We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, comfortable, clean, friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #36 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Good, clean room. Comfortable & big bedding in the premium queen. All in room amenities ad would be expected for a hotel. Staff we're very helpful & friendly and breakfast in the restaurant was great. Within 15 min walking distance to harbour. I think value for money. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nlivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Hi Nlivo,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your experience at the Cambridge Hotel; It's great you had such an excellent stay with us. I'm glad you found our Premium Rooms to be well-appointed, spacious and cleaned to a high standard, as well as providing high-value accommodation. Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,249 - 3,255 of 4,330 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed here on recomendation of a friend. Located in a quiet area of Surrey Hills but close enough to all the big ticket items Sydney has to offer by either walking or a short cab ride. Restaurant serves great food and there is a good pub across the road serving cold beers and good food as well as numerous cafes close by. We had a king room on the 13th floor which was spacious and had a very comfortable king size bed and pillows. The room was clean and all amenities were in excellent condition. All the staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gavrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Hi Gavrose,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. The location of the Cambridge Hotel is as you said; close enough to all of Sydney’s attractions, however in a quieter, city-fringe location full of culture. It’s great you found our hotel to be of a high standard, and your room well-equipped and clean; our team appreciates your kind comments and the Cambridge Hotel looks forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed here for 4 days in November 2013. Hotel was pleasant and affordable, rooms are a good size. Not much of view. The location was fantastic, close to many reataurants in Surry Hills. Close to transport and close enough to walk to the city. My wife and I had pleasant walk through Hyde Park to Circular Quay every day. My only complaint was the "Heated pool" was freezing with no sign to say there was a problem. Other than that we would recomend this place and will stay there again

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2016

Hi David G,

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it’s pleasing that all aspects of the hotel met your expectations. Thank you again for your sharing, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We often stay here - convenient, central, clean, friendly and helpful staff.
They accommodate changes to the bookings. The kitchen, ironing board, desk and hairdryer are always useful. The wine bar downstairs is good.

Room Tip: Deluxe double with sitting room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusieS994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Hi Susie,
Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback, and for choosing the Cambridge Hotel as your preferred Sydney accommodation; I'm glad you enjoy the facilities and services we have available here. Our team appreciate your kind comments, and look forward to welcoming you back for another stay. Thank you again and kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Just home from a 2 night stay in the Cambridge with family (2 kids). Stayed in a one bed suite with sofa bed (708). Room was a good size, clean, well set out with some kitchen facilities (incl. microwave). Sofa bed had been set up very comfortably for our kids, who enjoyed the experience of sleeping in it. We have stayed in (much) more expensive hotels with less comfortable beds and more lumpy pillows. Our stay at the Cambridge was very comfortable. There is a pool on Lvl 2 which is a pretty good size with adjacent showers and changing area. Kids enjoyed it and Mum had a dip too - water temp was pleasant!
The hotel is very centrally located with lots of yummy eateries within a short walking distance. Also a short walk from Hyde Park. If the idea of exploring further afield on foot exhausts you, the hotel is conveniently located close to a bus stop on Crown St. Buses run to Circular Quay from this stop.

The staff were genuinely friendly and customer service was fantastic. Again, we have stayed in more expensive hotels where the same could not be said.

The Cambridge represents, in our view, exceptional value for money and as with all things that appear too good to be true there were a few negatives - road noise (double glazing could fix this!), proximity to Police HQ meant a few sirens late one night and aircon unit in the bedroom was loud, rattled and not easy to control with remote (maintenance call required!). Notwithstanding, we had a hugely positive experience. Would definitely recommend and would stay there again with the family.

Room Tip: Deluxe one bed suite with sofa bed is better than it sounds. There are some rooms around the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ainemhaire25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Hi Ainemhaire25,
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your thoughts and recommendations on the Cambridge Hotel Sydney. Firstly, it's great you had a very comfortable stay with us and found our hotel to be great value and centrally located. Our heated, indoor pool is always well received by children, and it's fantastic your whole family enjoyed it.

In regards to the negative aspects of your stay; the hotel is currently undergoing a total replacement of all balcony doors and windows with industrial-strength panes of glass; significantly reducing the intrusion of outside noise, and our maintenance department are looking into the issues you experienced with the air conditioning.

I'm glad these isolated experiences won't deter you from visiting again. Our team all appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My friend & I decided to have a short break in Sydney. We were keen to find accommodation that was both centrally located and wasn't going to break the bank. This is precisely what we got (& more) at The Cambridge Hotel.

If you are travelling by train you will find that The Cambridge Hotel is a pleasant walk from Museum Station. If you are travelling by car, the hotel has its own car park & they charge $28 per day.

From check-in (our room was ready before 2:00 p.m.) to check-out everything was perfect. Our room was large, tastefully furnished and the 2 double beds were incredibly comfortable.

The room and bathroom were both spotless. In fact I would have to say that this is one of the cleanest hotels that I have ever stayed in.

Despite being located on the 2nd floor and overlooking Riley Street, our room was very quiet. The air conditioning worked brilliantly and the room itself was bright and airy.

We were impressed with the 'breakfast to go' option on the 'bar snacks' menu which is designed for travellers on the go. We had plenty of time up our sleeves so we didn't avail ourselves of this option but we did think that it was a very clever idea. For those of you who are unfamiliar with this product, it is a small package which contains everything one could possibly need in order to have a quick breakfast i.e. a packet of cereal, milk, fruit, bowl, spoon, etc.

As I said, we had plenty of time so we chose to have a leisurely breakfast at 'Bills'. This is Bill Grainger's restaurant which is just up the road & the food was exceptional. In fact there are just SO many dining options in this part of Surry Hills, you will be spoilt for choice. There are also many cute stores and boutiques situated along Crown Street and of course Sydney CBD is just a short stroll away. We enjoyed walking from the hotel into the city through beautiful Hyde Park.

Although everyone we came into contact with at The Cambridge Hotel was helpful and pleasant, I would like to acknowledge Julia at the front desk. She was most helpful and welcoming to both of us.

We enjoyed our stay at The Cambridge Hotel so much that it will be our first choice next time we decide to venture back up to Sydney.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Hi WorldTraveller2014,
Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed response on your recent stay with us at the Cambridge Hotel. Firstly, it's fantastic you find the Cambridge Hotel to be so centrally located, while offering great value accommodation. Our Housekeeping Department consistently maintain a high standard of cleanliness, and Giulia, with rest of our team appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you again for your feedback, as well as your recommendation.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at the Cambridge the second week of January. At first we were put into a tiny corner room with a very small window that felt like a jail cell, but after asking nicely they moved us into a much better room with adequate windows. The location, although not particularly close to anything, was centrally located and a quick metro ride to all the main spots like Circular Quay and Darling Harbour.

Room Tip: Make sure not to get a small corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Hi Ashley,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It's great you enjoyed the accessible location of the Cambridge, and I'm glad our team were able to quickly resolve the issue with your initial room. Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#48 of 180 in Sydney
872 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 180 in Sydney
2,489 reviews
Meriton Suites
#8 of 180 in Sydney
5,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#40 of 180 in Sydney
1,781 reviews
Meriton Suites Zetland
#11 of 180 in Sydney
3,111 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#103 of 180 in Sydney
5,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $101 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking is available at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing