We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean but front desk service needs more attention”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #39 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed here for three nights with my husband and loved the location. Room was clean and spacious. Customer service at the front desk was pretty poor though, often quite rude but inconsistent. Would come back though.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Nam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hi Nuggen,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback; we appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback and the insight it provides us into your experience. Firstly, it’s great you enjoyed the size of your room, the location of the hotel, and the standard of our Housekeeping Department. It’s unfortunate you didn’t find our Front Desk to be polite and friendly.

The Cambridge Hotel strives to provide excellence in guest satisfaction, and this begins with the service and the welcoming we provide at our Front Desk. Further to your feedback, we have undertaken additional training in providing excellent Customer Service. I thank you again for your feedback, and the opportunity it has provided us in improving our levels of customer service. It’s great that you would choose to stay with us again, and the hotel looks forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,402 - 3,408 of 4,507 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed 3 nights here. Large room with opening door for fresh air. Beds were very comfortable with lots of pillows. Ensuite was large with a great shower and large fluffy towels. A great location with buses running past the end of the road, just a 100 metres walk. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Hi Barb,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent 3 night stay. It's great you enjoyed your stay with us, and found your room to be spacious, comfortable and well-appointed. Our team all appreciate your 5/5 rating for service and look forward to welcoming you and your family back. Thank you again for your thoughts. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here due to its location and I was upgraded on arrival. The room was modern and clean. The bed sheets were crisp and white. I definitely will be returning .. Staff were so friendly but the parking fee I found a bit steep... Over all fantastic

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank LindaArzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Hi Linda,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent experience at the Cambridge Hotel. It's great you enjoyed our central and accessible location, as well as our high standards of cleanliness and service. As an inner-city hotel offering secure, underground parking facilities; we are competitively priced and offer both public and guest parking rates. Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed 5 nights in early February at the hotel. Having read the previous reviews about the "construction noise",we had sent some requests and enquiries when we made the booking. The supervisor Jennifer Marsden replied there was no construction at the hotel at the moment, but we would be on a higher floor, but not confirmed. In fact, we were allocated a room close to the lift on the 5th floor. The drilling and hammering noise began at around 8:45 every morning and last all day. If you are a light sleeper and late starter, or if you want to relax and take things slowly, should avoid this hotel.

The swimming pool was small and it was a bit dirty. You would feel a bit crowdy if there are more than 4 people using the pool. Some quests brought their drinks and snacks, and turned on their music with them when using the pool. There were a lot of dirts at the bottom of the pool. including bits and pieces of food.

When we entered our room there was strong smell of pesticide, even after returning home, our luggage carried the same smell. Everyday we saw trays of food residues outside some quest rooms when we walked out the corridor, even in late afternoon. Obvoiusly, they were not quickly removed after the room service done. No wonder why the hotel needs to spray strong pesticide, otherwise crocroaches would be everywhere.

We offered free wifi when we booked the room and we were given an access code when we checked in. But the access was quite disruptive over the first 3 days. When we report the problems at the counter, a male receptionist with the suit (assumed supervisory level because the rest of the staff worn shirts only) responded not particularly friendly and helpful. He said it could be because the access code was valid for 24 hours. But we're never informed about this.

There are rooms for improvement on the cleanliness and customer enquiry handling in this hotel. Otherwise, given its location and proximity to the CBD, the hotel should enjoy higher ranking.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huntclub2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The reception staff were very helpful ,always had a smile and Giulia went out of her way to make our stay memorable. Location excellent a 20/25 minute walk to the quay. Would recommend this to friends & family.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Hi Helen,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us at the Cambridge Hotel. It's fantastic you had a great stay; Giulia and our team of Guest Relations Officers all appreciate your excellent comments and look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you again for your feedback, as well as your recommendation to family and friends.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

would deffinately reccomend this hotel! the staff were helpful, friendly and had lots of information about travel, trips and places to eat. The location of the hotel was great for the price! right near an irish pub, a main street full of shops an places to eat. The hotel is about a 45 minute walk to the harbour which was a lovely safe walk through hyde park. Our room was very modern and clean with an amazing view of the city on the 12th floor. Ask for a high floor with a city view otherwise you look over roof teraces. We could actually see the opera house from the balcony!! would deffinately go back to this hotel!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Greenyab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Hi Greenyab,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and photos of your visit. I'm glad you both had a great stay in Sydney; and found the Cambridge Hotel to be well-appointed and accessibly located. The higher floors of the hotel have uninterrupted views over Sydney's city-scape. Thank you again for your thoughts and recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Location: Excellent. close to CBD and Oxford St with transport easily available. This is critical given Hotels inner CBD can be twice as much $. A great location with some diminished noise compared to other Hotels in a 'village' type atmosphere.
Room: Deluxe Twin with gr8 views to the city. Balcony too! Beds were comfortable and amenities and things like tea/coffee/iron/etc were all gr8
Service: Very good. A bit of a wait for check in/out - but that's because the place is so popular and the service is gr8 all round.
Value: For 15 mins from Sydney CBD - excellent.
For: The staff, the service & location
Against: Check in/check out can be slow due to the popularity of this place
Overall: We've stayed at numerous 3>5 star Hotels in Sydney. This is by far THE best for location, comfort, quiet and service. Love it

Room Tip: With a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnpaussies2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Hi Jnpaussies2010,
Thank you for sharing your very detailed feedback on your recent Cambridge Hotel experience.
Firstly, it's great you found the hotel to be well located and great value for money and I'm glad you were pleased with the very high standard of our Deluxe Rooms. I appreciate your comments; our team strive to ensure all guests are attended to as soon as possible and the hotel is discussing options on how to ensure timely service is delivered at all times. Thank you again for your feedback; the Cambridge Hotel looks forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#46 of 181 in Sydney
897 reviews
Central Business District
Veriu Central
Veriu Central
#119 of 181 in Sydney
33 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 181 in Sydney
5,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Meriton Suites Zetland
#14 of 181 in Sydney
3,294 reviews
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#31 of 181 in Sydney
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#40 Business Hotel in Sydney
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $99 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service along with a rustic Italian restaurant. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking is available at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing