We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #37 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Booked online. The room looks a lot different from the photos, I also booked the deluxe queen balcony (top floor), smaller than expected and furnishings were a little disappointment. Apart from that, everything was great. Refurbished bathroom was exceptional!! I'm sure I'll make another book in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank teetaytruong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Hi Teetaytruong,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Cambridge Hotel. While I’m glad you enjoyed our overall quality and high value for money, it is unfortunate your booking experience was less than ideal. The images used on your particular booking agent are representative of the features and facilities of each room type.

All our Queen Balcony rooms offer modern accommodation at an affordable cost, however due to the unique structure of the building our room types do slightly vary in layout and sizing. Overall I’m glad you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,918 - 2,924 of 4,397 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great hotel, no complaints although I think parking and internet should be included in the price. Location is good, right near Oxford and Crown streets. Staff at he front desk were extremely helpful and friendly.


  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Trina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Hi Trina,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Cambridge Hotel. It’s excellent you enjoyed our central location in Surry Hills; there certainly is a wide variety of cafes, restaurants and bars surrounding the hotel. I’m glad you also found our team to be extremely helpful and friendly; they appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back. Further to your feedback; we do offer complimentary Wi-Fi as an exclusive benefit to all guests that book directly online with us.

Thank you again for your comments and kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

When me and my partner checked into the Cambridge Hotel on the 11th of July, the girl at reception was very lovely and accommodating! She was very welcoming, and even offered to keep my birthday cake in their fridge since it wouldn't have fit in the room fridge. When I presented my card, I understood that the room amount of $172 and the $50 deposit would be put on hold separately, so that the $50 deposit would be released back into my account upon checkout (this is my understanding of my last stay with the hotel, and also their terms and conditions). I noticed that the girl had put $226 on hold, and asked her why she had done this, and she told me that she would send a fax in the morning to st George to release it. I just assumed that it would be fixed when I checked out the next day. I didn't realise until I went to the bank 3 days later (when I found out that I was in arrears) that they charged $172 upon checkout, and released the $226 (which went back into my account exactly a week later). So essentially, I was charged twice plus the deposit which was really annoying. All in all, I enjoyed the stay and the staff were lovely, but this annoying inconvenience is very disappointing. I will stay with Cambridge Hotel again, but I hope that this confusion does not repeat itself.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Andrei C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Hi Andrei,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Cambridge Hotel and for providing the opportunity to improve the standard of our services. The issue experienced was due to internal miscommunication and I apologise for any inconvenience caused. The staff member in question has been spoken to and re-trained in our payment policies and procedures. I’m glad that this didn’t impede on your overall experience and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Booked for one night and really wanted to stay longer. Close to the heart of Sydney, great furnishings and room size was divine. Staff were always on hand and extremely helpful. The pillows were the most comfortable I've slept on in a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Hi Chris,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Cambridge Hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed the various elements of your stay; from our central location to our spacious and well-appointed accommodation. Your comments are highly motivating for the entire team and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I chose this hotel as a budget hotel. It was not budget on service or decor. My room looked to have been newly refurbished. It was fresh, clean and stylish.
The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is an easy walk to department stores and Hyde Park. However, even though it is a short distance from Central Station it can be difficult if you, like me you have a heavy bag, am unfit and didn't realise it would be uphill all the way. Next time I would take a taxi.
The room service breakfast was reasonable priced but small on substance. Next time I would take advantage of the many nearby cafes.

Room Tip: With so much to do in the local area I doubt you will spend time in your room so who cares?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Hi Leanne,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Cambridge Hotel. It’s great to hear your experience with us exceeded your expectations; from the high quality of our furnishings to the standard of service we strive to provide. Thank you again for your motivating feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The location was perfect. Close walking distance to both the CBD and sporting facilities. Great view from our room of the city at night and the Opera House. Very impressive. Room service menu was extensive and very affordable. Staff were happy and a pleasure to deal with. Very small car parking spaces.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vicki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Hi Vicki,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on the Cambridge Hotel Sydney. It is great to see you enjoyed our accessible location in Sydney’s Surry Hills, the high standard of our service and the quality of our room service. I agree our parking facilities can be quite tight and we make this clear across all online booking agents. I appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Loved The Cambridge, will definitely stay there again. Fantastic location, easy walk to Allianz Stadium and close to some great restaurants. The staff were lovely, the room clean and spacious and the view was amazing. Not noisy considering how close to the city and oxford st. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the furnishings were modern. We really enjoyed the buffet breakfast too and would highly recommend The Cambridge.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vicki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Hi Vicki,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel. Our central location in Surry Hills provides easy access to all that Sydney has to offer and our departments strive to provide excellence in guest satisfaction. Our team appreciate your kind comments and it’s great you enjoyed the various aspects of your stay. Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#48 of 179 in Sydney
880 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 179 in Sydney
2,524 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 179 in Sydney
5,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#45 of 179 in Sydney
1,833 reviews
Meriton Suites Zetland
#12 of 179 in Sydney
3,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#40 Business Hotel in Sydney
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $110 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service along with a rustic Italian restaurant. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking is available at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing