We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and close to the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #39 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here in early 2012 with our 11 month old baby. We were able to hire a cot and a 1 bedroom apartment which was handy for her sleep.

The kitchenette had less than we were hoping for (small fridge, sink and microwave) but was still sufficient. The decor was all new and it was impecibly clean. It was also very spacious, enough room for our baby to explore.

The staff were also very helpful!

The location is good; close enough to walk to the main city malls. We also found public transport close by that was very easy to use to catch a bus to the bridge or to Bondi.

I would recommend this accommodation to a friend :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uptownerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Uptownerd,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your wonderful feedback with us, regarding your recent stay with us at the Cambridge Hotel.

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel very recommendable. It is great that you enjoyed the spacious room and the new décor. I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and that you got the most out of your stay.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Hotel again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,782 - 3,788 of 4,584 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed for three nights. The room was basic but very comfortable and clean. Front desk staff were attentive and efficient, even though some were new. For the cost, I thought it was excellent value all the way around. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Claudia R,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the rooms clean and comfortable. I am delighted to hear that the friendly front desk staff lived up to your expectations. Your comments have been shared with all front desk staff and definitely motivate us to keep up the good service.

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us. I am very glad to hear that you will happily return to the Cambridge Hotel, we will look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times on business trips. The rooms are comfortable with quality linen on the beds. The service at reception and the room service is always friendly, helpful and prompt. I reccomend the hotel for its location, price and service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Lisa D,
Thank you very much for sharing your great feedback with us. It is always great to hear from our returning guests, as we very much value your satisfaction of the hotel and guest relations.
I am very glad to hear that you enjoy the hotel, the comfortable beds, the friendly staff, location and value for money. Your feedback is very valuable and keeps us motivated to always achieve the highest of guest satisfaction.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We paid $174 for room 1203 (i think) for 1 night. Room was clean and comfortable - only faults with the room were thebalcony door did not lock (not overly concerning as there was a chain abd we were many floors up), a few marks on the furniture, dirty teaspoons, the balcony rail was i thought a bit lower than was safe and there was no where to put your things jn tge bathroom except on the floor. All up, $174 aas expensive for this room quality however the location of the hotel to bars abd restaurants justified the price.

The worst thing was the carpark- we booked thehoyel because it had its own parking - however it was tiny and deep - like going down and down into hell - each level we needed to tale several goes at manoevering in our ford station wagon to avoud other cars and pillars and posts. We git all the way to the bottom and not one spare spot so then we had to fo the same in reverse to get out - worst hotel carpatk ever. When i asked, the Checkin person should have advised it was full and of alternate parking option. In the end we had yo patk at secure parking holt st which we thought would cost us $59 but ended up costing $173 for 19 hours!!

Service was fine except that birh at check in abd out the surly duty manager completely ignored waiting guests and instead was on the phone or rudely barking orders at the younger staff while they were dealing wirh the guests (i.e. me). I use to work at a hotel front desk and i was never spoken to like that.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear katy35,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel. We would like to sincerely thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us. Guest feedback is very important to us; our team is always striving to achieve the highest level of guest satisfaction.
I am very disappointed about the experience you described upon check-in and check-out. Your feedback has been passed onto all staff members, including the duty manager involved. It was brought to my attention that the computing system was experiencing issues and the Duty Manager was on the phone trying to resolve the issue. However, the staff involved has had individual training in this matter and join me in apologising for the inconvenience you experienced. I have been reassured that the staff involved has taken this matter seriously and that they shall focus their attention on improving guest relations.
I would like to thank you for bringing your experience to our attention so that we may improve the car park counting and overall quality that you described.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that this isolated experience will not deter you from returning to the Cambridge Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Warm regards
Steen Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

There are 2 sides to this hotel , to the left is the 3 star ( where the pool is ) and this is where our room was. It was completely dated and run down.The only window ( smoked glass)faced onto a landing with a pool on the floor below. It was echoey and noisy and I really didn't want to stay there but there were no other rooms available that night . The following day the staff moved us to the other side "The Tower " end and at no extra charge we were upgraded and this room was much better. A new Italian restaurant had just opened next door and we would recommend it. It's a good 15 min. Walk from the centre but there are plenty of buses and good restaurants near by. We found a lovely Swiss restaurant 101 Oxford St. for breakfast.

Room Tip: A Make sure you are at the tower end
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janeandphi1726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear janeandphil1726,
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience and feedback with us.
I am apologise that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and that the pool rooms where not to your liking. I am very glad that you were happy with the upgrade and that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. I am also delighted to hear that you enjoyed the new Italian restaurant in-house.
Once again, thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. All feedback is important to us so that we may improve where we can to meet our guests’ expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was our second time staying here. The rooms are clean and quiet and the staff are very helpful. I will definately be staying here again. It is just a hop, skip and a jump to some fabulous restaurants - we dined at Billy Kwong & Jamie's Italian. There is also a great Thai called Lemon Grass which was excellent value for money and fantastic fresh food.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Looly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Looly1,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very glad to hear that you were happy with the room and that the friendly staff lived up to your expectations. I am also delighted that you enjoyed the location and got the best of what our local restaurateurs have to offer.
Once again, thank you very much for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the bear future.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Hotel is fine minus a cockroach issue.

Check in was swift, staff friendly, rooms adequate, no real noise complaints for the area and generally great value.

Cockroaches were a deal breaker for me though, found some in both the bathroom and lounge room. Left note on guest comment card, not too grossed out by it but I see that it's been mentioned previously so I think they need to get on top of the issue (issue in the area I know).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyfitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear ladyfitch,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the hotel and for taking your time to share your feedback with us.

We very much appreciate your feedback and it is great to hear that you enjoyed the room, location and friendly staff.

I deeply apologise for the unlucky inconvenience you faced during your stay in regards to cockroaches. Unfortunately there has been an increase in cockroaches in Sydney due to the extended dry period. Australian cockroaches are also flying cockroaches. This makes it difficult to keep pest control when guests’ windows are left open. I can assure you that the hotel undergoes regular pest control and we also redo pest control wherever there have been incidents of cockroaches. I completely understand your frustration and I hope that this incident does not deter you from returning to stay at the Cambridge Hotel. Also, thank you for filling out the guest feedback card, this was a great help and pest control has been repeated.

Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Hotel again.

Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#48 of 186 in Sydney
907 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#108 of 186 in Sydney
5,543 reviews
Central Business District
Veriu Central
Veriu Central
#107 of 186 in Sydney
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Meriton Suites Zetland
#13 of 186 in Sydney
3,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#40 Business Hotel in Sydney
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $137 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service along with a rustic Italian restaurant. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking is available at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing