We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surry Hills surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #33 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Surry Hills surprise”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Cambridge Hotel is excellent value for money. Although the rooms are not large, the decor and level of fitout is great for a couple of nights stay, close to town and within walking distance of Oxford street cafe life. I liked the swivel TV which allowed you to watch while showering. Quite an innovation!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Swell55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi Swell55,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I’m glad you enjoyed our great value, well-appointed rooms at the Cambridge Hotel, as well as our close proximity to the rest of Sydney’s city centre. Our team appreciate your 5/5 rating and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,583
    1,712
    578
    135
    70
See reviews for
847
1,364
477
715
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great hotel, great room, great sale price. We were very happy to discover our room was comfortable and accommodating. All staff were very helpful in assisting us with all enquiries. The only criticism we would have is regarding the shower which constantly changed temperature and pressure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi Jessica,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I’m glad you had such an enjoyable stay at the Cambridge Hotel and it’s great you found great value in our accommodation. Further to your feedback, our Maintenance Department is investigating the water pressure in your room. Thank you again for your thoughts, the hotel looks forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great place, the only issue would be the parking. Although it was ample parking, it was a little tight. The bed was comfortable and room was very clean. Was happy there was a balcony! Would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charbel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi Charbel,

Thank you for your excellent feedback on your stay at the Cambridge Hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed the various aspects of your stay. In regards to our car-parking; I agree it can be quite tight and we make this clear through all booking agents; it is suited to smaller, city-style vehicles. Our team appreciates your 5/5 rating and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nothing really to add ..liked my stay there always do' and certainly will suggest others to stay there also....
Have mentioned before how I like staying there and look forward to catching up with two members at your reception desk...


  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Len K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi Len,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. Your motivating comments are appreciated by all staff within the hotel and we cannot wait to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Cambridge is well-sited for our purposes, in the heart of Surry Hills, with restaurants, cafes and shops close by, yet within easy walking distance of the main city area. Also, close to St Vincents Hospital, important for us on this occasion.



  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi John,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I’m glad our positioning suited your needs at St Vincent’s Hospital and it’s great you explored Sydney’s Surry Hills during your stay. Thank you again for your thoughts.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here for three nights over Easter with my partner. We stayed in a lovely room on the 13th floor with a city view. The room was very spacious, and clean. It was fantastic having a balcony and operable windows. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was perhaps a little smaller than it could have been, with so much floor area to design with, but was sufficient. The shower/bath was good - water pressure can be so temperamental but was fine here. The complimentary toiletries are lovely, much better than they so often are in 4* hotels. The location is great - walking distance to most areas of the city and only a short cab or bus ride away from the rest. Proximity to the cafe/bar scene of Surry Hills & Darlinghurst also a big plus. Close to the train station too, for airport transfers. It was also fairly quiet. The staff are very friendly, too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessBella67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi PrincessBella67,

Thank you for sharing such great feedback on your recent stay with us at the Cambridge Hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed our spacious, well-appointed rooms as well as the facilities and amenities available to guests. The unique positioning in the heart of Surry Hills provides great access to public transport and is a short walk away from the Sydney City.Our team appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here on a recent visit to Sydney over the Easter holidays. The location and price were the main reasons we chose this hotel. For our family of 2 adults and 1 child the family suite was fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi Diana,

Thank you for your great Cambridge Hotel feedback. I’m glad our hotel suited your family’s needs; our Deluxe Bedroom Suites are perfect for families as the separate bedrooms provide privacy between parents and children. Thank you again for your thoughts, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#38 of 177 in Sydney
1,576 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#40 of 177 in Sydney
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#98 of 177 in Sydney
4,768 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#62 of 177 in Sydney
4,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Property: Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool and spa. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking will never be an issue at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking available for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing