We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service, good value, and generous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #35 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great service, good value, and generous”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We booked a room based on very good rates (three of us were students on a tight budget). The room was small, but not uncomfortably so. It was clean and with excellent views over the city. We arrived early and the staff looked after our luggage while we galavanted around Sydney. Then, the following day after we checked out, they looked after our luggage again until our train was due later in the afternoon. The staff were lovely and everything about the hotel suggested generous hospitality.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the city provide for great sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyjoyjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hi Wendy, thank you for sharing your great feedback.I'm pleased your friends enjoyed our clean, friendly and great-value hotel. It's great you also enjoyed the service and hospitality of our reception team; they all appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,632
    1,775
    590
    136
    70
See reviews for
884
1,398
490
744
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This hotel was booked for us by Thomson as we were on a whistle stop tour of Australia. Felt unsure on arrival but once we'd settled in we loved it! Staff were all very friendly; Megan on reception was exceptional. We often came into contact with the cleaning staff who were very friendly and performed an excellent service; the room and bathroom were cleaned to an exceptional standard. The attached Italian restaurant was a real bonus. The breakfast (continental!) was the best continental breakfast we've ever had! All the food was fresh and tasty and the most delicious home made jams and marmalade. We ate in the restaurant on one evening of our stay ... probably the best meal out we've ever eaten along with a relaxing atmosphere. We'd like to visit Sydney again as there was lots of things we'd like to do that we didn't get time for on this occasion. We'd definitely stay at the Cambridge Hotel again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hi Kath, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It's great you settled into your room so quickly and enjoyed the standards of our Housekeeping Department. Baccomatto Osteria has very delicious dining options and both Meagan at our Front Desk, and the Management of the restaurant appreciate your excellent comments. Thank you again for your thoughts, the Cambridge Hotel looks forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and girls stayed at the Cambridge. It was my wifes 40th and I asked if they could make a fuss of her. They didn't disappoint! From singing Happy Birthday at check in, to the bottle of wine in the room "on the house", they went the extra mile to make the stay special. This will be our first port of call from now on every trip to Sydney.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hi Darren, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney. I'm glad your wife enjoyed her birthday and the 'little extras' our team included in your stay. Thank you again for your feedback, the Cambridge Hotel looks forward to welcoming your family back. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed at the Cambridge hotel as it was relatively cheap compared with other hotels on the night we were planning on staying in Sydney. The service was very good and the room was basic but comfortable. The walls are thin and you can hear people in the next room when they are noisy.

The only downside of the hotel was the car park. There was no full sign however we drove all theway down to the bottom of the car park to discover there were no spaces. It would be worth checking before making this mistake.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hi rbbrooks, thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney. It's great you enjoyed our friendly service, great value and good location. Further to your feedback, I apologise for any inconvenience caused; we conduct regular checks of the available spaces and block the entrance accordingly. Thank you again for your feedback, the Cambridge Hotel looks forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I would like to start by saying that I am in the Hotel industry, and that makes us very picky especially whenever staying at other hotels. However, this was a lovely experience at the Cambridge:

We have just spent one night at this lovely property.

I must say that, after reading some reviews, some people expect to get diamonds for free at Hotels.

This Hotel is perfectly located, close to the Airport and all main attractions in Sydney.

Staff were all lovely, from the time we booked over the phone all the way up to the end.

We arrived very early, at around 10am, and as our room was ready, we were allowed to check-in at that time, which was a huge plus! Reception team was lovely.

When we arrived at the room, wow, what a nice surprise!!! Beautiful views, huge room with all amenities one would expect. Honestly, for the price we paid, I never expected this much, therefore we were pleasantly surprised.

the following morning, as we were very tired from the previous night, we were a bit late to check-out (11am), but this was overlooked by Reception, which made us very happy too. Not only that, we were also allowed to leave our luggage there while we went for a tour of the city, as our flight was only at 9pm.

To top it off, we just happened to meet the managers of the place, and they were all lovely, very accommodating and showed high regard for their guests.

I am extremely happy, will absolutely be back and will tell all my friends to stay at the Cambridge.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuizPrebianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hi Luiz, thank you for taking the time to share your very thorough feedback of your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney. I'm glad your stay with us, and found our hotel to be well located, great value and brimming with hospitality. It's great you were pleased with the standard of our rooms as well as the services and facilities we have available for guests. Thank you again for your feedback as well as your recommendation; the Cambridge Hotel looks forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We booked this though a mystery hotel on the Internet. We stayed for 3 nights and the rate wasn't that cheap so we expected good customer service. The Customer Service would have to be one of the worst in terms of getting everything wrong from the time we checked in to when we checked out. We eventually confirmed that there was another guest at the same time with the same first and last names, and obviously their systems cannot handle this. To top it off I received a call from one of the Managers about my feedback advising that it would all be addressed and at the end of the conversation they called me by my surname not my first name !
The only positive thing for us was at least the room was quiet !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, Assistant General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear David M,
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback of your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that you feel that you receive a poor customer service during your stay.
This is clearly not the standard that we strive for here at the Cambridge Hotel.
I would be happy to discuss the issues raised personally with you. I am contactable on subhuj@cambridgehotel.com.au.
Thank you again and have a great day.
Kind regards,
Sub Pradhan
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed at the Camridge 2 weeks ago, for 5 nights. Was not impressed with my check in, as I had requested a porta cot, which was not in the room upon arrival (read the same complaint in another review), however, upon requesting again, it was brought up to the room very promptly. Dissapointed with this free wi-fi for online bookings that they claim to give. I had booked online, but was told I did not receive this as I had booked online prior to the new policy coming into effect....despite the fact that my stay was after the policy came into effect. Horrible excuse if you ask me! Should have still be validated as it was advertised as anyone who books online which we did...guess you get penalised for booking early! Rooms were a great set up with the bedroom off the sitting room. Shower/bath needs a longer piece of glass to prevent the water from soaking the floor when you shower. Had to shower up against the wall, or else the floor was soaked every time. Room was very clean and well kept. However, for 3 days our floors were not vacuumed (could tell by the crumb mess my kids made), but when requested this service, it was provided:) Kitchenette was very handy. Disappointed in the pool. Kids were excited to go for a swim, until we put our feet in and realised that it was not heated and was colder then the ocean, so were unable to access that our the spa (the spa is connected to the pool, so is the same water temperature....freezing). Location was excellent and close to walking distance. Great location and price for staying in Sydney. Front desk staff were great to call taxis and they were really quick. Irish Pub that the hotel uses for room service has excellent food! Would still recommend to people, despite said above.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canuck2013255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Hi Canuck, thank you for your feedback. I apologise for your less than ideal experience with us; guest satisfaction is our utmost priority at the Cambridge Hotel, and on this occasion our standards of service were not met. Further to your feedback, we are honouring our free Wi-Fi to all guests who booked online directly before the policy was introduced. Our Maintenance Department have investigated the shower/bath step and our Housekeeping policy is to vacuum all rooms every day. Thank you again for your feedback and for providing the Cambridge Hotel with the opportunity to improve. We look forward to welcoming you back, Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#44 of 178 in Sydney
847 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#40 of 178 in Sydney
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Meriton Suites Zetland
#10 of 178 in Sydney
2,976 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#101 of 178 in Sydney
4,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Property: Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking is available at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing