We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #35 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Service was great! Room was okay for a one night stay, however we were at the rear of the building and had a view of a wall, so would like a room around the front for a longer stay. Room was clean and beds we're comfy. Location was really good and convenient to city, beaches and airport. Restaurant was great for breakfast. Loved the friendly service didn't like the stale nuts in the mini bar so much. Overall though would be more than happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Hi Stephen,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel.
We provide a variety of room types to suit the varying needs of guests and a range of pricing to suite each and every budget. Our Deluxe Room Category enjoy spacious balconies, many of which over great city-scape views.

Our team appreciate your commendation of their service, and our Food and Beverage Department have resolved the issue with your minibar. I’m glad you enjoyed our central and accessible location in Sydney’s Surry Hills and the Cambridge Hotel cannot wait to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,268)
There are newer reviews for Cambridge Hotel Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,093 - 3,099 of 4,268 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

Have been staying @ the Cambridge Hotel Sydney over 2 years now it's my Hotel i turn to.
I often stay with friends, we always have such a great time. From the moment i call up & make a booking to the moment i arrive the whole experience is simply delightful.
Beautiful front of house staff esp the gorgeous Giulia always smiles & is happy to accomodate at the best of her ability. Rooms are always very clean & always good value as well.
Great views if you have a higher level floor with a balcony a great night to spend drinking lots of wine & having a delightful & fabulous time.

Room Tip: Premium balcony Queen
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Hi Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great comments on your most recent stay with us, and for choosing the Cambridge Hotel as your preferred Sydney accommodation. It’s great to hear your whole Cambridge experience is delightful from start to finish. Giulia and our Front Desk team appreciate your commendation and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you again for your thoughts and Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Reasonably sized room. Well maintained. Very quiet. Leaking shower head and
burnt out light bulb were fixed by the time we returned to our room later in the day. Close to bus and train stations. The balcony is empty. It probably needs a table and chairs.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Hi Lorraine,

Thank you for providing your feedback on your Cambridge Hotel experience. I’m glad you had a great stay with us, and that your issues were resolved in a timely and efficient manner. Unfortunately due to council restrictions, we are unable to place furniture onto the balconies, but I thank you for your recommendation.

The Cambridge Hotel looks forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had a queen room with a balcony on the 10th floor. Super spacious, great views despite the rain. Our granddaughter had a bed made up for her on the fold out sofa, meaning there was nowhere to sit. We had to fold the sofa bed back each day so we could sit on it. Not a biggie, but a bit annoying. Probably unavoidable when travelling with a small one. Would stay here again if prices remain the same.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Hi Beth,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel. It’s great you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Cambridge Hotel, and were pleased with the high standard of our accommodation and the great value for money we provide. I’m glad you enjoyed our City-Scape views despite Sydney’s rain. Again, thank you for your thoughts; our team looks forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Room a good size with a large balcony to enjoy the sun and sounds in the morning. Public transport very close by and taxis waiting at front door. CBD 15 mins walk away. Staff, both reception and housekeeping offered exceptional service. Breakfast, provided in the restaurant, was filling, tasty and provided a wide variety to choose from. Car parking wonderful asset to have. Would/Will stay here again in the balcony room. We had a wonderful stay and decided to stay an extra night which was easily catered for without having to change rooms. For a 4 star hotel it is excellent and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank UrsulaJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Hi UrsulaJane,

It’s great you enjoyed your recent Cambridge Hotel experience; thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Our Housekeeping and Front Desk Departments appreciate your commendation of their high standard of service and I’m glad you made use of the facilities we offer at the hotel. Thank you for your recommendation, our team looks forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our twin room on the first floor was very clean and tidy. Ensuite compact but clean. Room spacious and quiet apart from voices in corridor and lift noise. No traffic noise. Beds comfortable. Convenient location on CBD fringe. Short walk to train station. Check in staff friendly and helpful. We didn't eat in but breakfast priced at $15 for continental and $17 for buffet. Not sure what is included. Charging for wi-fi is unacceptable but almost unavoidable anywhere, it seems! We tried to use own 3G but reception very poor in room.
Would recommend for short stay. We paid $158 for one night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytravellersdandh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Hi happytravellersdandh,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I’m glad you were pleased with the standard of our twin share accommodation and our central and accessible location.

Further to your feedback, we offer complimentary Wi-Fi access to guests that book directly online at our website www.cambridgehotel.com.au. I thank you for you recommendations and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We loved the room and it's wonderful view Always happy to stay at Cambridge. The hotel is central to where we want to go, easy to get food and a taxi. Sadly this time we were disappointed with breakfast; the bacon and hash browns were very dry, unedible. We will be back!!!!!



  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hi Julie,

Thank you for leaving your kind comments on your stay at the Cambridge Hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed our central and accessible location, as well as our high standard of cleanliness and service.

I have passed forward your feedback to our Food and Beverage Department, who apologise for your less than ideal experience. Thank you again for your thoughts, the Cambridge looks forward to welcoming you back.

King regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#42 of 178 in Sydney
857 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#40 of 178 in Sydney
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Meriton Suites Zetland
#10 of 178 in Sydney
3,040 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#81 of 178 in Sydney
2,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#40 Business Hotel in Sydney
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $108 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking is available at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing