We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tidy and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #37 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tidy and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed here during a seminar that was held at the venue. The room itself was more than adequate for me, I didn't need more than a bed and a shower really. It was clean and had room service. There was quite a bit of work going on at the time, I woke the first morning to find there was actually scaffolding erected right outside my window! Fortunately I was dressed when I realised this!
It is very convenient to Oxford Street (would be a perfect location for anyone attending Mardi Gras) and it is also within walking distance of Moore Park.
The only issue is it is not as close to Central Station as it looked on the map, plus it is uphill. This is not their fault but anyone planning on walking, especially with luggage, should think again.
I'd happily stay here again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Karen T,

Thank you for staying in our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience.
It is very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and to find out that you share the same view with many of our guest about our convenient location.
I apologise for incident with the scaffolding erected outside your window and I hope it didn’t disturb you to enjoy your stay. We had liaised with the workers next door to avoid any inconvenience to our guests when the work was on; I can inform you that the work next door is complete and a new 5-stary apartment- hotel will be opening early January next year.
There are several ways to reach our hotel from the airport, such as airport shuttle bus, taxi or train, Museum station is close to us and the walk is reasonably flat.
Once again, thank you very much for your feedback; we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Best wishes for the Festive Season from all of us at Cambridge.

Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,500
    1,659
    566
    134
    68
See reviews for
819
1,312
466
679
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We loved the location of the Cambridge. Upscale cafes and stores in abundance especially if you head to Crown street and take a right. Also on Oxford St. We walked almost everywhere, but when we needed to take transportation we were a 10 minute walk from Central Station.

The room was not luxurious, but it was fine. The bathroom looked as if it had been newly renovated. At first we were put in a room where the air conditioner was around a corner in the room and the room was stuffy. We requested a new room and were moved to one where the air did not have to go around a corner and we were very comfortable.

The Front desk staff was very nice and helpful. We did have breakfast in the hotel one day, but it was very basic and in my opinion too pricey for the quality and selection. There are so many wonderful cafes in the area that we only ate the hotel breakfast once.

We hope to get to back to Sydney and we will definitely try to stay at the Cambridge again.

Room Tip: Walls are a little thin. Ask for quiet room. Also ask for a room with good ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nummy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Nummy6,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the hotel. I would also like to thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel as well as the location.
I am very pleased to hear that the friendly staff lived up to your expectations and that you will return to stay with us again.
Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had three nights here and could not have been looked after better. Room was amazing, food was excellent and the supportfrom reception staff was exceptional. We had an enormously happy time here and will remember it with great affecion for many years to come.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Keith S,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel. I would also like to thank you for taking your time to leave your great feedback with us.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that the friendly staff exceeded your expectations.

Once again, thank you very much for sharing your great feedback with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

lovely room clean and tidy and very modern just what we needed after traveling in a good area too! was quiet and made for a very good sleep.
beautiful views from the balcony.
just wish we could of stayed a couple more nights.
their was however some building work being done on some of the hotel and the breakfast wasnt the best so we chose to skip it!
otherwise great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gembeem89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Gembeem89,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel and, for taking your time to share your feedback with us.
I am very pleased to hear that you found the hotel delivered value for money and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the balcony and the location, and I am also happy to inform you that our new restaurant had opening and is in full function as the new breakfast service.
Once again, thank you for your lovely feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

The room we stayed in was ok, though disappointed when we booked two rooms they were located on the other side of the building and the receptionist charged us twice and we never noticed till we looked through our transaction. Wouldnt really recommend this for family since I took younger siblings with me down to the pool area which you had to access through a different elevator as well as going through the lobby with random people just watching you , was disappointed with the spa since it was the same temperature with the pool and there were a few rowdy people that had hotel rooms right next to the pool.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m_kaitlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear m_kaitlyn,
Thank you for your recent stay at the hotel and, thank you for taking your time to share your feedback.
We appreciate your feedback and understand the inconvenience you experienced during your stay.
The issue has been discussed with the front office manager and measures have been taken to ensure that guests are better informed upon check-in.
Your feedback has been important to us and I would like to thank you for taking your time to share them with us.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Cambridge/ Abbey has nice people working there and we're very helpful. The hotel is about a about 15 minute walk to downtown. When we were there at the beginning of November the hotel was renovating, and the work crew started at 7am, not very restful. There was no warning from the hotel that this was going to happen. Plus the windows all single pane and the street noise was loud. The buffet breakfast was nice enough, with tea, coffee, cereal, toast, yogurt, muffins etc. The hotel room was clean and functional

Room Tip: Gate a room in the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Safcdaft,
I would like to thank you for your recent stay at the hotel and for taking you time to share your feedback with us.
I am very glad to hear that you found the staff friendly and helpful, and that you enjoyed the hotel and its location.
I apologise for the inconvenience caused by the renovations, and I am glad to inform you that the renovation work is complete and the new restaurant is now in full function.
I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel clean and functional.
Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We booked a last minute deal and got a deluxe room here at half price. Our visit was only brief for a one night stay after a wedding. Our room was big with a nice clean bathroom and everything seemed new. Loved the new magazines the flick through and couldn't hear any noise from the street. Will stay at again if we can find discounted prices

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webbsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear webbsm,
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your great feedback with us.
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you were satisfied with the spaciousness and cleanliness. I am glad that you enjoyed the magazine service and it is great to hear that you will stay with us again.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Surry Hills
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#77 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Property: Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool and spa. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking will never be an issue at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking available for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing