNorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2010

Dear NambuccaHeadsNorma

Thanks for the comments. It is truly pleasing to know that your stay was enoyable. Additionally, I have passed on your comments to the restaurant staff.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel.

Kind regards,

Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#48 of 179 in Sydney
871 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#83 of 179 in Sydney
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#41 of 179 in Sydney
1,779 reviews
Meriton Suites Zetland
#11 of 179 in Sydney
3,106 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#104 of 179 in Sydney
5,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#40 Business Hotel in Sydney
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $98 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking is available at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing