We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money, but not valued as a guest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #37 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2010

We went to Sydney to see a concert at Horden Pavilion. Cambridge Hotel was within walking distance of the Pavilion and was a decent price -hence our reason for choosing it.
It was easy to find, and in a great location to get around the city, but there were a few niggly things that made the stay blah.
1. Our room was RIGHT outside the pool. All level 2 and 3 rooms are in the atrium of the indoor pool - would be nice if it was outdoor and tropical. it is indoor, sweaty, and NOISY!!
2. The Maitre de in the restaurant couldn't care less. Made us feel like an inconvenience. However, the waitress was a delight!!! 5 stars to her, she was wonderful.
3. The car park is a nightmare!! Lucky we had a small car!
4.We asked for a room with a double bed (as spouses traveling together) but were put in a room with 2 single beds.
All up, we got what we paid for - it was cheap and convenient.Not the worst place we've stayed, but definitely not anywhere near the best nor really the best value for money!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oz2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2010

Dear Oz2u,
Thank you for your feedback. Guest feedback is a great gauge of what we are doing correctly and what we need to improve on.
We pride ourselves on guest satisfaction and we are 100 % committed to this.
We have appointed a new Maitre' De who is undertaking an extensive staff training.
We have passed on your positive feedback to the Maitre' De regarding the staff member.
Our records indicated that the room that was booked does not come with a bedding type guarantee and are located around the pool.
This room type is our lead in room type reflected in the price and again no bedding configuration is guaranteed and is only a request.
We offer 3 other room types that guarantees bedding configuration. These room types being Premium, One Bedroom Deluxe and Deluxe Balcony and are located on the tower section of the hotel away from the pool.
Please feel free to contact us directly if you would like further information and clarification on room types.

Kind regards,

Quality Hotel Cambridge
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,974 - 3,980 of 4,323 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2010

We stayed in the Cambridge for three nights and had a very good stay. The staff were helpful and the room was large, modern, comfortable and clean with a good bathroom and excellent shower. There was also a pool but sadly we didnt use it so I cannot say how good it was!

The location of the hotel is OK but not ideal for us as it is a very long walk to both the nice end of Oxford Street and also the CBD/Darling Harbour area. The immediate vicinity is really quite seedy but can be avoided.

The only other minor gripe I would have is that the Wifi I paid for was incredibly slow and kept dropping, though the hotel did give me more time when I raised this issue but worth knowing if the speed is important.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you dont mind exactly where it is.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2010

Dear LondonDuncan,

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We are also happy to announce that new WI FI system has been installed throughout the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Quality Hotel Cambridge
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Nice Hotel.Staff are really nice.
Room was superb.
Watch if you are looking to use the WIFI as on the upper floors the connection is really poor & only 54mb not 100.

Bit of noise from outside as this is in the middle of a residential area especially on a Friday night.

Breakfast Buffet is ok but the Hot selection could be better.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghChaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear EdinburghChaz,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Cambridge Hotel and thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback after your stay.

I was delighted to hear that you found our staff were good and the room was to your liking.

I am sorry to hear that you had trouble with our internet service, however now I am pleased to be able to tell you that a new system with high speed wifi has been launched and we believe the price is very competitive price. Our new restaurant should fix the breakfast issue and I am sure you will experience an improvement on your next visit to us.

Our location near a vibrant dining and entertainment part of the City occasionally results in noise problems on Friday nights; but this is very seldom.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback; we look forward to welcoming you back to hotel in the near future.

Warm regards

Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

I was at the hotel for 3 nights with friends for a fun filled weekend. The hotel was incredibly clean and the staff incredibly polite and friendly. Any request was always seen too with enthusiasm and nothing was ever too much work. The recption staff helped us with directions and gave us ideas of where to eat, drink, shop which made life so much easier. We had such a fun weekend and will definately be back to stay here again. Thank you everyone for making the stay as pleasant and enjoyable as it was.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shady_blonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear shady_blonde,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback after your recent stay.

We were delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel and you had a fun weekend in Sydney.

It was so pleasing to hear that the service given to you by our staff made your stay more pleasurable and your positive feedback has been passed on to our reception team; they were very appreciative that you mentioned them.

Our team always striving to provide memorable and enjoyable experience for our guests and their efforts certainly appears to have created a favourite impression with you.

Thank you very much again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to Cambridge Hotel in the near future.

Warm regards

Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

The staff at this hotel are very efficient and friendly. We enjoyed walking by the front desk and anytime we needed anything they were very helpful.

Sadly the room wasn't easy to get to and the hallways and doors were very narrow and hard to maneuver through with any luggage.

The room was ok, The air conditioning worked nicely and housekeeping kept things in clean order. Unfortunately the bed was VERY uncomfortable....sleeping on rocks with iron pillows haha. We stayed for a week and the bed got worse everyday. Also on a rainy day if you want to watch tv and stay out of the weather they only have a few channels that work, but thats minor.

The only problem we had staying here was when we left one of our two room key's in a spacific spot in the room and housekeeping took it wich made us feel uneasy. We asked front desk why and they told us that they have had alot of problems with housekeeping taking keys.

The buffet breakfast at the hotel was unsatisfying, The hot food was nasty! The best thing we had was toast. And the waitor working had bad mannors reaching over our plates while we were eating and without asking taking plates and glasses that we were using.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KR3W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2010

Dear KR3W,

At the Quality Hotel Cambridge we pride ourselves on achieving guest satisfaction and truly grateful of all feedback.

Quality Hotel Cambridge has been awarded a Green star from AAA Toursim as an acknowledgement of our ongoing effort to limit our carbon footprint.

One of the initiatives is that to activate air conditioning , the room key is inserted in to the Key card slot, which in turn activates air conditioning and lighting.

Housemaids are informed to remove the key if guest are not in the room. We do offer guest the opportunity to inform the fron t desk that they wish to run the air conditioning whilst not in the room.

We have recently appointed a new restaurnat Manager who is undertaking extensive staff training. Additional to the buffet we offer an extensive range of ala carte options.

Please feel free to contact us directly if you would like to discuss the issues raised further.

Kind regards,

Quality Hotel Cambridge
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

I arrived in November at Sydney to stay at the cambridge sydney hotel with my wife. We were coming from a long flight, more than 24hours from Portugal, we were exausted and our biggest wish was to have a bed so we could rest from such long hours. On our arrival I was impressed by the how the lobby and surrounding areas were impecable clean. As soon as I step the door a friendly staff from the reception said: " Welcome to the Cambridge Hotel, How can help you today?" a good start for what would be an excellent stay! They kindly and politely talked with us giving us all the information even before we ask, amazing customer service by the front desk, than a 5 star hotel! The room was no ready but they kindly arranged the room in less than 45 minutes which was great. During our stay there wasn't any complaint from our behalf. The facilities matched the price paid, and all the service, especially from the Front Office Department, exceeded much more the price paid! We will defenetly recomend and if there is another opporttunitie, we'll defenetly come back! Keep up the good work guys and soon what is now 4 will be 5 stars!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brunoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear brunoSydney,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback after your recent stay.

We were so delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable time at our hotel and the service given to you by our staff had made your stay more pleasurable.

Our team are always striving to provide a memorable and enjoyable experience for our guests and their efforts appear to have created a favourite impression with you: your positive comments were welcome by all.

Once again, thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when next you visit Sydney.

Warm regards

Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

Stayed the hotel for 3nights, really good laction, close to everything, 2min to oxford st and bus stop. Room was very clean,and the staffs at reception were very helpful adn friendly., they always had smile on the faces and gave us lots of good advises, really enjoy the stay. will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashwinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear ashwinson,

Thank you very much to choosing to stay with us at Cambridge Hotel and thank you very much for taking the time to give us a feedback.

We were so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel, that the service delivered to you met your expectation and the location of the hotel was convenient for your needs. Many of our guests comment on the convenience of our locality, we are pleased that you also shared this view.

It was also pleasing to hear that cleanliness of your room was to your satisfaction. The wonderful comments you made about our Reception staff have been passed on and they were much appreciated.

Once again, thank you very much for your lovely feedback; we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Warm regards

Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#48 of 179 in Sydney
871 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#83 of 179 in Sydney
2,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#41 of 179 in Sydney
1,779 reviews
Meriton Suites Zetland
#11 of 179 in Sydney
3,110 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#104 of 179 in Sydney
5,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#40 Business Hotel in Sydney
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $98 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking is available at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing