We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average - Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #39 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2010

We stayed here at the end of trip down the East Coast in a motor home. The one big problem that we had was that we had organised parking for the first night at the hotel, ringing forward to check that we would be able to park a tall vehicle in their undergroung car park. We were told we could but when we arived this was never going to be possible and this lead to a lengthy and nervy check-in before a senior member of staff rectified the situation, providing alternative parking. This will probably not affect most travellers but is more a reflection on their communication skills.
The hotel room was lovely, we were on the 14th (top) floor and it was spacious. It did however look on to a demolition site which woke us up at 9am- fine for us but if we were after a lengthy lie in, it may have been an issue.
The position is great, near enough to the main road for night life, but quiet enough that you didn't feel like you were in the middle of the party. Also, the train station was not too far by foot even with our heavy bags.
For what it's worth, you may want to try out "The Big RIg Diner" where the cocktails and service were exceptional and also "Billy Kwong's" where the food and staff were also wonderful, but you would have to get there very early (6pm) in order to secure a table for the night as they don't do telephone reservations.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linguaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2010

Dear Linguaman,

It is always fantastic to recieve feedback from guest sharing their experiences at the hotel.

Thank you for your words of support and encouragement. It is great to know that we are fulfilling and exceeding guest's expectation. We are pleased to let you kow that the site has been cleared and now offers and appealing outlook.

We truly are surrounded by some great Restaurants. And when next in Sydney we look froward to welcoming back to the hotel.

Cheers,

Steven Gargano
General Manager
Quality Hotel Cambridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,062 - 4,068 of 4,453 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2010

Stayed for 4 nights during the 2010 Sydney Mardi Gras weekend. Arrived on an overnight flight from US so room was not available when we checked in around 10 am but was offered towels and showers which was greatly appreciated after a 25 hour flight.

The hotel itself is clean, quiet and basic (the beds were comfortable but the rooms were very basic) and prices were much higher due to the Mardi Gras festival. Close to most of the major bus lines and taxi's were always available.

Most of the city's Gay and Lesbian nightlife are all within in walking distance and the area appears to be safe after hours. The property is very LGBT friendly.

Skip the restaurant in the hotel and check out a number of great places all within a three to four block walk. (Longrain, Bazaar, Bill's, Bird Cow Fish, Phamish)

Wi-Fi is extra and extremely expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SO T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2010

Dear Sc4eve,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with your stay with us. The hotel has invested a lot of time in the new decore (minimalist). Howver, still retaining a warm and welcoming surrounding.

I must agree with you that there are many fantastic restaurants within easy walking distant to the hotel. I am also very proud to let you know that we have a new Chef and a new menu which is definetly worth trying when you next stay with us.

It is great to recieve feedback and it certainly does let us know what we are doing right and where we can improve.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Steven Gargano
General Manager
Quality Hotel Cambridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

There are a number of positive things about this hotel, but in in no way is it a 4-star hotel. It is an above average three-star hotel. It is worth under $150/night for the location and nicely redone bathroom. There is no gym, and there are few extra amenities. The bed was comfortable, the view extraordinary from the 14th floor, and just a couple blocks from oxford street night life (i.e., where gays go out). When I checked in, there was a light bulb out in the bathroom, and I had trouble working the safe. Service to make these repairs was very prompt. The entryway into the room itself and the area around the safe is very dark (no lighting). The cheap, dim light fixture in the room makes the room a bit depressing. Heads up, even on the 14th floor, there is road noise. The sliding glass doors to the balcony do not keep the noise out. I did smell smoke coming through the vents or the walls of the room on occasion, even though the hotel is supposedly smoke free. Be prepared to spend 15 dollars a day on wifi in the room, if you need it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnpinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2010

Dear Dnpinva,

Thank you for taking your time out to share your experiences with us. As always it only through guest feedback that we can truly gauge what we are doing right and where we need to improve.

The hotel is currently undergoing soundproof testing for all windows. The hotel offers the great value for money and the location in the restaurant precinct in Sydney is unsurpassed.

We have now changed the echo light bulbs with brighter echo energy efficient light bulb. We are always striving to care for the environment.

The hotel is a 100% smoke free environment and the hotel is vigiliant in ensuring that guest adhere to this. The hotel is now affiliated with the full gymnasium 2 minutes from the hotel. This offers guests FULL gym facilities free of charge.

Each year AAA undertakes the star rating. This is an outside organisation and I am happy to say for the last three years the hotel has achieved a 4 star rating.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you backto the Quality Hotel Cambridge.

Kind regards,

Steven Gargano
General Manager
Quality Hotel Cambridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

This was a 2 star hotel, not what reviews state at all most definitely not a 4 star hotel at all. Minimal furniture, 2 side tables and 1 cupboard, all awful wood veneer, minimal cupboard clothing space. Curtains did not block out light in the early morning. Pillows solid rock, duvet cover was the same as disposable nicker fabric!!!our room smelt musty on arrival. Bar fridge empty bar a few sachets of milk!!what is this in a 4 star hotel. We required a double prong plug for computer connection which we had to pay $30.00 !!!Lifts were out of order mostly. I would never return to this hotel ever. Advertise what you are correctly because when you state the star rating it is what you expect to get. At least then one can make an accurate decision. Staff helpful and friendly.....

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubbles173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2010

Dear Bubbles173,

Thank you for taking time to share your experiences. Please reassure that I am truly greatful of client feedback in every instance.

It appears that we didnot meet your expectation during your stay. Please contact me directly and I will be more than happy to deal with all of the issue raised.

The hotel is extremely proud of its 4 star rating and has a modern minimalist feel while still retaining a warm and inviting decore. I am at a lost to understand re the double prong plug for computer connection. We do not offer such a prong for computer and would be happy to recieve additional information regarding this. So i can address your query.

I sincerely apologise if the lifts were out of order. This is beyond our control and can only reassure you that on the rare occasion this does happen we immediately action this with our lift company.

I look forward to discussing the issue raised with you and please feel free to contact me at your earliest possible convenience.

Kind Regards,

Steven Gargano
General Manager
Quality Hotel Cambridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

We stayed at cambridge for 3 nights. The service was very friendly with nice clean rooms with a superb view of sydney city. Conveniently located at the heart of sydney city, every place is a walking distance or a quick bus ride. We will definitely be back, keep up the good work.

Bivek Tamang

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bt_mandala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2010

Dear Bt_mandala,

Thank you so much for your post. It is always extremely encouraging to hear postitve feedbacks regarding the hotel and the staff.

It is throught the feedback we know what we are doing is satisfying to the guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Thanks again and kind regards,

Steven Gargano
General Manager
Quality Hotel Cambridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

This is an OK hotel. It is neither good nor particularly bad. I wouldn't recommend it or want to come back, but nor would I tell anyone not to stay here.

I booked a 3 night stay through wotif.com.au costing just over AU$210. For the price the room and hotel are OK, but more like a UK Travelodge or Premier Inn than a 4* hotel.

The room I was given, on the second floor, was certainly nothing like a 4* hotel (although I'm usually a 5* traveler, so might be a bit unrealistic). The bedroom was spacious and well furnished with an excellent bed. It was clean and the air conditioning worked well. On the downside, the old CRT TV (haven't seen one for years!) wasn't tuned properly nor did the remote control work well. The room was adjacent to the pool area which resulted in considerable noise in the evenings. The first time it was kids in the pool (which was meant to shut at 2000) after 2200. The second night some people decided to have a late night chat by the pool. Neither of these should be a problem if it wasn't for the hotel's paper-thin walls. On the third night it was people in a nearby room singing at 0100! Reception did, however, deal with all incidents well.

The bathroom was far from satisfactory. The fittings were old and tired with many poorly repaired chips in the sanitary-ware. The shower was weak and didn't get a good temperature - being either too hot or too cold. The tiles were peeling.

The view from the window was an apartment block/ service yard. This meant early morning disturbances from service vehicles.

I had two breakfasts at the restaurant. They were OK, but the choice and quality was poor. I wouldn't bother.

The location of the hotel should also be noted. It is located in Sydney's gay area. Although I'm not gay this wasn't a problem. In fact, the atmosphere was a lot less threatening than in other parts of a city. However, there are a large number of sex shops and various fetish retail outlets on Oxford Street close to the hotel which may be a concern for children. I don't think I'd want to stay here with a family, but it would be great for a couple!
Furthermore, the section of Riley Street between the hotel and Oxford Street is poorly lit and felt threatening.

A major plus of the hotel is that the staff were very helpful.

On balance it was OK for a cheap hotel but don't expect anything more than a Motel. In future I'd probably spend a bit more and stay at something like a Marriott so I know what I'm getting.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_Crypto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2010

Dear Dr_Crypto,

First let me reassure you that we are truly greatful to recieve client feedback in every instance.

We are indeed a boutique hotel and pride ourselves on personalise service. Our staff are our greatest asset and each and everyone of them are dedicated to providing guest satisfaction.

All Televisions have now been replaced in the four star rooms with flat screen Plasmas. Additionally, all bathrooms have been fully renovated in the four star tower.

We still do provide 20 rooms which are located in the annex around the pool. These rooms are for the more price conscious traveller.

Again I thank you for your feedback and hope your stay in Sydney was enjoyable.

Kind Regards,

Steven Gargano,
General Manager,
Quality Hotel Cambridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Last stop after 2 month of Travel Down under and it was the dot on the i. We have travelled from Campervan to Budget to 4 star and Cambridge is worth every star. Reception Staff was very friendly and not only once but any time we asked a question or just walked past, we've received a smile and more. Check in took 2 more minutes than expected but with our friendly Receptionista in Training, it did not matter. The Room was fantastic and more than the name said. We had a so called Premium Room but compared with what we have seen and paid during traveling, worth every penny and more. Very clean and comfortable. A little jewel found in usually expensive Sydney. Food was great and Breakfast even changed and had more to offer than a tetra pack of Orange Juice and a little box of corn flakes. Not sure about other reviews I have read but we where happy, happy, happy and will recommend without a doubt. Only downside - we had to leave to go back home - Hope to be back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchKisses68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2010

Dear Frenchkissess68,

It is always great to hear that the management staff of Quality Hotel Cambridge are achieving our goals by providing outstanding guest satisfactions.

We are dedicated to offering guests a superior experience at an affordable price.

Again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.

Kind Regards,

Steven Gargano,
General Manager,
Quality Hotel Cambridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Veriu Central
Veriu Central
#152 of 181 in Sydney
2 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#46 of 181 in Sydney
892 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 181 in Sydney
5,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#47 of 181 in Sydney
1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#38 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#40 Business Hotel in Sydney
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $90 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service along with a rustic Italian restaurant. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking is available at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone and Cancelon so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing