We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love cleanliness this is a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #33 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Currumbin, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“If you love cleanliness this is a great place to stay”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My partner and I were upgraded to a deluxe balcony room on the 11th floor. The room was a good size with a queen bed, a desk and a comfortable desk chair. Their was a bar fridge, and tea making facilities, a wardrobe with a safe and a full length mirror.

The bathroom was very small and it had a basin without a vanity around it to put things on but was adequate. Everything was spotlessly clean. The building is not new but has been refurbished. The lifts are fast and there were no long waits to go up or down. We loved the funky 60's / 70's decor, the coffee shop and the very friendly service.

The hotel is in easy walking distance of the city and very close to cafe's, restaurants and all the activity of Oxford St.

All up it was great value for money, one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in and the service was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: There is some street noise so the higher up you are the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Hi Rose, thank you for your very well-rounded feedback. I’m glad you enjoyed the upgrade to our deluxe balcony room, and were pleased with the features and amenities the hotel has for complimentary usage. Our Housekeeping Department works hard to maintain the high standard of cleanliness the Cambridge Hotel is proud to provide and our team appreciates your recognition of their attention to detail.
Regarding the noise issue you experienced; the hotel is currently undergoing a major soundproofing project; replacing all our windows and balcony doors with high-performance, high quality, industrial strength glass. This undertaking will ensure our guests continue to have a fantastic (and now quieter) experience staying at the Cambridge Hotel. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,583
    1,712
    578
    135
    70
See reviews for
847
1,364
477
715
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed for 12 nights in a deluxe balcony room on the 12th floor. It was excellent, clean, spacious, comfortable - great city skyline view. The service was first class; the reception staff (GIULIA!) were so helpful and friendly. Lovely coffee shop (ELOISA!). Easy walking distance of the centre, lots of great cafes and restaurants nearby. Go to the revolving Sydney Tower and photograph the Cambridge Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARILYNTIMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Hi Marilyn, thank you for sharing your feedback. It’s great you enjoyed your twelve nights with us at the Cambridge Hotel. Eloisa, Giulia and our reception team appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you again for your feedback, Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We spent two nights here in September 2013. My husband and I were traveling with our infant son, and Sydney was a two day stop over before we headed home. The pros of the hotel were:

Walking distance to most of Sydney's star attractions, if you like to walk. Nothing was further than a 20 minute walk, so if you don't mind walking then it's great. It's on a fairly quiet street, close to a police station. The room was a great size with lots of room for our things and for our infant son to play. The hotel was clean and the front desk day staff was friendly and helpful. Our son fell ill while we were in Sydney and they were able to efficiently direct us to the closest doctor.

The Cons:

We were traveling with our infant son and arrived in Sydney quite late. Prior to our arrival that day I phoned the hotel to let them know we were coming and to request a portacot for our room. We were assured that the cot would be there. When we arrived at the hotel, well after midnight with a sleeping infant in arms, there was no portacot in the room. The front desk staff assured us that it would be right up, but my husband actually had to go back down after about thirty minutes and request the portacot again.

There was no bathtub in the room and the drain in the shower was backing up. When we reported the problem to the front desk it was fixed very quickly.

The elevators are small and there is not a lot of room in them. At one point we actually took the stairs with our stroller because we had already had numerous full elevators pass us by.

Overall impression:

I think this hotel would be great if you were traveling with friends or as a couple or with older children. With young children it was definitely not the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessmess80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Hi Jess, thank you for taking the time to voice your feedback on your stay with us at the Cambridge Hotel. I'd like to firstly apologise for the internal miscommunication you experienced in regards to your twice-requested baby-cot. I apologise for this not being followed through; further to your review, we have updated our lines of communication in an effort to ensure this doesn't happen to future guests. I am glad however you enjoyed other elements of your stay; especially the location and standard of our rooms. Thank you again for your feedback and for giving the Cambridge Hotel the opportunity to improve. We look forward to welcoming you back, Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macksville, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We spent a night there recently for our daughters 30th birthday, the room was lovely, clean, modern and quiet the staff couldn't do more for you and the breakfast the next day was lovely. The hotel itself is very close to everything in the middle of Sydney there are some lovely cafes, restaurants and shops all around it and it's in a lovely leafy green part of Sydney. The price of the room was good and if we needed anything we only had to ask, like when we needed a taxi to get to the airport we waited approximately 30 seconds for it to turn up...... a great place to stay and we will stay there again......thanks to Paul and all of the staff...we enjoyed it immensely

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drury19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi Drury, thank you for your feedback. It’s great you enjoyed your night at the Cambridge Hotel, as well as your daughter’s 30th birthday. We’re in a very accessible part of Sydney, and I’m glad you experienced Surry Hills and the fantastic restaurants, cafes and bars just around the corner from the hotel. Thank you for your kind comments; Paul and our Front Desk team are very appreciative, and look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed at Cambridge Hotel for 7 nights and it was a great choice. The hotel is within walking distance to numerous fantastic cafes, restaurants, shopping and supermarkets, as well as the CBD and Circular Quay and China Town / Darling Harbour. Being across the road from Surry Hills Police Station is an added bonus in terms of security.

My room was spacious and the queen size bed extremely comfortable. Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. They assisted me with booking a shuttle bus to the airport and also printed boarding passes and helped with scanning / printing some documents. There were some rowdy people who checked in the room across mine on Friday night and the reception staff immediately addressed my complaint when I called front desk at 12.30am, which was greatly appreciated.

There is really nothing I can fault about Cambridge Hotel, it's definitely one of the best ones I've stayed at and value for money this hotel can't be beaten. My only suggestion is that housekeeping can do a better job with the cleaning as I noticed a dead moth on the carpet that was not removed for a couple of days.

Cambridge Hotel is now on my list of "must stay" when in Sydney. A big thank you to the team for a perfect stay.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a balcony room which has a view of the CBD.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi Emstarr, thank you for taking the time to share such a nice review. I’m glad you fully experienced what Sydney has to offer, and enjoyed your week long stay with us at the Cambridge Hotel. Thank you for bringing the moth to our attention; I have met with the Executive Housekeeper and further to your suggestion, new procedures have been put in place. Regarding the rowdy guests next door; it’s great our staff immediately handled your complaint. Our team are the backbone of the hotel and our success is attributed to their dedication and passion. Thank you again for your feedback. We all look forward welcoming you back.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just arrived at my regular Hotel in Sydney the Cambridge Hotel in Surry Hills, I travel to Sydney once a month for work and stay here for 5 days at a time.
My last stay was as always very comfortable as this property is perfectly place to the city.
This time I had a lovely upgrade to an executive room which is much appreciated, now there is only one thing I would like to point out, and this also goes to all people that works in Hospitality and Hotel receptions.
I have worked for 22 years at the Highest level in hospitality around the world, and I am very old schooled trained.
When you have a return customer to either the restaurant or hotel you learn their name and greet them as they arrive with either welcome back Mr.xxx or nice to see you again Mr.xx even if you are new employe or not, to let you all know it does make a BIG differance, but maybe this kind of hospitality is a dying breed, which would be very sad.
This was also my similar complaint about this property at my last stay as I felt I was treated like a walk in costumer, they made me pay for my stay mid way through my stay as their new policy only allow a costumer a 500$ credit even though I stay with the property once a month and pay and reserve my stay with a company card, now there is nothing initially wrong with this, however it does cost a lot in advertising to get new customer where the real money is keeping the ones that are already loyal to you.
But I do like the property and will be returning again.

Yours Truly

Mr. almeland

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Hi Mr. Almeland, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, as well as for choosing the Cambridge Hotel as your preferred accommodation when traveling to Sydney; I'm glad you enjoyed your Executive Room. Guest satisfaction is our utmost priority here at the Cambridge Hotel, and I would like to apologise on behalf of our team in regards to their lack of personal greeting. Thank you again for your feedback, and for your continual supporting of the Cambridge Hotel Sydney. We all look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed for a few nights and were stoked with our choice. Given it's central location, it was great value for money. A short stroll to great food in Surry Hills; 10 mins walk from Central station, Chinatown & Paddys Market; and only 5 mins from Museum Station which is about 15mins from the airport by train.

We booked the Spa suite on the 14th floor. A tidy room with great views, modern decor and free wifi (apparently not the norm in central Sydney?). However, I wouldn't recommend if you have issues with heights.

Overall a great stay and would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lenita7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi Lenita, thank you for sharing your thoughts. I’m glad you found our hotel well-priced and well-located. Guests that book online directly with us enjoy free Wi-Fi throughout their stay. This isn’t a standard practice for hotels in Sydney; the Cambridge is actually one of only a few hotels that do offer this service complimentary to guests. Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to your return.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#38 of 177 in Sydney
1,576 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#40 of 177 in Sydney
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#98 of 177 in Sydney
4,769 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#62 of 177 in Sydney
4,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Property: Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool and spa. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking will never be an issue at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking available for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing