We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms but overall disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #37 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great rooms but overall disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Cambridge Hotel between 11th-14th February 2013.

We had just visited two great hotels in Hong Kong and Melbourne the week previously and were excited for our first visit to Sydney.
Our first impression of the Cambridge Hotel was disappointing. Greeted by a unhappy face and told our rooms were not ready.. so we left our bags in the lobby and went for a walk around. We were also asked to pay $100 deposit up front and this wouldn't be returned to us until 2-5 days after our stay... we were on a 2 week travelling break and really needed every penny so this was also a bit of a let down.

If I returned to Sydney I would definitely stay a lot closer to the main attractions. It took us around 20minutes to walk to Darling Harbour and around 35minutes to walk to the Opera House.

When we returned to the hotel and checked into our rooms - we were very surprised. They were lovely, spacious rooms and very clean. I particularly liked the bathroom area which had a huge walk-in shower.

Wifi is expensive - we had to pay both in the reception and to use in room.

We decided to stay on an extra night as realised we probably need some sleep before our departure flight but even though we gave the hotel staff 3 days notice, they still couldn't guarantee whehter we would be able to stay in the same room.
Luckily we were able to stay in the same room but only found out on the morning.. it's just stress you don't need on holiday.

The hotel do offer a free airport transfer shuttle but unfortunately because our check out time was 3am we couldn't use this service. We phoned up the reception and asked us to book a taxi but when we got downstairs and went to check out discovered that he hadn't. Instead he stood in the street and started trying to hail down taxi's at 3am..

All in, I wouldn't recommend staying at this hotel though for the price it's probably quite ok value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooke g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Brooke G,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney and for taking your time to share your experience with us.
I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed the spaciousness and cleanliness of your room.
I apologise for the inconvenience you experienced in regards to the service and the procedures at the front desk. I am disappointed to hear that the location was not to your liking. At the Cambridge Hotel we take pride in being a part of Surry Hills; the hip and culturally diverse neighbourhood in Sydney, and this is the reason for why many guests return to stay with us. I apologise for this inconvenience to your stay.
We do offer airport transfer service - however we book this service through a provider and the cost is $14. We recently implemented a better, cheaper and faster WIFI service, as free WIFI is not a custom in Sydney however we try to make the price as competitive as possible. We are looking into more ways which we can implement the WIFI as a part of a package.
I hope that the issues you experienced during your stay with does not deter you from returning to stay with us again if you would like to take advantage of the artistic and café culture of Surry Hills.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Hotel Sydney.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,500
    1,659
    566
    134
    68
See reviews for
819
1,312
466
679
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We checked into the hotel, went to our room, dropped off our luggage, turned the AC on and decided to go for a walk in the neighborhood. This hotel is in a nice part of town. We got nack to our room and it was still warm. The AC wasn't working. I called the front desk and they sent someone up. He said it didn't know much but would have someone elde come up. No one ever came I had to call the front desk again. Someone came up and decided to change our room. We got a balcony. Nice! But there was no where to set anything on. No table to desk just one little end table? All in all the hotel was ok but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Mike L,
Thank you for your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel, and we would also like to thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us.
I am glad that you enjoyed the room with the balcony, but I am sorry to hear about the inconvenience you experienced with the Air Conditioner. I understand that the staff did their best to move you to another room, until the Air Conditioner in your previous room had been replaced. Unfortunately this can only be done by the providers of the Air Conditioners.
I am sorry to hear about your disappointment regarding the lack of table in the room you were moved to. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Cambridge Hotel again soon.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Me n my friend stay hear quite often very cheap great location walking distance to all cubs n special thanx to staff Kai Sarah n raj they make our stay even betta n always r happy to help out with anything we need during our stay we r returning customers n happily return again best value 4 money in Oxford

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ccd1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Ccd11234,
Thank you very much for sharing you great feedback with us regarding your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney.
I am very pleased to hear that the friendly staff lived up to your expectations, and your comments have been shared with the team and Sarah, Kai and Raj are very happy to have received your recommendations. This is a great motivation to us.
It is great to hear that you were pleased with the location and value for money delivered.
Once again, thank you very much for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Checked out today after two night stay nice hotel clean central modern good staff modern no frills first day impressed with excellent breakfast good value and choice however next day disappointed as egg beans hash browns bacon cold
Had to pay $10 for wi-fi which should be free in all hotels for guests

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lordlucanisback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Lordlucanisback,
Thank you for your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney and thank you for sharing your great feedback with us.
It is great to hear that the Hotel lived up to your expectations. I am pleased to hear that the hotel and its location were to your liking and I apologise for any inconvenience you experienced in regards to the breakfast on the second day and the WIFI. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Once again, thank you for sharing your comments with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again in the near future.
Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel. Close to Oxford street with easy access by bus to Circular Quays and Bondi. Staff very helpful. Attached Italian restaurant popular and handy. Only quibble is that windows do not cut out road noise so take ear plugs!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Fran1962,
Thank you very much for choosing the Cambridge Hotel for your recent stay and for sharing your feedback with us.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel, the location and the new Italian restaurant. I apologise for any inconvenience you experienced in regards to street noise, I hope this did not have a negative impact on your stay.
Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Hotel Sydney.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Fresh funky hotel attentive reception staff breakfast good value but need another toaster would stay again swimming pool too worth a splash housekeeping efficient and rooms clean and tidy like the lighting nod colours of the lifts

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank markUK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear markUK23,
Thank you very much for sharing your great feedback regarding your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities and value and friendly guest services and your overall stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Hotel again in the near future.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Cambridge Hotel is perfect for business or leisure travel to Sydney.

What is it not? It is not a high-standards, branded four star like a Novotel. It's a little funkier, but this pays off in the end, with a great Italian restaurant on the first floor and unconventional room layouts.

I came to Sydney for a business trip and it suited my needs: clean, friendly, refreshing 20 min walk to the CBD through Hyde Park.

Location is fantastic. In the evening you can explore Surrey Hills, which is quite a bit more interesting than the CBD at night. Great food and ice cream.

Rates are reasonable; the CBD fringe location makes this place a good 30-40 AUD cheaper than comparable chain hotels located right in the CBD. I booked on Hotels.com when a few cruise ships were in town and CBD hotels' rates were all through the roof because of the cruise passengers.

Breakfast average. Skip. Request a balcony room on the city side, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trotter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Canoey,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel, and for taking your time to share your feedback with us.
It is great to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the hotel’s facilities and location. I am glad that you found the hotel delivers value for money. I am pleased that you had a chance to try some of the great restaurants and cafes in Surry Hills.
Once again, thank you very much for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Hotel again in the near future.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Surry Hills
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#77 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Property: Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool and spa. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking will never be an issue at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking available for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing