We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #37 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed from 4-8th Oct with my 2 children. Most reasonably priced location in close proximity to Darling Harbour, Circular Quay, City, gardens and public transport. Saw the fireworks spectacular from our balcony. All staff we dealt with we're friendly and efficient. Rooms were clean and had everything we needed. Wifi worked well. Didn't have a problem with noise. Duffys supermarket across the road is very handy. Would stay here again!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KezTnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi KezTnv, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay at the Cambridge Hotel and found our location central and close to public transport. I’m glad you found our rooms and housekeeping standards to be of high quality. Thank you again for your feedback, our staff are appreciative of your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Hotel Sydney. Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,473
    1,622
    556
    133
    68
See reviews for
798
1,294
456
664
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel is reasonably central and within walking distance of Kings Cross, China Town and the city centre shops and restaurants. Close to Oxford Street and Elizabeth for the bus or Museum Station for the train. The full breakfast was very good. The rooms are not large but bigger than some I've stayed in while in Surry Hills. There is a supermarket 50 meters up the road as well as a very well-equipped gym opposite, There is a chemist on one corner of the street and a bottle shop next door. There are several restaurants, as well as a number cafes and fast food outlets within a 5 minute walk of the hotel. My only complaint is that in a hotel of this supposed calibre there is no free Wi-Fi. Access to the internet can be obtained at a cost of $10 a day.

Room Tip: Street facing room gets the afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al6783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi Al6783, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I’m glad you found our location accessible and well-equipped, and it’s great you enjoyed the high standard of our rooms and quality of staff. At $10 for 24 hours; the Cambridge Hotel currently has one of Sydney’s most affordable hotel wireless networks, and this is reflected in our focus on providing a high value for money. Once again, thank you for your feedback, the Cambridge Hotel Sydney looks forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Went for four nights on a touring trip. This hotel was our second choice as the first one was too expensive. It was a bit further from the main city but in an area where there were lots of affordable bars and restaurants. The hotel was clean and comfortable and our room was reasonably large. There was some noise from other inconsiderate guests on one night but otherwise quiet. We had a room on a lower floor without a balcony and from what other people said,it was not worth paying extra for a balcony. We were only in the room to shower and sleep. Staff were helpful and friendly and check in and out was no problem.There was a free bus which went from ten minutes walk away up to the rocks and circular quay between 09.30 and 15.30 which we found useful.We had continental breakfast each morning which was fine and you could upgrade to cooked if you wanted. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: From what people said it was not worth paying extra for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeysusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi Honesusie, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It’s great you had a good stay with us at the Cambridge Hotel, and found our service and room cleanliness to be at a high standard. I’m glad you enjoyed our surrounding area, and took advantage of Sydney’s free 555 shuttle bus. Thank you again for your feedback; the Cambridge Hotel Sydney looks forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

My stay at Cambridge Hotel was excellent! I stayed from Sept 18-22. Great location! Close to public transport, no need for a car. Airport pick-up and drop off service was great. The staff was very pleasant and willing to help in any way possible! My room did not have a good view of the lovely city, but that was ok because most of my time was spent out of the room. Room service was excellent, fresh towels and well made beds every day. WiFi was disappointing! I purchased the 24hr plan, but it went off after 8hrs. I called the front desk and complained about the service, and was told to log in again and I would not be charged another fee. At check out I was reimbursed for the service, when I mentioned it to the staff. Great hotel, will definitely stay again and recommend it to friends and family!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeDee1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi DeeDee1308, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I’m glad you had an excellent stay with us at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney, and found our location accessible and close to public transport. It’s great you enjoyed the high standards of our housekeeping department, and the quality of our room service. I apologise for the issues you experienced with our internet provider, I’m glad we were able to correct the issue immediately. All our staff are appreciative of your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Arrived on an early morning flight and had to wait for getting a room. Check-in was otherwise rapid but not exceptionally welcoming. We had a room for 3 people which had the promised 3 single beds. The room was really basic in decor and generally had a slightly out-dated feeling to it. My guess is that the building is originally intended as an apartment as the room had a quirky corner to it which used to probably be a kitchen. There was also a small balcony. On the last day we stumbled upon an unlucky insect which had found itself in the room. The front desk took appropriate action to immediately fumigate the room. The location is good in the middle of Surrey Hills and close to some trendy bars and lots of restaurants. Generally it's a fair deal - the rooms are really basic but works for having a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helsinkiglobus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi Helsinkiglobus,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Firstly, I’m glad you enjoyed the speed of service of our check-in, the surrounding Surry Hills location, and the good sleep you and your friends received during your stay. It’s unfortunate you found the décor of the rooms to be slightly out-dated as we replace our furnishings every two years, but I am glad that this didn’t hinder your overall experience. Thank you again for your feedback; the Cambridge Hotel Sydney looks forward to welcoming you back. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed from Sept 28 - Oct 3, 2013. Expecting much more from it's 4-star rating (at least, on some sites), it was a huge disappointment. If it was rated 3 stars, it's about what you'd expect.
If it is truly rated a 4 star, then Australia inflates their rating system by as much as 50%.

Hotel staff attitude varied from abysmal to excellent. Room was typically small and everything worked, but furnishings were IKEA level. Location is not great, but you can get to a subway station and bus lines within 5-10 minutes walking.

There was a lot of noise from slamming of doors, but other than that, it was acceptably quiet. Maybe everyone who checked in got an upgrade and landed on our floor.

We took a taxi from the airport to the hotel, which cost $43. Again, typical, but high for a distance of 8 km. So, in spite of the numerous warnings in reviews on Trip Advisor and other sites, we dared to take the shared ride shuttle back to the airport. The hotel was the first pickup scheduled, and we drove around the hotel area picking up other passengers for the next 30 minutes. This was no particular hardship as we allowed time for it, and traffic was light during our early morning excursion. The shuttle’s price of $14 per person saved a third of what a taxi costs. Not a huge amount in absolute terms, but every little bit of savings helps, especially considering the inflated costs of just about everything in Australia.

Overall, there’s nothing great about the hotel and there’s nothing really ratty about it, except for the attitude of the check-in clerk – but that, and the location (complete opposite end of the city from the Circular Quay, Opera House, and so on, and a 20 minute walk to the Queen Victoria downtown shopping area) are enough to justify choosing another hotel. Bottom line, don’t expect 4-star anything at this place, just solid 2.5-3.0 star performance.

Room Tip: To get a good room, expect to pay for an upgrade. Standard rooms are typically small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredInPeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear RetiredInPeace ,
Thank you for review of your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel. I would be happy to discuss the concerns and issues raised personally if you contact me on steven@cambridgehotel.com.au.
We take guest feedback seriously and would help us immensely if you could contact me directly.
Your concerns has also been raised with all the department heads especially the Front Office regarding the staff attitude.
Than you again and have a great day.

Kind regards,

Steven Gargano,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Surry Hills
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#48 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#77 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Property: Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool and spa. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking will never be an issue at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking available for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing